Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
1,533
4.5 out of 5 stars
Size: 2 TB|Style: Component Boxed|Change
Price:£79.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2013
The product is as per description, package was not what i would have expected, a massive box with 2 drive floating inside, i was quite scarred but they worked perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Working well and not issues as yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Item arrived doi due to the expert packing by amazon..waste of time. No bubble wrap.just two pieces of crumpled paper. Computer won't recognise drive and it makes a loud winning sound.
review image
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
Price purchased £127.07
The drive information on Amazon the drives are described as only tested for NAS with 1-5 drive bays. However, on a support page it clarifies that the Red series are tested for 1-8 bay NAS and there is also a link to a NAS compatibility list [Amazon won't allow this link].
To find it search for "Compatibility list for the WD Red NAS Hard Drive id=9758" in Google without the quote marks. This appears to have been tested for the latest drives with NASWare 3.0 although I have been using 4 mirrored pairs of NASWare 2.0 drives without any issues. In NAS systems with 24x7 operation vibration is a factor in terms of reliability which is why NASWare 2.0 drives were recommended for drive enclosures of no more than 5 drives. NASWare 3.0 drives improved on the ability to manage the effect of vibration on the drives and this is why they increased rated these newer drives for up 8 drives per NAS enclosure.

I had the opportunity to purchase the retail drive at the same price as the OEM drive so I was able t compare what you get in comparison to buying the OEM version of the drive. Looking at reviews of the OEM version of this drive there has been some confusion about whether the extra cost is worth it.

To clarify what the differences were I rang Western Digital support. They told me that different countries have different warranty periods. Red series drives in the USA have a 12-month warranty and then you pay a little extra to add the extra warranty. I have bought more than 10 of the Red series of various sizes 3TB, 4TB and 6TB OEM. Each of these drives have registered for 3-year warranties.

WD support suggested that Amazon sourced their OEM drives from different countries and that about 50% of them would register as OEM and only have 12 month’s warranty. Amazon identifies that the drives only come with a 12-month warranty unless you pay for more, (not an option for the 4TB drive), so if you register one and it only gives you a 12 -month warranty you have no grounds to complain.

So in summary spending the extra £14.00 for the retail version gives you the peace of mind of knowing that you definitely have a three-year warranty. It also comes with drive screws and standard retail packaging. The OEM drives generally come with plastic mounts, on either end, to isolate them from damage to the containing boxes. The retail version plastic support mounts are on the side running the full length of the drive see photos.

I think whether you purchase this retail version or opt for the OEM version depends on whether you need a set of screws to mount the drive and more importantly whether you are willing to take the risk that you may end up with a drive which only registers a 12-month warranty. I would suggest that buying OEM drives directly from Amazon, as opposed to buying from a Market Place seller, might increase the chance of getting a three-year warranty and a safely packaged drive.

In terms of performance these drives run quietly and quickly. They have a variable speed between 5,400-5,900rpm. So these are not the fastest drives, which are the black series, but seem to perform quickly in everyday use for Desktop (Windows 10 & 8.1), and NAS (Network Attached Storage).
review image review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I bought these drives for a Thecus NAS enclosure. I tested them by hammering them over a 40-hour RAID rebuild, at the end of which they were running cool (36° C) in a warm room (ambient probably around 24°). This is partly due to the excellent air-flow in the design of the enclosure, but they were noticeably cooler than comparable Seagates. They are inaudible in a quiet room: only (low) fan noise can be heard. SMART reports no problems whatsoever. Touching them, I feel little or no vibration under load, though again the design of the enclosure should eliminate resonance between multiple disks and they are isolated from fan-vibration. They are not, apparently, very fast drives, but in a RAID array connected by Gigabit Ethernet, the network link will be the bottleneck in any case. I can't predict long-term reliability, but WD offer a good MTBF and a 3-year guarantee; I had no problems registering their serial numbers on WD's web-site.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Running in a QNAP NAS and doing well. I think the extra cost here is worth the investment for the peace of mind. The extra margins of tolerance on vibration and the like all comfort me. I've run NAS units on lesser drives without issue, but am happy to have paid the extra now for peace of mind. Remember, the performance of individual drives is not the real issue, a RAID 5 or 10 config will give you the read speeds you need, faster drives are largely inconsequential especially over a network. The real issue is reliability.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2016
I have a number of 6TB WD Red drives for myynology NAS box and decided to replace my lads old hard drives in his 'gaming rig'.

WD Red drives are designed for NAS boxes but it makes no difference if you put them in a desktop PC, it just means it is designed to be left on and used 24/7.

The other 8 6TB drives have been running perfectly for about 2 years now and I expect this to be no different.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
purchased 2 discs at same time, both serial numbers in warranty for UK (so not out of region)
one lasted around 16 months going into 'failing mode' on a synology NAS a few days after the limited warranty expired with WD.
clearly, amazon were holding stock for a long time as the warranty is supposed to be 36 months.
the other one is still working, but I don't expect it will last much longer, so buying 2 new ones as not worth the risk.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 May 2017
I figured the Red 6TB NAS hard disk was best for price vs. storage size. I opted for the retail box over the OEM, as the retail packaging would give more protection over the OEM (though hard drive packaging has improved over the years). Wasn't a lot more expensive.

It's currently taking up one bay in a TerraMaster F2-220 2-Bay NAS Drive Enclosure. It and the WD Red are performing perfectly, no lag, no heat or noise issues. It has replaced and consolidated data spread over three Samsung 2TB and one Seagate 4TB drive, all of which are working perfectly, yet none of which had been backed up.

Now all I need to do is save up for another 6TB, 'cos that's an awful lot of eggs in one basket at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 131 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)