Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2015
The child for whom this was bought is very pleased. Fili and Kili spend most of their time in the spider cocoons, the spiders crop up in all sorts of places around the house, and Legolas and Tauriel are involved in some kind of battle with the Lego Chima figures, I think...

In other words, a good addition to a child's imaginative landscape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 April 2014
When I read the Hobbit one of the more scary parts took place in Mirkwood and this scene (from the second movie "Desolation of Smaug") is set in Mirkwood.

This is a good build with 298 pieces spread over 2 numbered bags covered by one instruction booklet and comes with 4 minifigures and 2 built spiders.

The minifigures are:

- Fili - 2 faced (smiling and angry) - good hair piece which fits over the quiver on his back - nice stubble printing on the face - lovely printing on shirt front - the printing on the back of the shirt is covered by the quiver and the hair. Fili comes with a quiver and a sword.

- Kili - 2 faced (grumpy and angry) - as with Fili little brother Kili has a good hair piece which fits over his quiver - there is nice stubble printing on the face - good front of shirt printing - back of shirt printing is covered by the quiver and hair. Kili has a bow to go with his quiver and a sword.

- Legolas* - 2 faced (lovelorn/sad and angry) - nice blonde/yellow hair piece complete with ears - very nice torso printing which extends to the top of the legs - there is printing on the back of the torso but this is covered by the hair piece - gold "shirt sleeves". Legolas comes with a bow.

- Tauriel** - 2 faced (grumpy pout and angry) - nice red hair piece which is identical to that of Legolas in all respects but the colour - very nice torso printing - again the back torso printing is covered by the hair piece. Tauriel comes with 2 curved swords.

* Legolas doesn't appear in the book but does in the film. This variation of the Legolas printing is different to the Lord of the Rings Legolas minifigures.

** Tauriel is a creation of Peter Jackson to add a female character and a love interest for Kili so that Kili's role could be increased.

The 2 spiders are identical and have movable "tails" and legs. Though they don't look as impressive as "Shelob" (from the Lord of the Rings set) they are still quite creepy to have sat on the shelf.

There are 2 base builds:

- the first one is a smaller broken tree stump this has a brown hanging vine and bow (probably Fili's missing one) stuck to the trunk. It comes with a "skull" and a bone.

- the second one is a larger tree with red branch pieces, a solid white web, 2 toad stools, a brown hanging vine, a couple of skulls, a bone and one white mini spider and 2 black mini spiders. There are 2 "silk" bags (for captured dwarves) which hang from the red branches. There is a push panel so you can make a mini spider scuttle towards the escaping dwarves. The biggest interactive section on the tree is a pull out pin which, when removed, causes the tree to collapse and allows Fili and Kili to struggle free from their web cocoons.

There are some glow in the dark features:

- the mini white spider
- the "eyes" of the spider builds
- the white bases of the mushrooms

I like this piece - there is something about the darkness of it that really reminds me of Mirkwood and the spiders I envisioned when I read the book. The fact that the trees are mainly black, as are the build spiders, makes it so different to many of the "tree" builds from other sets.

The little moulded spiders are quite creepy in their own right. I love the spider "silk" bags but I have to wonder how long they will last if anyone is playing with the set.

The only disappointing thing is that the solid white hanging web is not glow in the dark as that would have added an incredible finishing touch to the piece ... but you can't have everything.

As an AFOL and a Tolkien fan who displays their LotR and Hobbit sets I have to say that I love the fact that Lego have provided bricks to attach the "skulls", bones and spiders to rather than them being loose. At least now if some fool picks up one of the pieces off the display shelf I shouldn't be looking for dropped pieces.

This is now a retired piece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Part of a package of Hobbit-themed items for my 8 year old grandson birthday. He absolutely loves Lego, anyway, and when he saw that this was Hobbit Lego, he was almost beside himself with excitement. Much, much enjoyment derived!! Worth more than 5 stars!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 August 2014
When I read the Hobbit one of the more scary parts took place in Mirkwood and this scene (from the second movie "Desolation of Smaug") is set in Mirkwood.

This is a good build with 298 pieces spread over 2 numbered bags covered by one instruction booklet and comes with 4 minifigures and 2 built spiders.

The minifigures are:

- Fili - 2 faced (smiling and angry) - good hair piece which fits over the quiver on his back - nice stubble printing on the face - lovely printing on shirt front - the printing on the back of the shirt is covered by the quiver and the hair. Fili comes with a quiver and a sword.

- Kili - 2 faced (grumpy and angry) - as with Fili little brother Kili has a good hair piece which fits over his quiver - there is nice stubble printing on the face - good front of shirt printing - back of shirt printing is covered by the quiver and hair. Kili has a bow to go with his quiver and a sword.

- Legolas* - 2 faced (lovelorn/sad and angry) - nice blonde/yellow hair piece complete with ears - very nice torso printing which extends to the top of the legs - there is printing on the back of the torso but this is covered by the hair piece - gold "shirt sleeves". Legolas comes with a bow.

- Tauriel** - 2 faced (grumpy pout and angry) - nice red hair piece which is identical to that of Legolas in all respects but the colour - very nice torso printing - again the back torso printing is covered by the hair piece. Tauriel comes with 2 curved swords.

* Legolas doesn't appear in the book but does in the film. This variation of the Legolas printing is different to the Lord of the Rings Legolas minifigures.

** Tauriel is a creation of Peter Jackson to add a female character and a love interest for Kili so that Kili's role could be increased.

The 2 spiders are identical and have movable "tails" and legs. Though they don't look as impressive as "Shelob" (from the Lord of the Rings set) they are still quite creepy to have sat on the shelf.

There are 2 base builds:

- the first one is a smaller broken tree stump this has a brown hanging vine and bow (probably Fili's missing one) stuck to the trunk. It comes with a "skull" and a bone.

- the second one is a larger tree with red branch pieces, a solid white web, 2 toad stools, a brown hanging vine, a couple of skulls, a bone and one white mini spider and 2 black mini spiders. There are 2 "silk" bags (for captured dwarves) which hang from the red branches. There is a push panel so you can make a mini spider scuttle towards the escaping dwarves. The biggest interactive section on the tree is a pull out pin which, when removed, causes the tree to collapse and allows Fili and Kili to struggle free from their web cocoons.

There are some glow in the dark features:

- the mini white spider
- the "eyes" of the spider builds
- the white bases of the mushrooms

I like this piece - there is something about the darkness of it that really reminds me of Mirkwood and the spiders I envisioned when I read the book. The fact that the trees are mainly black, as are the build spiders, makes it so different to many of the "tree" builds from other sets.

The little moulded spiders are quite creepy in their own right. I love the spider "silk" bags but I have to wonder how long they will last if anyone is playing with the set.

The only disappointing thing is that the solid white hanging web is not glow in the dark as that would have added an incredible finishing touch to the piece ... but you can't have everything.

As an AFOL and a Tolkien fan who displays their LotR and Hobbit sets I have to say that I love the fact that Lego have provided bricks to attach the "skulls", bones and spiders to rather than them being loose. At least now if some fool picks up one of the pieces off the display shelf I shouldn't be looking for dropped pieces.

