Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2008
I was horrified to see Scrooged on amazon with only a 3 star rating, so I clicked on the item to check out what the reviewers had said. Unfortunately the overall rating had been pulled down dramatically by the rather grumpy review by what appears to be a genuine real life scrooge. This film is great. Bill Murry plays the part of a modern day scrooge beautifully with his deadpan humour and classic role of progressive personality transformation. The film can't take much credit for the overall storyline, but compared to the many other rather boring and overdone rewrites of the classic, this one stands at the top for its clever adaption and extremely comical approach. At the end of the day it wasn't trying to do justice to the original story, but create a funny, feel good movie that comes with the brilliant undertones and moral principles that Dickens was trying to convey, in a modern day setting with a great cast and hillarious script. I watch this film every time its on TV at Christmas and it always puts you in a great mood and into the Christmas spirit. Scrooged is definately in there with the all time classic Christmas movies, love it!
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
my favourite xmas film , every year it comes out and sits by my dvd player,
bill murray plays mr cross, a cruel man who hates everything !
3 ghosts of xmas come to visit , laugh out loud funny , realises that hes a bad man , changes his ways and has a happy ending !
a must for your xmas collection .
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
I just can't fault Bill Murray in this film...
His interaction with all the other characters is top notch, whether he's being the meanie by firing Elliot Laudermilk (Bobcat Goldthwaite) on Christmas eve or getting 12 bells knocked out of him by the fairy-like Ghost of Christmas Present.
If you haven't seen this film, I suggest you get yourself a copy today, stick it on and sit through the whole thing eating that tin of Quality Street you'd bought for someone else but you know that the green triangles have been playing on your mind, haven't they?
Get into the Frank Xaviar Cross style of Christmas spirit!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I watch this movie several times each year, starting about October time and finishing with a Christmas eve viewing! Its an excellent, entertaining, funny, emotional and heart-warming version of A Christmas Carol. The ending scene and end-title soundtrack never fail to bring a tear to the eye and a warm fuzzy feeling! Light those candles, pour the mulled wine and enjoy!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Looks and sounds like a new movie
It is a straight port from the same source as the dvd version though, it retains a piece of audio where Murry says "It's only money" but it sounds like a stretched audio tape and comes out as "It's only mone'oney"
the line is very distracting when you know and love the film so it is disappointing that it has come up again on this format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
This is a great take on the classic Christmas Carol story. Bill Murray is at his manic best! Although the ending is a little OTT, hell, it is in the original story too. Rick Moranis plays a blinder as the whiskey-sozzled, shotgun-toting ex-employee who is suddenly confronted - and recruited - by the reformed Murray.
Well worth a watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
We've all seen an adaptation of the imortal Charles Dickens classic 'A Christmas Carol' in some form or other, usually one of the ones which has stuck as close to the original story as possible. This film provides quite a refeshing change in that it is completely modernised while still sticking to the 'Scrooge' theme.
The story is about a mean network TV President called Frank only looks out for himself, number one, and everyone elses needs come absolutely last. His selfishness is somewhat changed however when he is visited by, the three ghosts, of Christmas past, present and future.
You see, it's not really that different from the book apart from it's been jazzed up and made more modern and thus much more apealing to the younger generation who may find the older adaptations harder to understand.
Bill Murray who plays the lead, Frank, is absolutely brilliant and can't really be faulted throughout the whole film, and he plays the scrooge of the movie sprisingly well, and is very convincing. The rest of the well-picked cast are great in their roles as well, however it's Murray who makes the film what it is, and for his fans, this is an absolute treat.
This is an absolutely essential movie to watch at Christmas which the whole family can sit and enjoy together and i for one will be watching it every year from now on. So if what your looking for is a basically 'A Christmas Carol' but with a bit more jazz in it, then this is the film for you, and if you are a collector of films, then this is a valuble edition to your collection.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Bill Murray is(in my honest opinion) brilliant as a Scrooge character. The movie is a wonderful retelling of Charles Dickens' classic Scrooge. The character transition is done well. Scrooged always manages to make me laugh..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Still hilarious after all these years. Purchased this for my Dad for Christmas after we had a nostalgic viewing of it on the television. Even though we've seen it a hundred times it's still just as entertaining and comical. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
My favourite actor and my favourite book/film combined, i may be biased but this is one of the best alternative Christmas films ever!! Deadpan Murray makes a great Scrooge. It brings a tear to my eye when he finally sees the error of his ways.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)