Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 22 July 2017
I've read a worse book, but only one. This comes a close second to the worst book I've ever read. (And I've read a lot of books).

On one hand, the book does what you might expect: it trots out a series of tales about being wasted and smashing things up and shagging, tales I am sure the author has been dining out on since the 70s until he realised he could make himself more money by putting them into print. However the writing is terrible. I mean, really super terrible. The same stock phrases are repeated over and over "Keith got it into his head.... of course nothing would do but (we had to execute his idea)". In a world where all women are "bints" gay men are "pooves" and the worthiness of each new character is based on whether or not he will buy a round of drinks, it becomes beyond tedious, instead it gets embarrassing, cringeworthy. Unfortunately, I made it to the bitter end, where the author describes Keith Moon begging then crying like a baby because the author was leaving him for another job (carefully and deliberately describing how the conversation took place in a sound proofed car so no one, including the driver can verify this ever happened). It leaves no dignity to the memory of Keith Moon, nor indeed to the author, the guy who claims he was Moon's only real pal. You can't help but come away feeling that he was bitter about being- let's face it- not a true friend, not a member of the band, but just a paid hanger on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
Entertaining if your interested in endless tales of debauchery and drunken behaviour. No real substance to this biography , only the occasional snippet of Moon's true character , perhaps because Moon was a very shallow person anyway.
Began to tire of the same theme running through the book namely "what an wealthy individual with no moral compass gets up to in his spare time" . Wouldn't recommend if looking for a deeper insight into Moon's personality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
Full of interesting stories about Keith Moon's crazy lifestyle, however I found Dougal Butler's way of recounting them rather irritating & repetitive after a while. I'm sure there are better books about Keith Moon out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
Then he threw up,then he did the gig,then he trashed the hotel room---yawn! Read 'Dear Boy--the Life of Keith Moon' if you want a real insight but be warned--it's a lengthty tome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2012
I have to be honest I'm not much of a reader but when it comes to The Who and especially Keith Moon I simply had to make sure I read this. Very glad I did too, it's a very personal account of the hey day of the best drummer we've ever had and what he got up to. Very funny at times and also, quite sad how such a talented musician had such a crazy life. Peter 'Dougal' Butler was with Keith from 67 to 77 and so there's no better person to tell it like it was. You will be amazed at what they got up to and my hat goes off to Dougal for keeping Keith going for as long as 10 years! A must read if your: a) A Who Fan b) A rock & roll fan or c) interested in fascinating characters, period. Loved it and will definately read it again sometime. Oh, btw, nice to have a crisp new book in the form of this re-release as the originals are usually tatty from being read so much and, apart from that, hard to find. If you do the modern tech thing too, this is on kindle (Full Moon: The Amazing Rock and Roll Life of Keith Moon) or audio book, so no excuses!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
Like Keith Moon's best performances on record, tales of his off-stage antics never get boring.
Dougal Butler, who was actually there bailing Moon out of many a brandy induced predicament, recounts the tales with wit, humour & a large dose of Cockney rhyming slang.

Some of the memories may be hazy, for Butler was indulging too, but he remembers a surprising amount of detail, no doubt helped by the fact that the book was written soon after the events. You probably couldn't pen a book in this style today. The PC Brigade would be on it like a ton of bricks.

The book is hilarious, yet tragic. We all know what happens at the end, and sometimes you'll want to tell Keith to have a quiet night in or ten. He always had to live up to that reputation though.

A great read about the ultimate rock star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2013
A good read, a bit relentless at points and often seems a sad waste of a life - but such was the chaotic life of Moonie.

A true musical legend and demoralizing at the end but worthwhile read from a man who was there at a key stage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
This book is a must have for every Who fan out there, what we're talking about is the story of, possibly, the greatest drummer of all time, Keith Moon, an incredible talent and an incredible man.
With this book written by Peter "Dougal" Butler, Moon's personal assistant from 1967 to 1978, we get to know more the man and somehow less the icon, with clever narrative twists here and there and with a narrative style that you'd get listening to the man himself at the bar telling you his incredible experiences during those crazy days, that he's been lucky enough to live and then luckily to share. Somehow behind the figure of amusement and the laughs that Keith Moon was always looking for and was willing to share with those surrounding him, also his problematic and in certain ways complex nature shows through and that's why this book is worth your money, simply as that: this is the only document existing that will tell you about Keith the man even in his privacy, written by the only man, as told by the author himself, who really knew him at all.
Moreover "Full Moon" is entertaining, personally I found myself laughing histerically while reading about some of Keith's shenanigans.
Last but not least, this book gives you the opportunity to get the idea of how the business of rock n roll was perceived and lived from the inside in the 60's and especially during the 70's, what kind of power was given to rock musicians and what kind of role they were given during those years, which for so many reasons differs from today; in those days rock behaviour was as its purest form, (sex, drugs and Rock n roll all the way) and not a bunch of clichés.
I couldn't recommend it more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2014
Although The Who were never among my greatest bands, I was always impressed and intrigued by Keith Moon. He was a brilliant drummer and someone who knew how to enjoy life. This book was a great insight into his life and the type of character he was. It was written by someone that was there and witnessed the events, not someone who has done their research by looking back at newspaper articles etc. and getting mislead by the press.
Some people may be put off by language etc. that is used but read any book about a rock star and you will encounter that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)