Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2013
Batman Begins explores the origins of the Batman legend and the Dark Knight's emergence as a force for good in Gotham.

With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent, the Batman has been making headway against local crime...

Eight years after the events of The Dark Knight, the terrorist leader Bane arrives in Gotham City, pushing it and its police force to their limits, forcing its former hero Batman to resurface after taking the fall for Harvey Dent's crimes.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Anyone who is leaning toward buying this set because of the included book, 'The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy', should be wary - Unlike the product image, which shows the hardcover edition of the book (which is available separately) the version included with this box set is not merely slimmed down, but heavily abridged too - It features many of the images from the original but almost all the text has been entirely removed. Given that the book allegedly feature rare insight into the intentions of those involved in making this trilogy, it was disappointing to find we only get the pictures - As a bonus addition, it's still a very nice touch, but the differences could be defined more clearly in the product image and description.

(Also, as mentioned elsewhere, the book also isn't quite the right dimensions for the box and requires a piece of polystyrene in order to sit flush with the disc sleeve)
11 comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
I loved all three movies, and I'm sure the blu rays are amazing to watch. But when I received the box set this morning I was really disappointed. For starters there was the random piece of paper stuck to the back which described each of the movies. I don't understand why it was there at all if it wasn't simply going to be the design for the back of the box, as having removed it; my box already has white spots where the glue has damaged it. the booklet of how the movies were made is a nice touch, but I thought it was very cheap to just put a piece of polystyrene in the box so that you could see it. it would have been easy to put an indent in the box so that the blu rays and booklet were the same level and I didn't have to take the blu rays out to get to the booklet. Then I actually opened the blu ray box. 2 out of 5 of the discs don't have a title on them. So it's not that easy to tell which disc is 'Batman Begins', and which disc is 'The Dark Knight'. All the other discs have 'The Dark Knight Rises', or 'The Dark Knight Special Features', and I find that inconsistency and lack of clarity extremely annoying. I realise I'm nit-picking and no one else is probably bothered, but when this came through my door this morning, I expected better.
1111 comments| 114 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We are in a golden age of comic book movies right now. No movies show that as perfectly as Christopher Nolan's "Dark Knight Trilogy" -- three movies that explore the formative years of the legendary superhero Batman, from the beginning of his crusade for justice to the explosive climax. Even people who aren't into capes and tights can appreciate this story.

"Batman Begins": After his parents' murderer is paroled, young bazillionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) vanishes on an aimless journey across the world. He's taken under the wing of the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson), who offers to train him to be a member of the League of Shadows. But then Bruce learns that the League plans to annihilate Gotham, his home city.

Gotham has become rotten to the core with mobs, crooked cops and a fear-inducing shrink. Using the company's discarded prototypes, Bruce fashions an armored bodysuit and tanklike vehicle, and uses them to fight crime wherever he finds it. But the League still has plans to destroy Gotham, and the only one who can stop them is Batman.

"The Dark Knight" is feeling pretty good about his battle against crime, especially since the new DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) is a morally-upright good-guy. But Batman isn't prepared for the Joker (Heath Ledger) a mad clownish psychopath who has hired himself out to the mob to destroy their worst enemy, the Dark Knight. Even worse, he has the ultimate way of blackmailing Batman into doing what he wants: holding all of Gotham hostage.

"The Dark Knight rises picks up eight years later -- crime is almost gone, Batman has vanished, and Bruce Wayne is a recluse. But then a terrifying masked man named Bane arrives in Gotham, attacking Batman as revenge for the League's destruction. He will turn Gotham into a living nightmare, unless the Dark Knight can rise again...

Most directors would have given these movie a distinctly comic-book, slick pop-culture feel. But no matter how hard you search, there's not a single hint in "The Dark Knight Trilogy" that anything kitschy or campy came before it, or that it was originally a comic book. Instead Christopher Nolan creates a movie as dark, tightly-wound and intense as Batman himself.

But since this is a comic-book movie, Nolan peppers them with kinetic action, high-speed chases and massive explosions. The dialogue is drizzled with dry humor ("That isn't exactly what I had in mind when I said I wanted to inspire people"," Batman says, looking at a bunch of impersonators), mostly to temper the overhanging sense of horror and apprehension.

The most striking part of these movies is Nolan's delving into morality, and the darker side of human nature. He heaps more tragedy and trauma on Batman than just his parents' death, and delicately traces the moral boundaries -- or lack of them -- between Batman and his foes.

