Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 26 April 2017
Lovely DVD
Perhaps should have bought the lower priced offers but I wanted short delivery time as a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Having read quite a few negative critiques of Svetlana's dancing I decided I would be extremely critical.
I was completely seduced by the sheer beauty of her dancing. The Rose Adagio was wonderful and David Hallberg is an accomplished danseur. I was never bored as I have been with some productions. I can really say I was completely mesmerised by the music and at times found myself smiling with utter joy. A super treat
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
I bought this DVD for the sets and costumes, and they are indeed lavish baroque and excessively luxurious, however watching the whole ballet with their overpowing presence they do very much distract from the dancing; they actually overpower it. The dancing is good but not spectacular. The Paris Opera production has better dancing. The sets and costumes by Ezio Frigerio were commisioned to inaugurate the re-opening of the Bolshoi and cost millions of £, and they were menat to awe the audicience which they do. It is an overwhelming spectacle but probably not appropriate for this ballet and its story. This ballet needs sets and costumes which are more lyrical and diaphanous, and I would even say slightly gothic and not baroque as this production is. Carabosse is a joke here, seems like a giant monster ogre and not and evil fairy witch. The orchestra plays at lightning speed. Overall enjoyable and worth having but not the best production. Ashton's production for the Royal Ballet is preferable but not available on DVD, and The Paris Opera production is overall better from the dancing standpoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Wonderful performances by Zakharova, Hallberg and Allash. Very lavish, new production. The filming was done from slightly below the stage, it seemed, which was a slight negative, but most balletomanes would love this..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This is classical ballet at its very best. We watched it over Christmas and it was sheer delight. The sets are complimentary to the dancers and do not overpower, the music just perfect and overall a wonderful experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
very good. as with most Russian ballet DVDs good to look at and very well danced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
not as good as her Swan lake, but still the greatest ballerina!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Absolutly wonderful.The soloist are the best you can have in this ballet today.I saw Natalia Makarova and Rudolf Nureijev i The sleeping beauty at Covent Garden in june 1973.This performance is the best i have seen since then.The corps de ballet perfekt.Orchestra first class.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
You really can't fault the Bolshoi!! Svetlana Zhakharova really is the prima ballerina of our time. In fact I would say she is one of the all time greats. What a beautiful ballet. My favourites remain La Bayadere and The Pharaoh's Daughter, but this is a really beautful ballet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Okay
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)