Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 1999
I always avoided listening to this album, even when I actually owned it due to a stubborn refusal to go along with the majority in agreeing that yes, it is the greatest blur album. However, I must grudgingly admit that it is fantastic, full of classic tracks to sing along, be in love, or cry to. Modern Life confirms the fact that blur are the quintissential english band of the nineties, and the album supplies some of the definitive songs of the decade - For Tomorrow, Miss America and Chemical World being just three. My own personal recommendation is Blue Jeans, especially if you love London as much as I do. Enjoy!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
If I could judge an album by it's sleeve cover, then I would say it's a brilliant album. Thankfully, it is just that. Very British album it is too. The lyrics centre around British lifestyle as such. It's not too poppy either - a good deal of it has great guitar work from Graham Coxon. Personally, I think it's their best album. I'm a huge Oasis fan, and at first, I didn't want to like it, but you have to love it. Excellent excellent album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 1999
I can't beleive that I am the first person to review this album! it is perhaps the quintessential blur album that all fans should have. From the opening "For Tomorrow" with its "la la lalala la"'s to "Miss America" (one of the most beautiful songs)it is an album full of classics ,with the eception of turn it up(!)that i recomend you to buy now!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
'Modern Life Is Rubbish' is definitely one of my favourite Blur albums because there's just so much in it and it pretty much gets Blur's message across about their views on British culture in the 90s!

After 'Leisure', Blur completely reinvented themselves with an entirely new style which became Britpop, and this album without a doubt demonstrates what they could really do, as well as illustrating Damon Albarn's true talent in songwriting.

The stand-out tracks for me are unquestionably 'For Tomorrow', 'Advert', 'Colin Zeal', 'Sunday Sunday', 'Star Shaped' plus the hidden track 'Intermission' after 'Chemical World' which show how Blur always loved to experiment and come up with sometimes weird, yet brillant, short instrumentals, just to add the flavour to their albums.
Any not so good tracks? Personally, I feel that 'Pressure On Julian' is definitely one of the weaker tracks and 'Resigned' does go on a bit, but apart from those, the album does not really have any tracks that are not very good.

And of course, like most Blur albums, you may find it needs a few listens before you give it a verdict (like I found) but do keep listening to it because it has so much to give and really shows quality, detail and perfection.

'Modern Life Is Rubbish' is also a personal favourite to the band and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is just getting into Blur, or is an ultimate Blur fan!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
This is a little less over produced compared to later releases of Blur such as Parklife and Blur(Self titled) and which I like a lot and it seems that this album is in the shadows of yet again other future Blur releases. So why is this album not raved on about by fans is it because everyone is still talking about Parklife. I honestly think that this is my favorite Blur album before the hype and media got to them the real blur before everything hit the airwaves of popular radio stations around the country and Girls&Boys was on non-stop reply. I am not here to talk about there other albums i am writing about this magical journey of a album. Each song has more than than just the texture of Damon's vocals there is more heart and soul in this release I think the front of the album captures it perfectly. Cheaply produced and honest for some reason i get a vibe from this album that i can't really explain but i am gonna try my hardest. I prefer the song writing on this album with more different sounds created by the band. I would of loved to see them live at this stage in there career and here i view them as a more relaxed sort of alternative proper British band that digs in the hearts of the people like me. I think the product you will receiving if you purchase will totally change you opinion on the band. Don't get me wrong i like all the other albums as much as the the next Blur fan but i like this one the most because as well as most of the songs being totally pure gold it is a nice themed album to listen to over and over again so why not do it. I like the the drums there more in your face and more heavy as well as the bass lines which keep the band in order and make them function honest pure genius lyrics and songs overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
I was one of the bone-headed people who bought into the whole Blur vs Oasis thing, not during it's zenith in the heady days of mid-nineties Brit-pop. No I was too young for that (12) and wasn't too interested in music in the first place. My ignorance stemmed from archival interviews concerning both parties, and me being working class, sided with Oasis.

On mature reflection both are superb bands in their own right and in two contrasting styles. Whilst Oasis rely(d) on the well worn formula of just making plain old rock n roll to the highest degree, with punch the air anthems and unforgettable choruses (they did with subsequent albums certainly mix things up more), Blur tried something slightly different. Of course much like their peers they also have all of the above, (Country House, Girls And Boys, Parklife, Song 2 etc) but after listening to this, their 2nd album, I was immediately entralled by the sheer scope, depth and ambition of it.