Christian Bale is simply brilliant as Bruce Wayne/Batman -- sure, his growly voice can get a bit silly at times, but he perfectly conveys the strength, pain and determination of a man who will sacrifice everything to save others. Michael Caine is awesome as his faithful butler/father figure, and there are solid backing performances by Morgan Freeman and Gary Oldman.

And the performances of the villain actors are absolutely brilliant. Everybody knows of the late Heath Ledger's spellbindingly chilling performance as the Joker, a casually corrosive creature who believes himself to be the yin to Batman's yang. But Tom Hardy and Liam Neeson are also brilliant as cunning, clever people who are determined to destroy Gotham.

The biggest problem is that Nolan isn't very good at casting women. Maggie Gyllenhaal and the pouty Katie Holmes are both hideously miscast as the cruel, manipulative Rachel Dawes, who treats Bruce's heart like a toy. Anne Hathaway is the best of the bunch -- a pretty baffling choice as Catwoman, but she does a decent job.

"The Dark Knight Trilogy" contains some of the best superhero movies ever made -- a dark, gritty, richly-imagined tale of one man's quest against chaos and evil.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
So I've waited for a box set like this to get the FHD versions of Nollans excellent movies but...

The pros:
Images is as expected excellent (no complaints here).
Disk cover is unique and original. Its a cover and a artbook.
Photo book is great.
The extra disk on the end add some extra material not available on the dvds.

The cons:
Most of the extras on the The Dark Knight are in the collector edition dvd...
ALL of the disk's construction looks like a rental disk (in fact the all have in it "for Rental or Sale"... Disk goes straight to movie. no main menu, only an in movie menu so you have to change any options during movie play.... also extras on the Batman Begins are a joke, and for this movie there is no extras disk.
The miniatures are Matchbox Hot Wheels toys available to buy on a toy shop (i was surprise to saw them 1st on a local retailer). This are not collector's edition material, not by far. Is 3 toys for your kids.

So for the price if you don't have the Blu-rays yet this is a good deal, but if you are looking for something special then this is not the case...

If you already have the movies in Blu-ray dont waste money on this edition. If you are like me and only add the DVD's then this is a good choice for the price.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
It's no secret how great the Chris Nolan Batman movies are. They're a lot more grounded than other superhero films, and are about as realistic as a man dressing up as a giant bat and beating the snot out of criminals can be. They play a lot more on the idea of Batman being a symbol, rather than just a man. People have criticized them as too realistic, but to me it makes it more enjoyable. Batman Begins, obviously deals with Batman's origin and how he was trained by the League of Shadows and deals with Batman having to stop villains Ra's Al Ghul and Scarecrow from destroying Gotham. The Dark Knight deals with a now established Batman working with the police to tackle new criminal mastermind The Joker. This film also features Harvey Dent and shows the origins of Two Face. The Dark Knight Rises features and older Bruce Wayne forced out of retirement to stop masked mercenary Bane detonanting a nuclear bomb in Gotham. While also dealing with the new theif on the block, Catwoman. This is a trilogy in every sense of the word, the films all connect and things we thought we knew in Batman Begins are turned upside down by the end of The Dark Knight Rises. Every actor gives a great perfomance from Christian Bale, Micheal Caine, Morgan Freeman, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Aaron Eckhart, Liam Neeson, Cillian Murphy and of course the fantastic Heath Ledger as the Joker. On the other hand, the box set these beauty of films come in is awful. The discs are all held in place by fancy weak pieces of plastic that broke as soon as i tried taking a disc out. Not only that but when you do manage to take a disc out, you have to literally slide it back rather than simply clicking it into place like normal dvd's. This can result in scratched, unreadable disc's after just a few watches. So, great movies, but buy them seperate if you want them to last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
The movies are what they are. Whether or not one decides to fork out for the premium set depends on the value one grants to the trilogy as a whole and whether or not one desires to own them in a deluxe package together with the items included.

For my part I was quite eager to get my hands on the "toys" and have the three miniature vehicles decorate my coffee table. They are far better quality than some people make out and have a certain weight to them. Not earth-shattering in any way but pleasant and fun enough. I also quite liked the idea of the mini posters lined up together on one of my bedroom walls. The photography book was a pleasant surprise; it has better quality to it than I expected and it's quite nice to have a tactile object which gives one access to some of the films' stunning photography. It's not something I'm going to stare at for hours but it's always quite nice to delve into or at least have access to a quality compendium of film images.

