Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2012
This is one of the most absorbing books that I have ever read. It combines the interest of writers like Ernie Gann, the fluency of Richard Bach and the dedication to aviation of a true aircraft lover. When Jay talks about a particular airplane, the reader can almost feel the emotions, either love or toleration. I found it almost impossible to put down. As an author (Skytrucker) and a former transport pilot, I thoroughly endorse this book and would suggest that the next thing you do is to buy it and read it for yourself!

Skytrucker: Incidents, Accidents and Romantic Attachments Gathered Over Forty Years in Aviation
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
A beautifully paced book. I found it hard to put down. We journey with the author from rookie learner to first officer and eventually to captain. His joy in his profession shines through. The benefits of a successful aviation career are celebrated with him and the closing pages aimed a young would be pilots are wise and thoughtful.
A wonderful read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
This is a readable memoir from the days when people, not computers, flew airplanes and being an airline pilot was an adventure. Pilot memoirs are written by the pilots who were lucky enough to live to retirement and this one is par for the course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
More like an extremely well written diary than a book but very good nonetheless. The author takes you from the cowboy days of flying to more or less the modern day. He illuminates how the industry has changed but the stories of how he dealt with various in flight challenges are far more interesting and exciting. The author also offers good tips on how to break into and succeed in the airline industry. A good companion - albeit far different - book to this is Ernie Gann's "Fate Is The Hunter".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Fate is the Hunter really started something and I am now finding the current crop of commercial pilot memoirs as entertaining as the military pilots efforts. This book being no exception. I took this book on holiday and read it in a couple of days to the consternation of the missus who wanted to be out and about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I really enjoyed this book! P J Spivack has led a fascinating life in general and in the aviation world in particular. Some of his flying experiences are hair raising! As a pritae pilot I could really relate to the stories. He has an informative and easy style of writing. Recommended if you are interested in aircraft and flying (and also fly fishing!).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
A superb collection of experiences and stories - very well told. I have settled on the fact that the reality of flying today is not what it was, and so have chosen another career path. Having books like this to read give me the opportunity to look back on the better years of flying. The pace is great, and there's a perfect balance between technical detail, humour and the character of the author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Exciting informative PJ Spivack is an airman and Captain of consummate skill. he explained the complication of Flying in a way I could understand . The book also has a lot of human interest. I did not like or need the list of air accidents at the end and quickly gave up on this part of the book.. very interesting read I would recommend..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
An interesting insight into a life of airline flying the hard way. In the main working for smaller and charter airlines although still flying large aircraft up to the DC10. Plus a spell working for the shadowy world of the American governments "specialist" intelligence department. I found it interesting enough to read twice, straight off!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Professionalism and modesty define the author. Who obviously enjoying the financial safety his career brought him has not let it go to his head. His advice four aspiring pilots should be written into Airline text books.
John Bevins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)