Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
248
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2014
If your fed up with zombie horror films that all look the same, well this don't!

An its a comedy, that has 'funny' jokes for a change.

It features old an young actors + a token black guy.

Only problem is, no one will see this film, as it isn't advertised, an has poor distribution - a shame as international audiences, esp USA, would enjoy this fresh take on an old idea.

Well done to those who made it. Their efforts deserve better marketing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Two cockney likely lads, Terry and Andy Macguire, reluctantly decide to rob a bank in order to save the old folks home where their feisty granddad Ray currently resides. The home is under imminent threat of closure, so the brothers assemble a motley crew of accomplices to assist them. However, the robbery goes wrong, and if fleeing from the scene of the crime wasn't enough to worry about, a recently excavated plague pit, sealed since the time of Charles the II is spewing out the rotting dead to cause a zombie epidemic in the East End. Cor Blimey!
This excellent film, a foul mouthed, frantic and very funny cross between a caper film and survival horror, benefits from a genuinely clever, witty script, well rounded, likeable characters and a terrific cast.
Whilst the younger actors all give their all, the real joy to be had is from watching the old guard doing their turns. Alan Ford, Honor Blackman, Richard Briers, Dudley Sutton et al are great as the plucky group of pensioners not willing to give up their home for the living or the dead. Some of the funniest sequences take place in the care home, with Sutton's Eric getting his rhyming slang in a real muddle and a hilarious race between zombie and Zimmer frame is a great little piece of comedy.
Whilst its humour might be cut from a different cloth, 'Cockneys Vs Zombies' is in its own way just as good as 'Shaun Of The Dead'. Both films manage to walk the line between horror and comedy without falling too much into one camp.
Oh, and 'Cockneys Vs Zombies' also happens to have great special effects and make-up and a great Goblin-esque soundtrack. And Chas'N'Dave!!!.
A terrific film, full of heart and humour that is a real joy from start to finish. It's got to be the full 5 out of 5.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
The cockney accents in this make this whole zombie comedy film very funny. Of course there will always be some comparisons to Shaun of the Dead, another zombie comedy that was hilarious. This movie was funny and stands up on it's own very well with Alan Fords classic Cockney Gangster style sayings.

The interaction between characters of different backgrounds is what is also funny as well, from some of the old people to the younger characters.

I recommend this if you like Zombie Apocalypses to be a funny affair rather than a serious adventure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Going on the way my kids liked it, it's OK. When I looked through the doorway as I walked past there were roars of laughter, so I guess there's gore & laughs!
The subject matter is just brilliant - so for the premise alone it's worth a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
I was not expected much, but actual its very good! The choice of having well known actors made the film. loads of one liners, great special effects. Take a chance, and buy this film I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

It is a bit short, approx. one and a half hours. Could have easily stretched to two. I would love to have seen Chas & Dave as cameo zombies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Anticipated this for some time after catching a clip online. Bit disappointed with it in the end and unfortunately the add 'shows all the best bits'... Buy if you're like me and are a Zombie Movie Completist! Otherwise pass... Anyone expecting Snatch/Lock Stock.. vs Zombies will be seriously disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
I saw this film recently at the cinema. It's got a very limited release and the screen only had something around 20 seats which is a real shame as I think this film is a decent enough horror comedy with plenty of laugh out loud moments and decent enough acting. Believe me I've seen enough horror both serious and comedy (intentional or otherwise) and it's definitely worth a watch.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Watched this twice over Christmas, it is a bit corny but made for some hysterical laughing , especially Richard Briars.( I won't spoil that for you).
Some great faces that you will remember. If you like comedy and zombie it's well worth a purchase.
Would definitely recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Okay, the first 5 minutes aren't good, so don't let that put you off. This is surprisingly funny. It was great seeing so many of the old British actors/actresses in this. There are some very funny scenes. Loved it, so I bought this for a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Really good movie, so what is obviously a deliberately naff title might lead people to think it actually is rubbish which would be a shame. Lots of well known faces in small roles, Dan Miller from The Thick Of It as the dim bank manager is good, you've also got Richard Briers, Honour Blackman and Tony Selby as inmates of a retirement home facing closure. Dudley Sutton from Lovejoy is another inmate and really strange grasp of cockney rhyming.

The drop dead gorgeous Michelle Ryan reminds everyone she's got cleavage taking the lead with Rasmus Hardiker from Lead Balloon. Ryan and Hardiker decide to rob Dan Miler's bank to save the retirement home run by Alan Ford and somehow, don't ask, said home is overrun by zombies. Good acting from the entire cast, good special effects and great lines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)