Then of course comes the bonus blu ray. This contains an hour long (roughly) documentary on the trilogy, broadly outlining the intention behind each of the films, the construction, execution, marketing and the legacy. It's inevitable with such things that there is a lot of self-congratulatory remarks etc but in the case of this trilogy it is all deserved and it's always in good spirit. As is well known by now there is some interesting screen test footage of alternative Bruce Waynes including one played by "Scarecrow" Cilian Murphy and of course Bale himself in the Val Kilmer bat costume, reacting to lines spoken by Amy Adams. One gets to see the faces of the high-ups in the trilogy, plenty of production footage, a fascinating if short description of Heath Ledger's approach to the Joker role (and the huge courage it took as an actor to dare be compared to Nicholson's iconic portrayal in Batman '89) as well as plenty of anecdotes including from the main man, Nolan. Also on the bonus disc is a charming and sweet conversation between the two giants, Nolan and Richard Donner (director of Superman), which touched me as I could see a cross-generational admiration and respect and love for their craft. Film making is not for dummies. Donner comes across as very humble, as does Nolan, yet there is no hiding the fact that their technical and artistic knowledge of the medium is very great. To finish off the bonus material, all the imax scenes from films 2 and 3 and reproduced in a conventional aspect ratio but this struck me as pointless since I don't take to black bars covering the left and right sides of the screen.

The discs are presented and held in a sturdy hardback book which has large images inspired by each of the films. I sold my original blu ray copies since I was always going to buy this set, but some "collectors" might like to hold on to their BD copies for the sake of keeping alternative film covers as well as having the films in a more conventional BD format. I'm quite happy I switched over, but I can see the appeal of retaining the original BD versions, especially if one isn't a fan of a hardcover book style presentation.

I take one star off because while quite pleasing to look out, the outer box is best rested horizontally rather than vertically as the lid tends to slide off a little, destroying whatever aesthetic value it may have standing upright. That is a minor flaw, but coupled with the fact that one has to tip the box over to get to the disc-book and photo-book then one starts to question this packaging choice.

At any rate I am very pleased I forked out for this set as it has met my expectations but my advice is if you're not interested in the miniature bat-vehicles or the villain posters or even the extra bonus footage then there is no reason for you to add this to your basket and you can happily go along your way.

Four stars
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I received this set for Christmas and I personally think it's superb. All three of Christopher Nolan's incredible films featuring the caped crusader, with over seven hours of bonus features to boot. You can't go wrong, really.

It's worth noting that the Amazon reviews for this set are muddled. There have been many different versions of The Dark Knight Trilogy released, yet Amazon see fit to merge all the reviews into one. Please bear in mind that if you order this product you won't get the fold out set with book and lenticular cover. If you want that set, then you will be better ordering The Dark Knight Trilogy (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] version.

Instead, with the regular DVD set, you get the three films, two discs with each, in three individual cases, housed in a slipcase with a sort of metallic effect over it. I will add an image to The Dark Knight Trilogy [DVD] showing what the set looks like, just to sort out any potential confusion.

Recommended if you just want the trilogy on DVD. If you want a snazzy set then you are best of opting for the DVD + UV version. Normally I would opt for a fold out set, but given that the films are only a trilogy, I like to see each individual one on my shelf, as they don't take up a great deal of room.
review image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
This boxset has just turned up and I've happily opened to find everything as it should be. After reading other user reviews such as unmarked discs, booklet doesn't fit box, Spanish texts etc, I can happily void all buy one of those faults.

Some reviews on here such as the unmarked discs and espanol writing are for THE BLU-RAY BOXSET EDITION, NOT THIS ONE.
USERS NEED TO MAKE SURE THEY'RE REVIEWING THE CORRECT ITEM.
The BLU ray edition has the faults, this one doesn't and I can't make it more clear.
However the one fault I can agree on us the polystyrene insert to keep the book flush to the box. Now that doesn't fuss me as I'm not going to be peering inside when I want my batman fix, am I?

All in all;
QUALITY 10/10
DISCS 10/10
DISC HOLDERS 8/10 (I don't think the flimsy plastic)
OUTER BOX 10/10 (No glue marks)
BOOKLET 9/10 (Has less detail than described but still a great edition).

A must for fans.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Purchased as a gift which was well received.

I've seen all of these films and they put the new batman to shame in my opinion. (Sorry Ben Affleck)
I guess Christian Bale read the script and got out when he could lol. I don't actually know all the ins and outs just stating these films are in another league. However what I do know is this Trilogy is amazing! All three movies are great, I'd probablly say batman begins and the the dark knight are my favourite.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)