Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 13 March 2013
Quite a good read but I was very annoyed to find that this is a "to be continued" story. I really do think this should be made clear in the advertising blurb on the site.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Talon Avalon is a man on the run in the future world of 2064's Chicago - a dazzling world of roof-top greenery, casual sex and recreational drugs - where violent crime is a thing of the past thank's to TEV technology that allows trained "van-dammes" the ability to see into the past and catch criminals red-handed. Within the first chapter, our hero is called upon to investigate a mysterious disappearance, which turns out to be Chicago's first murder in over a decade, and he quickly identifies the murderer as himself.

Rather understandably, Talon is a little taken aback by this and decides to clear his name - pursued by the entire Chicago police force and his partner Teague who has more than just a grudge to settle, Talon soon discovers the shocking reality of his predicament.

I enjoyed this book's premise and the style in which it was written - very similar to the author's other work, especially the Jack Daniels mysteries series. You can easily tell that the author is enjoying the freedom that self-publishing brings; no idea is too wild and no plot twist is too outlandish. Thankfully, the multiple twists and turns never go too far and just about keep you within the realms of reality (however you might define that term). The book was a good, quick read, funny at times and full of original and wild ideas. I'm looking forward to reading the second book "supersymmetry".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Having read all the Jack Daniels' novels I was delighted to discover that J.A. Konrath is writing a new sci-fi series. It features JD's descendant, a detective in the Chicago of 2064 with futuristic time-recording equipment at his disposal.
Having read both Timecaster novels I'm happy to confirm that they're excellent - different in tone to the JD novels but brimming over with quirky ideas, crazy situations and Joe's trademark witty dialogue. They're a lot of fun!
The price is right too, and the sequel is even better value Timecaster Supersymmetry . My fave authors are GRRM, Stephen King and Joe Abercrombie; Konrath is very different yet somehow hits the spot.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Whether you laugh or cry, love or hate this, I must have been in the mood!although outrageous in parts, it's a must for lovers of timecop and minority report.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Incredible! Like Matthew Reilly on acid! Thrilling and funny,non stop and over the top action with amazingly written characters. I bought this as part of one of those box sets designed to introduce readers to authors they would either overlook or never been introduced to and J.A. Konrath deserves anybody's attention, will be looking for the sequal right away. 5 stars, should be more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
A fast paced sci fi thriller, set in a universe similar to minority report. Albeit an alternative one where time caster cops are able to view the crime and follow the culpret to where they are hiding. Some good scifi with action and intrigue, my only complaint is that just as you are getting some answers it leaves you on a cliff hanger!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Gave up at about 75% - so I tried - really. Some of the fight scenes are great and it has lots of humour in it but I just can't get into SF like this. It's probably a very good book - and other reviewers have rated it high, but I couldn't finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Well writen action SF. Interesting and creative vision of the future. Comic book larger than life hero overcomes impossible odds to save the world from evil villains! Yes its been done before but still a good laugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
not my usual type of sci-fi read but very enjoyable - a roller coaster ride but with loads of humour and the odd bits of sexiness really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
The only reason why I haven't given it a 5 is because of all the crap he says about 'Chomsky'. Only a Zionist (Nazi) sympathiser would feel that way about him. But if you could overlook that shortfall of the Author - whatever his bloody name is - then it's actually a really great read.

The pace of the book moves along nicely and the whole science aspects is actually written very well. You will actually be convinced all the propositions written can be real. But it's essentially a Thriller about a Man being wrongly accused, but instead of trying to track down the real criminal/s: here it's not restricted to one but many Universes.

One aspect I like of the Author is he does manage to put in genuine humour at the right places, although in this book he does try a bit too much sometimes. But once you've read this you absolutely will want to buy the sequel.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse