Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
69
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2013
Bought this to test new 3D TV. Very good effects and does show how 3D should look. May look for more of this type
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
It's impossible to get disappointed by David Attenborough's documentaries. The Penguin King is another masterpiece, with breathtaking images and a very touching story. Thank you, David!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I saw this in 3D at the cinema, followed by the live Q&A with the living, and undeniable, legend that is (Sir) David Attenborough.

Now, not wanting my opinion to be tainted by how brilliant Sir Attenborough spoke, how passionate he was about this title, how enthralled everyone (young and old) was by him... I will leave the Q&A out of this. Instead, I will praise the wonderful piece of footage that is `The Penguin King 3D'.

Unlike a lot of nature documentaries, The Penguin King 3D entwines beautifully a narrative that offers not only heart but astounding footage that captures the wonder of a landscape yet to be scarred. The accomplishments to film in such conditions, let alone in 3D, are insurmountable and utterly breathtaking. Not only do you become enraptured by the `King Penguin', following him on his incredible journey as he survives in such harsh conditions, existing in spite of the elements and the approaches of the ever scary Petrol birds (seriously scary!) but you are awe-inspired by the technology that allows us to capture such footage.

The Penguin King 3D is a title that everyone cannot fail to enjoy. For the children it has a heart-warming, although at time tumultuous, and for adults and children alike the footage is remarkable (in 3D and not!). As much a definite as `David Attenborough' is the king of documentaries.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
this was a very interesting story about the penguines. the 3d was good too. we would recomend this to everyone who likes penguines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
If you love documentaries and David Attenborough you MUST buy this DVD. It truly is amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Firstly I must apologise for my reviews on David Attenborough and how amazing I think he is but I grew up learning from his video and dvd collections. This 3D King Penguin is just what 3D tv was made for. It's magic and to be able to single out each bird amongst the vast depth of the colony is amazing. I felt as though I could reach out and touch each Penguin. My 5 year old daughter was captivated by the images.
When you see the lengths that the camera crews went to in order to capture such imagery it really does show how they go the extra mile to bring this to our screen. Sir Davids commentaries are in my opinion legendary and i hang on every word. It's simply brilliant and a must for any 3D collection. This is perfection from the BBC
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
THESE ARE EXTRAORDINARY ANIMALS.IT WAS A GOOD INSIGHT INTO THEIR LIVES AND FUN TO WATCH.AS ALWAYS THE NARRATION IS EXCELLENT
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I bought this as a Christmas present for a young lady who is passionate about penguins. She just loves this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Very pleased with the dvd, exactly what I wanted. Will use this company again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
The 3D depth is amazing throughout the length of the documentary, though depth is missing occasionally at very few scenes. The story itself is very gripping as it is written and narrated by Legendary naturalist David Attenborough. No need to say much about this. A release from Atlantic Productions (Kingdom of Plants 3D). 72 minutes of very enjoyable documentary yet emotional & sentimental at times. 48 minutes of additional "Making of" video. The disc comes in a beautiful 3D Lenticular Slipcase. Highly recommended to all nature documentary, Attenborough fans and 3D lovers .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)