Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
92
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.29


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
A landmark 90s album, here beautifully packaged on heavy yellow vinyl. The sound quality is superb, and I'm sure you already know how great the music is.

As a dyed-in-the-wool rock fan of bands form the 60s and 70s I had pretty much given up on new music til I heard this album. Shades of the Who, Kinks, Bowie et al throughout, but with a modern twist. I made do with the CD for years but thought I'd treat myself to the vinyl version, and it looks beautiful in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
GREAT BAND
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Good,not excelent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Described exactly as it is and turned up when expected. New and great quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
This is one of Blur's best records. The title track is absolutely superb, but the whole record is definitely worth a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2006
A quasi-concept album about Britain and its Americanisation, Parklife is the peak of Blur, coming as the second part of their Britpop trilogy, after the poorly received (commercially at least) Modern Life Is Rubbish and before the decent The Great Escape. It also came out in the same year as Oasis' debut album shook the world's foundations and the Blur vs. Oasis battle began. Funnily enough, unlike the Beatles vs. Beach Boys rivalry thirty years earlier, both bands produced their greatest work before even beginning their competition, Oasis with their debut and Blur with this masterpiece.

Countless elements of Britain and its people are explored across this album's 53 enthralling minutes; monarchism in 'Jubilee;' everyday proletarianism in the title track; fashion trends and subcultures, as well as millenial interest in 'End Of A Century'; bank holidays on...well, 'Bank Holiday'; taxation and debt on 'The Debt Collector.' No stone is left unturned.

And from this concept/theme you get some of Blur's finest songs. The title track is famous thanks to Phil Daniels, but really not one of the standouts here. The elegaic 'Badhead,' with its chiming guitar and tasteful brass, is lovely, while 'Tracy Jacks' addresses stereotypes (better than the other Blur song of that name) with the line 'I'd love to stay here and be normal but it's just so overrated.' ]

Throughout, Albarne's cockney - or mockney depending on who you ask - voice and Graham Coxon's always dazzling guitar work hold everything together beautifully, and despite Coxon's apparent dissatisfaction with it, this is truly an album to be proud of, the jewel in Blur's crown.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Not the best blur album but a very nice collectors piece on yellow vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's hard for me to choose my favourite Blur album, as my favourite tends to be the one that I'm listening to at the time. I regard these good-looking, immensely talented men as one of the most (if not 'the' most) defining Britpop bands, who later branched out to make some very experimental and impressive records of various styles. However, I think that if you only wish to own one of their studio albums in your collection, 'Parklife' is possibly the one to have.

The two tracks that many people will recognise straight-away are the hit singles 'Girls & Boys', an infectiously fun, and upbeat dance track, and 'Park Life', with actor Phil Daniels providing the vocals, which perfectly reflects in the lyrics the lives of working class Britains. As great as these songs are, the real highlight for me is 'End of the Century', one my all-time favourite Blur songs, second only to 'For Tomorrow', which has a great chorus and was also released as a single. Other honouree mentions must go to the wonderful, and offbeat story 'Tracy Jacks', and the dramatic 'This Is A Low', both of which would have also made good single choices. The latter is a touching acoustic song, a fan favourite, and the best way to almost close out the album. 'Clover Over Dover' also deserves more recognition, it's a beautiful song with amazing guitar work from Graham, and one of those rare examples of a song which is very pretty, and yet so lyrically dark.

'Parklife' was Blur's third studio album, and I still don't know if I would call it my own personal favourite because I do tend to listen to 'Modern Life Is Rubbish' more, but it was very successful, staying in the British album charts for over 90 weeks and remains one of the most acclaimed pop albums of the 1990s by any band. The record has aged very well and remains a classic, I think that it defines the whole Britpop era in a nutshell, and therefore deserves it's place in such a music collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2008
After the commercial failure of Blur's Modern Life Is Rubbish, the Colchester foursome were quite literally on their 'last legs'. Their record company were close to cutting the band loose and the failure of the albums two big singles 'Into Tommorow' & 'Chemical World' had seriously dented Damon Albarn's confidence.
It was time for a re-invention of the Blur sound. Albarn and Coxon turned the band overnight into a Bowie/Kinks/Madness hybrid and hit gold. The resulting Parklife was a revelation and, alongside Oasis's What's The Story Morning Glory, literally invented Brit Pop. Lyrically and sonically this is still the finest long player Blur ever released and is without doubt one of THE records of the 90's.
'Girls & Boys' was a massive hit and cleverly mixed electronic beats with a knowing Bowiesque delivery, 'Parklife' was The Kinks on speed with a liitle help from Phil Daniels and 'To The End' a gorgeous understated ballad. Even the relatively minor hit 'End Of The Century' still sounds great with it's near poetic lyrics and winning 'Mockney' vocal.
Parklife scored big though because of it's consistency and, with songs as strong as 'Tracey Jacks', 'London Loves','This Is A Low' and the lovely 'Badhead', the album tracks were in every sense the equal of the singles. They even pulled a great punk song out of the bag with the manic thrash of 'Bank Holiday'.
With the band currently on hiatus there has never been a better time to revisted Parklife and to remember exactly what Albarn did before he became a rennasaince man, part of a cartoon band and a highbrow musical maverick. Let's hope he gets back to his day job soon.
Parklife hasn't dated in the slightest. If you don't already own it, shame on you ! Great iconic cover artwork too !

There is a reason why the recently reformed Blur played no less that 7 Parklife tracks in their set .....

cw
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Okay not brilliant but good value for 99p I think
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)