This is now a retired piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I bought this as a Christmas present for my eight-year-old grandson, and it was a huge success. The set has a lot of imagination and play value, and the figures are good. I also bought a set containing Bilbo, as he is not contained in the Mirkwood set, which is an omission, I feel. The set arrived promptly, and was well packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
as usual, lego is overpriced in my opinion but I can't overlook the fact that my youngest gets stuck in and enjoys putting it together. he especially liked the glow in the dark bits but the mesh made web effect pouches are very easy to tear. otherwise, a good product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
My son loves it. He's hobbit/lotr mad. For the price its not the best set I've seen but its more figure happy than some so kinda makes up for it. If memory serves Tauriel and Legolas weren't in the original book but hey, elves are always nice to get so I'll go with it. The spider fabric webs i can't see lasting long til I need to sew them back together but add a nice playability touch. Ooh, one newish detail I like is that Kili and Filis hair are designed so a quiver can be worn too. Good job we got Bilbo with another set so he can sneek in! All in all I feel its a little over priced for the amount of set you get but the boy is happy with it so his vote should count :)
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This set contains four minifigs, two spiders and two trees.
I'll start with the best part, the minifigs. Two minifigs are elves (Tauriel and Legolas Greenleaf) and two dwarves (FIli and Kili). The Elf minfigs are very pretty! Legolas looks awesome with his long blonde hair, yellow sleeves and the green and brown colored outfit. His weapon is a bow ,which is BIGGER than the standard size of the bow piece. The reason is to indicate that elves are bigger than dwarves and so, their weapons should also be bigger!( I have bought a lot of LEGO sets but first time I'm seeing a bow piece of this size.) Tauriel is also another beautiful elf. She's given two daggers , with gold at the base, which look amazing! The two dwarf minifigures, Kili and Fili are Fantastic! Their hair-piece is the best. Very well designed. (Once you fit the quiver on their backs, the hair is made such that it goes over the quiver. Very well thought of by the designers).
The spiders are small but look very nice! Not very different from all the spider creatures that LEGO fans are used to seeing. Only thing I didn't like about the spiders is their face/head. It doesn't realistic at all. In fact, the spiders would fit the "Pharoah's Quest" or "Galaxy Squad" theme better, rather than the "Hobbit" theme; they look more like something out of a sci-fi film.But, in the end, they look great and I guess that's what matters.
This set contains two trees. Mostly black-colored bricks are used with bit of red in between. There are a few skulls and bones at the bottom of the trees. That's the reason, the trees look scary and give a nice effect in the end. There's a spider-web-piece provided for one tree.This is a rare piece that you get from LEGO. It looks AMAZING and one small pider fits nice and snug in the middle of the web! (There are three small spiders in this set; two black and one white).There are two brownish mushroom-kinda-plants , which I've never seen before in any set, which look nice. This set contains two web-bag-kinda things . which are used to trap Fili and Kili. These "bags" are very well made and of good quality. It's the first time I'm seeing them in any set.You can put the dwarfs in them and then hang them from the tree. I'm sure people who make MOCs would love these "bags" and would use it creatively in their MOCs. The one thing I don't like about the trees that LEGO gives is that they hardly have any leaves. Hope , in the future, LEGO will start giving more of leaf-bricks, to provide at least a decent foliage for the trees.
This set contains two play features. One is where , the top of one of the tree falls down. This is provided so that dwarves, caught in the "web-bags", can escape. The second feature is, where you push one button and one small spider slides out. These features are a bit lame, for the adults. Kids also may find it boring. (LEGO has given a lot of similar features like this in the past).
The extra pieces with set are also nice. I think LEGO has given more extra pieces, than they usually give. They've given a piece of plant (sea-weed kind of thing) , one gold dagger and even a printed brick, which is like the top of a mushroom-kinda-plant.
Once you're done assembling and keep everthing together, you feel full of admiration! This set looks so beautiful!! I think the black color/bricks are plenty in this set and that, combined with the amazing minifgis and spiders, makes the entire thing...AWESOME! This set is definitely a must-have for any LEGO or "Hobbit" fan or those who like nice-looking & high quality toys with good playability!
NOTE: By the time I finished this review, I went and bought ANOTHER one of this set! Guess I want to create a small Mirkwood forest where a company of Elves and Dwarves will fight the giant spiders! Also, in the future, I'm goona buy MORE of this set.(Luckily it's not as costly as many other LEGO sets). Just LOVE this set; It's become one of my favourite LEGO sets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
You cant really go wrong with Lego. Bought this for my nephews and they have hours of fun building and playing. Gradually adding more to their collection but some pieces seem a bit pricey where as this seemed good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This set is wonderful, the design on the spiders is excellent and I really thought they did a good job with the characters. In addition you also get quite a few cool rare elements, I particularly like the mushroom pieces and also the mossy leaves in dark red. Even if you question why they included Legolas and the lady elf in the movie, it is still worth picking this guy up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here