Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
133
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2013
Either I'm getting used to Stephen Tompkinson's portrayal of Banks, or he's softened in this series but he seemed much more believable. Also, the arrival of Caroline Catz as DI Morton, his sidekick, is a huge improvement on the Annie Cabot character of the 1st series. Catz's character has more depth and individualism than Andrea Lowe was allowed to be as Cabot. And the initial relationship was a fiery test of territory as they pace around each other, slowly arriving at mutual respect.

The story lines seemed stronger. Good support team. The settings are good and the series was on the whole greatly improved.

And I liked the incidence of Bank's actually getting it wrong in the final episode. It made him seem more human.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Great series but series 2 is very short. It has just 2 episodes in disc one and one episode on disc 2. Each episode is approx an hour and half. This is the shorter series of 1 to 3. It is a great series though and I personally plan to collect them all as soon as they come out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Received this DVD yesterday morning. Having already seen Innocent Graves, Dry Bones that Dream, and Strange Affair on TV, I just checked the quality and subtitles and was not disappointed. I like Caroline Catz as Helen, and she does not appear in any of the novels. No matter. We get to know Banks better, I think in this series. Watch the TV series first, and then read the novels. Then you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
I thought this was quite a good series. The two main characters are very different in their approach to policing. The new Inspector, struggles at first to fit in with her new colleagues. As you would expect. However she is competent.
Banks is quite a tragic character in the books. This comes across quite well in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Wont spoil it for you, but have to say that like series one this was gret British television at it best. Superb acting, superb plot. Just buy it and enjoy. Wish i could say more
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
AfterLewis disappeared and I was unable to continue enjoying Midsummer Murders I found DCI Banks, what a joy. Excellent quality story, performances and continuity. Cannot recommend too highly for anyone who loves high quality crime TV.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I have read all of Peter Robinson books, so I hope there are more series.Took a little while to get used to Stephen Tomkinson and I had an entirely different picture in my mind
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
I have read and hugely enjoyed all of Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks novels, not least because of Inspector Banks himself who comes across as sexy, edgy, smart and sometimes a little troubled. I felt for him when his marriage fell apart and appreciated the chemistry between him and Annie. I listened to his music with him in his car and in his home and appreciated his pride in his son's success with his band in the later novels.

I realize it is very difficult to translate a detective novel to the screen and it is true that most TV detectives may bear little physical resemblance to the author's creation but this is not necessarily a drawback as ITV struck gold with the late great John Thaw as Inspector Morse and Kevin Whately as his sidekick Lewis; yet Morse was the younger man in the books and both men were, in some respects, quite different physically in the novels by Colin Dexter than the actors who portrayed them on the small screen.

The problem with Stephen Tomkinson as Banks is he comes across as turgid and unattractive and there is not an ounce of chemistry between him and the female leads. Where is the charisma and sex appeal that draws most females to Alan Banks. One of the attributes that is most associated with Banks is his love of and eclectic taste in music and this never really comes across. Remember Morse and his love of opera and classical music.

This is not to say that Stephen Tomkinson is not an accomplished actor but he is, in my opinion, not the best choice to play Banks.

For me the stories' merits and demerits pale into insignificance when I am confronted with this insipid and leaden version of Banks.
55 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Tompkinson is not realy up to the DCI banks in the books. That apart the storylines are not to bad, far two short.what this series misses out on? It would have been better each episode had run for a number of weeks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
My wife enjoys this police drama even though she has to suffer my occasional criticisms of the failure by screenwriters to understand criminal law and correct police procedures. Having been a senior Crown prosecutor for many years, and lectured both civilian and military police on aspects of law and police investigation, I find myself questioning some aspects of this series. In the episode "Innocent Graves", a male and female detective are invited into a suspect's home and are seated with the suspect in his living room when the male detective's mobile telephone rings. He excuses himself and withdraws from the living room to the entrance hall to take the call. While in the hall, and speaking on his telephone, he happens to see in an open cupboard an item of clothing (leather jacket) that could link the suspect to the murder of one of his female students in rural parkland. The detective did not open the cupboard door or leave the hall - he simply happened to observe the clothing in a cupboard that was already open. When the detectives left the suspect's house they observed that his car matched a description given by a witness of a car seen close to the murder scene. At this stage, neither detective had done anything unlawful or improper. In an Australian court, which follows English procedure fairly closely, the detective would have done nothing wrong in simply making an observation without any form of trespass. The suspect was arrested, his jacket seized as evidence, and the murdered girl's DNA is found in a bloodstain on his jacket. The judge at trial declared a mistrial and released the accused man on the apparent ground that the detective should have closed his eyes when in the hall and not observed what he did observe in an already open cupboard in the same hall. This legal ruling was bizarre and totally unjustified. American criminal procedure is much stricter than English or Australian law but I cannot see any ground under American or Australian law for an observation to be rejected when no trespass has taken place.

In the third series of DCI Banks, even more bizarre situations develop. Responding to extortion by a criminal, an emotionally deranged Banks steals crucial police evidence relevant to a pending murder trial; passes the stolen evidence to the criminal extortioner; and even fails to wire himself to record the criminal transaction for evidence. His police superior accepts that Banks was emotionally deranged when he stole evidence crucial to a pending murder trial, and forgives Banks. Neither the police superior nor Banks appears to appreciate that the criminal behaviour of Banks has broken the chain of evidence and compromised the pending murder trial. It appears to me that the makers of this series need to pass their scripts to police and criminal lawyers for advice before any more absurd plot situations are produced.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)