Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2015
The typical business book rammed full of pages of examples used to fill out the content. The book contains a few interesting common sense points but they could be set out and easily explained in about 10 pages, the rest is just to make the book seem better and bigger than it is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Extremely useful little book. I'm always looking for new thoughts on marketing - so many books of this kind are quite disappointing - but this was genuinely fascinating, intelligent and very thought provoking. The writer really knows his stuff and it shows. I'll definitely read it again, make notes, use some of the insights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
This is a great book with some really interesting insights. If you are interested in behavioral psychology, you'll find some interesting tidbits in here. The book is highly accessible and easy to read, so particularly ideal for those who are new to internet marketing.

Whilst there was nothing revolutionary or particularly surprising in there, the book has helped me to define the marketing strategy for my own blog and has played a significant role in how I approach content creation and the promotion of my content.

Highly recommended for bloggers, content marketers and anyone interested in the psychology of buyer behaviour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
An enjoyable read with some good examples. A good introduction to creating products and ideas that people want to share. If you're into digital marketing I would definitely recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
*A full executive summary of this book is available at newbooksinbrief dot com.

It is only recently, with the rise of the internet, that the term `viral' has gone, well, viral. But the phenomenon of social pandemics--ideas, products and behaviors, that catch on and spread quickly and widely--has been around presumably as long as sociality itself. The phenomenon is interesting in its own right, for it says something meaningful about our psychology and how we interact. However, understanding how social pandemics work also holds great practical value, for when public service messages, charity campaigns or products and services go viral, the effect has a big impact on behavior and the bottom line.

On the mechanical side of things, understanding why something goes viral is straightforward enough: it must be something that has an impact, and that people are eager to talk about or imitate. But this just forces us to ask: what is it that makes something impactful, and ripe for sharing or imitating? We may think that our intuitions can carry us some way toward answering this. Nevertheless, getting something to go viral is certainly no easy task (as many a would-be influencer has come to find); and therefore, we may benefit from a more methodical, scientifically-minded attempt to understand the phenomenon. It is just such a project that Wharton marketing professor and writer Jonah Berger has been engaged in for much of his career, and in his new book Contagious: Why Things Catch On, Berger reports on his findings.

Berger's research has revealed that there are 6 main factors that help explain social pandemics. They are 1. Social Currency; 2. Triggers; 3. Emotion; 4. Public; 5. Practical Value; and 6. Stories

When it comes to social currency, this refers to how good or important something makes us look for sharing it. We want to look bright, funny, entertaining, knowledgeable, prestigious etc. in the eyes of others; and therefore, we are more likely to mention those things that make us appear so. Certain talking points are naturally more interesting than others, just as certain characteristics are naturally more noteworthy; however, ideas, products and behaviors can all be presented or manipulated in certain ways to allow them to partake more of each (for example, a blender may not appear so interesting, but highlighting just how powerful it is by way of having it mash-up an iPod can make it appear a whole lot more interesting--and hence more worthy of sharing).

When it comes to triggers, this refers to stimuli in the environment that are associated with other phenomena, and that remind us of them. For example, peanut butter is highly associated with jelly, and so the mention of the former often `triggers' the thought of the latter. Ideas, products and behaviors that are naturally associated with triggers that we encounter more often are more likely to be brought to mind than others, thus increasing the chances that they will be both talked about and influence our behavior, and hence spread. Natural associations often work best; however, associations between unrelated items can also be established through clever advertising campaigns (such as the Kit-Kat bar being associated with a coffee break).

When it comes to emotion, this refers to the fact that phenomena that evoke highly arousing emotions, both positive and negative (such as awe, excitement, anger and anxiety), are more likely to be shared, and hence spread; while phenomena that evoke less arousing emotions (such as sadness and contentment) are less likely to be shared. The share-ability of things that evoke highly arousing emotions helps explain why Susan Boyle went viral.

When it comes to public, this refers to how prevalent something is in the public eye. Things that are highly public and visible are more likely to be talked about and imitated than those that are more private. Nevertheless, there are ways to bring private phenomena into the public sphere. For example, donating to a charity tends to be a rather private affair. However, both the Movember movement in support of colon cancer (featuring the highly conspicuous mustache), and Lance Armstrong's Livestrong campaign in support of cancer (featuring the yellow wrist-band), managed to bring charitable support into the public sphere, thus contributing to the success of these campaigns.

Practical value refers to the fact that people like to be helpful to others, and so anything that is particularly useful is more likely to be shared than that which is less so. This helps explain why so many articles on health and education matters are so widely shared, and also why an otherwise nondescript video about shucking corn (called `Clean Ears Everytime') went viral on YouTube.

When it comes to stories, this refers to the fact that people tend to enjoy telling and hearing stories. Therefore, ideas, products and behaviors that are wrapped in narratives (and especially compelling narratives) are more likely to be shared than those that are just presented as information. Google's `Parisian Love' commercial, The Dove `Evolution' commercial, and Panda's `Never say no to Panda' campaign are all good examples of products being wrapped in compelling narratives.

Berger's book is a very easy read, and he does a good job of using academic studies and interesting real-world examples to help prove his points. None of the theory here will be new to anyone who is steeped in the marketing/advertising industry (as is clear from other reviews). And much of it will even strike the rest of us as being somewhat self-evident after the fact. Nevertheless, it is not likely that many of us will have explored the subject with so much rigor, and this is valuable in itself. Altogether a very enjoyable read about an interesting subject. A full executive summary of the book is available at newbooksinbrief dot com; a podcast discussion of the book will be available soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Really like this book as it is easy to follow and has lots of good ideas and clear examples of how to apply them. Am using it for everything from my day job through to helping my partner promote his band.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
If you are searching for the secret recipe on creating viral content then this is the place to start. Concise, well written, lots of awesome examples. A new marketing modern classic, it should be read by anyone involved in digital marketing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
The book uses the story of a restaurant opening in Philadelphia, which used a $100 Philly Cheesesteak to get people talking about the brand. Berger uses his STEPPS framework (social currency, triggers, emotion, public, practical value, stories) to dissect how the best content (his word for products, services, news, etc.) can become contagious. A key point Berger makes is that, whilst are lives are increasingly dominated by the internet, we still spend about 8 times more per day offline in the real world. So, in order to spark contagious content and get people talking, we need to follow the STEPPS framework and the best way to do this is to encapsulate our message in an emotional story, or Trojan Horse, for it to spread.

This is a useful point of reference, which I found complimentary to other marketing tools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Really interesting facts about how things stick in people's minds due to association and other explanations of why we make the choices to buy what we do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
I learn a lot about how to make articles/videos viral, and since i work in IM i need info like this. I advice anybody in the Internet Biz should read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)