Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
68
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2017
I have watched this film twice and would highly recommend it. It was funny, witty with a little drama. I was intrigued with the story and where it was going to go and how far. Yes, I would definitely recommend you ALL watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Great film so funny, a chick flick that your boyfriend would enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
exactly what I ordered. Great film. Delivered on time. perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Not a very good film. Lacked depth and comedy which is a shame as it had some comedy actors in it. Would not recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is an ok movie to watch. Personal I think they should just drop the romantic tag from the genre, then again I did not really find anything funny about the movie either so I guess that will have to go as well. Having said that this was not the worst representative of the genre, yes the humour is more crude than funny, but that is just the way things are going. Luckily these were a lot less and far between. So that was liveable. The crude factor is toned done more in this movie then in others of its kind. An ok movie I did not feel as bad renting it as I did not buy it. The only reason I would give this 3 stars instead of the 2 is because the acting is a notch above usual. There are a couple of times during speeches that actually make the movie worth watching.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
The film starts off with some crude over the top humour at an attempt to be cute and clever. It doesn't work well and nearly caused me to eject my DVD. It then settles down to a circle of friends, 2 couples plus Jason (Adam Scott) and Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) who are very close friends who know each other too well to have a sexual relationship.

The film flash forwards 4 years. The couples have kids and their lives are in disarray. Julie surmises she wants to have a child, be a divorced mum so she can find the man of her dreams. Her friend Jason agrees to father the child and be "100% committed 50% of the time." Things work out as they have a nanny and most important Jason helps out with the child. Their home is neat and clean unlike their married friends. They have an open arrangement and it is time for the soul mates to move on and start dating other people. At this point the comedy takes a serious wane as a shallow film attempts to find some depth. It doesn't work.

Kristen Wiig, a fan favourite was excellent in her brief role. For people who like odd romantic comedies, this might do as a rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: Frequent F-bombs, sex, brief Internet nudity, sex talk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Okay! So the 15 certificate tells you that the film has adult content but I guess it depends on the definition of adult. This film has good moments and performances but like so many in the genre is completely ruined by guttural sexual interplay trying to disguise itself as witty dialogue. Is this Hollywood's strategy to get men into cinemas to watch romcoms? Possibly the worst and most tasteless final scene in history-discuss! When Harry met Sally is Shakespeare compared to this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Based on reading so may of the 1 star reviews I expecting something awful but it wasn't. It was a lovely story about friendship and love. The ending was pretty standard and obvious but the film as a whole was sweet, clever, witty and once again...lovely. The two lead roles were great, Adam Scott was fab.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I saw this at the cinema and honestly wished I hadn't bothered. A good evening's entertainment it wasn't.

It's about a group of friends moving on from being responsibility free to having children and how their relationships change. The woman who wrote and directed this also stars in it as one of the group who is single but would quite like a child. So she enters into this strange arrangement with a male member of the group to get pregnant and they agree to both have an equal part in bringing up the child without having to be in a relationship.

The couples who are married and have kids just end up bickering throughout this movie. If I want to watch that I can turn on any number of trashy reality TV shows at home. The couple who are bringing up a child without being in a relationship are too smug and you have little sympathy for them as characters.

The dialogue is at times cringe worthy (especially the last few lines of the whole film which literally had me wanting to hide under my seat). There is very little humour in this film. I've seen Bridesmaids and was howling with laughter. I left this film feeling depressed.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Friends with Kids is the story of long-time friends Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) & Jason (Adam Scott) who live in the same building. After seeing how their friends deal with their own recent additions to their respective broods, Jason & Julie muse about how it would be easier to meet 'the one' if you already had a child - given the biological time constraints. After this idea gains traction, the two decide to well y'know and Joe is born. But as Jason & Julie glide through parenthood with their friendship giving them an invincible veneer of mutual respect & planning, it becomes clear that the dynamic in the relationship between the two has changed. Will things click into place that easily?

Friends with kids is a fairly straight-forward premise. Whilst at first I figured it was going to be a film about being single whilst all of your friends have kids (something I am beginning to experience!) it becomes clear that this is more about friends having kids; together. Jon Hamm (Mad Men & Westfeldt's partner in real-life!) & Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids) play a volatile couple whose relationship is based on sex, whilst Maya Rudolph (also Bridesmaids) and Chris O'Dowd (whom incidentally starred with Wiig & Rudolph in Bridesmaids!!) have a much more stable but slightly frayed relationship. This triad of relationship types allows the various clichés to play out to the respective characters.

Whilst Westfeldt & Scott's relationship isn't intangible, it just seems improbable - this maybe due to the fact that they are meant to be friends primarily but it just seemed a bit of a stretch. Both successful, functional people; it seems unlikely either one of them would be single for any fathomable length of time (he dates Megan Fox in the film FGS!). But despite the stretches and clichés this was still a feel-good film about romance. I mean forget the kid, this film pretty much glazes over the fact they had a child together, I think it's on screen for all of about 3 and half minutes. So less about children, more about the dynamic shift between two people.

Extra content: "Fun with Actors and Kids (Ad-libs & Bloopers)" featurette with the guys laughing at the kids refusal to participate at scene-critical moments. There is a commentary with cinematography William Rexer with Jon Hamm & Jennifer Westfeldt. Also audio commentary on the deleted scenes. Two brief behind-the-scenes featurettes; Anatomy of a Gag and MJ(Fox) Rocks at Video Games. Finally, there's an 8-minute making of featurette.

It's got a few laughs in (primarily thanks to O'Dowd) but in the end, it's nothing that special or unique. But please don't let that detract from the enjoyment, it's fun. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)