Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
98
4.3 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who: The Claws of Axos - Special Edition [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 December 2013
Good monsters, but the direction not as sharp as some of the Pertwee series classic stuff, though. Overall a good story to add to the collection
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Just love John Pertwee, some of the costumes and effects are dated. But great all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Jon Pertwee brilliant in this nasty aliens come to earth gullible EarthLings falls for dastly plot and the doctor stops it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2006
initially, this story is really quite peaceful, a ship 'in distress' lands to grow organically, and a pompous government official want the glory of welcoming them, and literally ends up practically handing over the planet to them.

I quite liked the effects of this story, bearing in mind, it would have suited the time in which the story was made, and may not be up to todays standards, but they were good nonetheless.

The story ends i felt on a little bit of a downer, only because i think that the axons would have made a good returning feature throughout the pertwee years, who in this story was excellent, as well as all the cast, they really did pull it off. Especially the UNIT soldier who always ends up being killed in every story he is in, oh the life of an extra!! ;-)

All in all, this story is excellent and well worth buying
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Golden humanoids with a secret,government greed and the Master too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
I don't own this DVD but I did hire it once along with The Hand of Fear and I thought both these stories were great they weren't too long and they were interesting, I recommend them to any who fan. However the prices of both on here seem to have increased over the week which was a shame as I was thinking of buying them, their's around 7 DVDs that I want and haven't got yet and several of the prices have increased. :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Another classic Jon Pertwee with the brilliant Roger Delgado.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
Love collecting these, brings back child hood memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
As one of the biggest fans of Doctor Who, this was one re-release I was looking forward to as the original one from 2005 (I think) didn't have much in the way of special features. This new version, however, more than makes up for it there - the 'making of' featurette Axon Stations! is a typically superb behind-the-scenes trip down memory lane for all who were involved in the making of the story and who appear on screen.
The story is routine for this particular period in the shows' history in that an alien race arrives on Earth, bringing with it the Doctors' old enemy and nemesis The Master, but how is he involved? Eventually it's up to the Doctor and his loyal colleagues from UNIT to get to the bottom of things whilst having to deal with the interference and pig-headedness of yet another civil servent figure, Chinn (Peter Bathurst).
The Claws Of Axos as a production itself is a curious mixture of the good, the bad and the surreal. The sets for the interior of Axos are surely some of the bizarrest ever seen in the series - although they are admittedly excellent - and some of the acting from the guest cast is at times a little weak. Another downside is Dudley Simpsons' music, usually excellent but sounding woefully inadequate here as he was persuaded for this season to compose and record his scores at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop - the end result being a poorly executed soundtrack entirely made up of synthesisers.
This is by no means a bad story but others of this era were just that bit better. If you don't appreciate the story itself then buy it just to enjoy the new features it has, and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
It's Jon Pertwee and the Master. Need I say more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse