Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Many books on social media, written by 'social media experts', turn out to do little more than cover the basics of how to use websites like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

This book takes a different angle, as it is aimed at those who work in PR, so the articles tend to take a more professional approach. There are a range of topics covered, from strategy to evaluation to brand management.

Having previously worked in the Marketing team of a Local Authority, it is interesting to see an article on social media and the public sector included, as local government is notoriousy reluctant to take the leap into this form of communication.

Put together by the CIPR, this book is definitely useful for PR, Marketing and Communications professionals interested in developing their skills in social media. I'll be using this to support a presentation I'm giving on the subject soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I'm just about to finish this book, and can't wait for Share This Too to come out!

It's a great insight into how Social Media has changed PR and comms in general. Each of the writers are an expert in their field so you know what they're saying is sensible, and while not giving you the answers they pose questions which help you find your own answer. As an internal communicator, I particularly enjoyed Rachel Miller's section on Corporate comms.

This book has something for everyone and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is the business when it comes to an overview of social media, the opportunities, getting started, what to be aware of and what to watch out for as well as a whole lot of stuff on metrics.

The personality of the book varies a little as you would expect from a book with over 20 contributors. But that somehow adds to its excellence as you really feel you are listening or reading a real expert in that topic.

This is a book that will date quickly in terms of the channels that rise and ebb but would still provide a basic grounding.

What I found particularly valuable is that the format allowed s complicated subject to be broken down into bit sized chunks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I think looking at this book it is clear that the readership for whom the book would be most useful would be those who are not already converted to the genre of social media. I have a vision that young execs will be pointing it up to their managers as a useful means of converting them to that which they have already discovered, namely that social media is probably one of the key marketing strategies that business owners ignore at their peril. Alas I have given it four stars as I am only partly convinced that it is a strong enough text to convince the hardened sceptic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a blogger who constantly gets approached by PR people, I wanted to find out what their professional body, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR), had to say on the subject of social media.

I was pleasantly surprised. This is a readable introduction to many aspects of social media - blogging, twitter, facebook, linkedin etc. and highlights the best practice PR professionals should adopt when using these media. How I wish most of the people contacting me had read this book!

The book is divided into 26 chapters, each written by a different author. The Editor, Steve Waddington has done a good job in pulling their contributions into a coherent whole. The broad subjects covered are:

Changing Media, Changing PR
Planning
Networks
Online Media Relations
Monitoring and Measurement
Skills
Industry Change
The Future

I shall also find this book useful as I'm beginning to use social media on behalf of clients, some of which (like linkedin) I'm unfamiliar with. The Monitoring and Measurement chapters will be useful too.

I'm only allocating 4 stars though, because I couldn't understand the final chapter on The Future (web 3.0). The author himself acknowledges that this is a pretty mind boggling concept and I suspect he needed more space to explain it than this book allows. Another shortcoming is the omission of pinterest, though I suspect this rose to prominence well after the book was written. As with all books of this nature, it quickly goes out of date, though the PR best practice should still apply to anything new.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
my friend is currently trying to break into the PR and Communications industry so I got this book for her, not knowing how incredibly helpful it was going to turn out to be. It is clearly laid out, written in simple, concise language and with plenty of relevant examples. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 May 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It's fine. No really, it's fine. The problem is if you've been using social media for a while it also seems like mostly common sense. Which like I said is fine. It's just difficult to know who the audience might be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2012
The CIPR had been slow to get on-board with social media public relations. The government sidelined it during consultation on marketing regulation of social channels a couple of years ago in favour of the ASA and IAB. In addition, there has been a widespread lack of knowledge within the industry that has provided hard to resolve over time.

Having worked in two agencies over the past six years, run train courses and done mentoring I've learned two things:

Digital knowledge is a minority sport even within savvy agencies
Ignorance can't be profiled by whether someone is a digital native or digital immigrant. Some of the people that have most got it have been the over-50s, whilst that those in their 20s have rejected it as being too hard work

At a macro level, I thought digital was the ideal point of inflection to deal with the over-supply of PR agencies that currently plague the industry. Unfortunately digital just meant that every search, interactive, media buyer and advertising agency also began offering PR-like services (often called content strategy).

Within this context Share This is an interesting vignette of articles pulled together under the auspices of the CIPR to try and provide a blue print for the still largely analogue industry. And in this respect it largely succeeds providing a useful primer for the industry. Whether the industry makes good use of the books content is another subject entirely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
So what we have here is a solid base of knowledge for people/companies who want to look into social media.

The main issue is that once you get past the initial info, there aren't any ideas to help you figure out how to push on. I would suggest that people look into the "Social Media Examiner" as they will give you some great advice on how to push your company into this domain.

Also people like Mari Smith will give you a lot of info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
In doubt? This book has it ALL! As a small company I was kicked out online. I was already on social platforms, but this made me use it properly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)