We need look no further than the opening track "For Tomorrow", a near four and a half minute single which seemed outrageous at the time. I am aware that such singles already existed but they were usually consigned to well established bands possibly looking to experiment therefore making a risk justified. Blur's record company were NOT interested in facilitating Damon Alburn's "eccentricness". It's a riveting piece of work though, with beautifully integrated strings and intelligent use of higher octave backing vocals. The influence of The Kinks and Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd can also be easily heard within numerous tracks "Sunday Sunday", "Miss America" and "Star Shaped".

My personnal favorites next. "Advert" is so instantly likeable in it's punk simplicity that I almost ALWAYS want to skip the brilliant aforementioned opening track just to get to it. "Blue Jeans", "Villa Rosie", and "Oily Water" are all uniquely strong tracks, but "Chemical World" goes one better with it's extraordinary nail on the head quinntissential English instrumental lurking at it's tail-end.

Not so great tracks time....eh....there are none! Well ok some songs are definitely stronger than others, and if I was to mention a couple it would be "Pressure On Julian" and the melancholic closer "Resigned". That being said they only appear weak as the competition on this classic (yes classic, not instantly recognisable but classic) album is so fierce! It says in the liner notes that "Many hardcore fans consider this their best" and if "Parklife" is indeed considered their best, by critics and/or by fans, then I would have to agree with them as I own both albums and have given them both multiple playthroughs.

In summary, this would be a very worthy addition to anyones collection and with the sheer abundance of extras you get with it, it's definitely worth your coin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2001
It's not often that you can describe a 90's chart album as being stunningly beautiful. But in this case, I must make an exception. It is remarkable to see just how much the band had matured since recording 1991's Leisure (A fun album only slightly ruined by a lack of variety and some dull, uninspiring lyrics). Albarn finally shows his full potential as a fantastic song writer and the rest of the group show their talent in this unforgettable and inspiring album.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
Often seen as a 'transition album' between the juvenalia of Leisure and the fully fledged masterpiece that is Parklife, Modern Life is Rubbish deserves to be heard on its own as an excellent record, but is also fascinating when viewed in the context of Blur's musical development. Modern Life is Rubbish is truly the album where Blur and Damon Albarn found their poetic and musical voice. That is to say, the sort of tired, sad, resigned lo-fi ballads to which they would return on all their subsequent albums (Best Days, He Thought of Cars, Strange News from Another Star), but which they explored most deeply and compellingly on this record. The key songs, therefore, are the likes of For Tomorrow, Chemical World and Blue Jeans. All three manage to be heartbreakingly beautiful and tragic, while not being either fragile or sentimental. The prevailing mood is of resigned melancholy, summed up on Miss America (ironically one of the weakest tracks on the album) by the lines: "I don't mind. I don't mind at all / I love only you".
The slow songs dovetail nicely with familiar Blur thrash on Advert, Villa Rosie and Turn it up. Honourable mentions also go to Sunday Sunday and the instrumental Intermission. In fact the only thing which keeps Modern Life is Rubbish from a five star review is the horrible Colin Zeal.
Given its bleak title and content, Modern Life is Rubbish perhaps bears comparison to those modern doom mongers Radiohead, but ulike the perennially gloomy Bends, this album is an oddly uplifting listening experience, thanks to the wry humour and sweet sadness which ultimatly is the hallmark of Modern Life is Rubbish.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2000
this album oozes tasty riffs and bass lines. and drums. and singing for that matter. this is simply a great album, and from what i can see on this track listing, it is the american version which means only one thing....POPSCENE! this song was probably the best song to come out of the early nineties...hurahh
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
Anyone lucky enough to have seen Blur's reunion gigs will know these songs sounded fantastic, For tomorrow,Advert and Oily Water. The truth is they could have played this whole album and it would have gone down with as much enthusiasm. It is a real toss up whether this or Parklife are the best of the consistent timeless Blur. Listen to this and make your own mind up but if your not to sure about this album, don't hesitate, you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)