Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 18 May 2013
This story drips historical accuracy clothed in an engaging tale about two brothers, one the real son of a Jewish Doctor and her Jazz playing husband, the other a boy born to a dead German gentile and adopted at birth. The two boys are raised as twins. It takes the reader through the tragedy of post WW1 Germany, the brief heyday of the Weimar Republic to the madness of the Nazi years. The general history is well known, but the detail is astonishing. Did the Nazi's really remove the telephones from Jewish homes? I had never considered it before, nor many of the other petty restrictions placed on the Jews living under an evil regime during the 1930's.

The story is told in flashback from the point of view of the surviving brother living in London in the 1950's, but its clearly signposted so there is little confusion about what is happening and when. It would take a heart of stone not to be moved, and one scene in particulalr (I won't spoil the story by revealing which scene) that moved a cynical old codger to tears.

Ben Elton is best known as a writer and performer of comedy, but in this book there are few laughs. Don't let this put you off. Its a wonderfull story extremely well told. We can only hope that history is never repeated and Ben never has cause to write a similar story set in the 21st century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
I really enjoyed this novel this subject has been covered in countless books but this one had something about it that I enjoyed.
Its worth a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Ben Elton is both articulate nd sympathetic in his telling of the plight of a family of German Jews during the early days of the Nazi party and the atrocities that followed. The story moves on with pace and compeles the reader on to its conclusion. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
WW2 history has always interested me, as have Ben's books over the years, so this book seemed like a no brainer.

It is incredibly interesting to read about what was broadly happening in Germany after WW1 and given that the family in the story and what happens to them is loosely based on Ben's own family history adds more weight and conviction to it

Horrific, sad, gripping, intriguing and astonishing to read, I will be recommending it to everyone I know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
A well researched book outlining the series of historical events, through a story, that happened in Germany from after the first war till the start of the Cold War. The tale is a run of emotions, and, like most Elton novels, has a couple of twists. Truely a great writer. Sadly, his books are such compelling reading, you read them in a matter of hours or a day, and you're stuck what to read next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2017
A compelling, sad, frightening and captivating narration of a family and close friends caught up in the build up to the Second World War- beautifully written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2017
This book takes you through the lives of a Jewish family in the early 1930's when Germany's leaders began their destruction of peoples lives.

I
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2017
Read it for the 2nd time after a 5 year gap and enjoyed it just as much. Well researched and gripping, all of the characters have depth and you end up caring about them. Very sad in some places but it also brings home the sheer horror of what happened in a way 100 documentaries never could. But it is also a very uplifting story of unconditional love and loyalty. I am sad to have finished it and would thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
Despite having a fairly well read knowledge of WW2, I don’t think I will ever fail to be shocked at the treatment of the Jews during that period. Ben Elton tells a fictional story based on real life events and things that will have happened during the time; his connection makes the story all the more poignant.

Very well told and touching story, I definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
A good, sometimes tragic story, I'm not sure I wholly appreciateBen Eltons writing but I'm pleased to have read/ listened to this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here