Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
162
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2001
Who would have thought one of the greatest action hero's of the cinema, would be in a christmas kids film, about a father trying to get his son a turbo man doll for christmas.
Arnold Schwarzenegger plays Howard a man on a misson to get his son the present he has always wanted TURBO MAN!
Still even though it's a kids film that doesn't mean there is no action.
This movie is brilliant and is a great movie to watch, especially round christmas time.
It's has comedy, action, happeness and a great level of christmas fun.
I am 16 years of age I usual like more serious films but this was great.
Even if you are an adult it will bring the kid out of you!
This movie gets top stars, brilliant acting, fun and a wonderful christmas spirit.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2005
First and foremost, this is a light-hearted CHRISTMAS film. If you want recomendations or reviews on this film, the best place to be is with normal, family people who actually have tolerance towards a charming Christmas film such as Jingle all the Way. The critics have slammed this film as they do with anything these days that doesnt have a cryptic side or a compelling storyline to it so just dont bother reading their reviews in this case.
I saw this film with my dad when i was younger and nearly ten years on (god has it been that long?) when im 16 i still love it despite being quite the movie buff myself :)
I watch it every christmas as its always on the Televison because it gets top ratings (some people actually like this film then i guess)and it can really get you into the christmas spirit.
If you're kid hasnt seen this yet then its definately worth picking up as theyll love it more and more each time they see it.
Its also got a few jokes for the parents, stuff which i didnt understand back then but what i find really funny now which is quite nostalgic for me.
Five Stars
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
This film should be as much a part of the Christmas TV experience as It's A Wonderful Life, White Christmas and A Christmas Carol. Jingle All The Way is one of the few times (along with Scrooged and The Santa Clause) when a Christmas movie made in the last two decades has tried and (more importantly) succeeded in bringing a heartwarming modern update to the traditional movies of the past. Unfortunately, whenever this movie is shown on TV, the critics really lash out at it and I cannot find one good reason why anybody would find this movie that bad - and the other good reviews on here back me up. Let's get one thing straight - when Arnold Schwarzenegger does comedy, his performances are hammier than a double decker bus crammed full of pigs...but that's what makes him so watchable in this film! Sure, if you watch this film in the middle of June it probably wouldn't be that good (maybe that's when the critics all wrote their reviews)but this is the DVD that I always put on when it's about 4 days until Christmas and I really want to get into the festive spirit.
On the surface, Jingle All The Way is about a dad who promises his son that he can have a Turbo Man action figure for Christmas...unfortunately, it happens to be the most wanted present that Christmas and Arnie has left it until Christmas Eve to buy it. A lot of great comedy moments are achieved from this premise alone (especially when Arnie and Sinbad are in scenes together - they make a great double act) but the film is so much deeper than that. This is a movie about the lengths a parent will go to give their child the perfect Christmas, it's a film about the importance of making (and keeping) promises and above all, it's a film that shows that imperfection is actually perfection - Arnie's annoyingly wholesome, "perfect" father (played superbly by Phil Hartman) is the ultimate loser of the movie whilst Arnie eventually shows that he isn't the bad father that his family may sometimes think he is. On top of all this, there's a great spoof of superhero movies at the end as Arnie and Sinbad go head to head - in superhero outfits - for one last battle for glory. It really is great stuff and one that both adults and kids will enjoy together - a perfect Christmas movie. As if that wasn't enough, there are also superb cameo appearances from James Belushi and (for WWE fans) The Big Show (billed under his real name of Paul Wight).
A funny twist at the end of the film is the perfect set up for a sequel that was never made, and at the end of 80 minutes you are left with a warm feeling, safe in the knowledge that everybody experiences the hectic build up to Christmas but that it all comes together for the big day!
You won't get this DVD in time for Christmas 2003 so order it for next Christmas and make it part of your festive traditions. Merry Christmas!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Unexpectedly very good, much better than quite a lot of Xmas movies. Arnie comes across very well, maybe he should have done more comedy and honed his skills in that direction rather than killing everything/everyone in sight...who knows? Try this one you may be pleasantly surprised!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
A brilliant watch to get you into the Christmas spirit.
I loved watching this film as a kid but could never remember what it was called until I found it on here.
Quick delivery and decently priced as always, thanks Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2000
jingle all the way is an excellent example of traditional, wholesome family entertainment. in my opinion, it contains all of the essential ingrediants of a christmas movie, and is is totally worthy of that elusive christmas day slot. this is the kind of film that leaves you glowing inside, and at the same time, makes you laugh, cry and scream for more. many say that arnie is hopeless as an emotive actor, but this film backs up his fine performance that he displayed in kindergarten kop-yet another movie in which he didn't just pull off stunt after stunt. in summary, everyone should see this film, just for the sheer fact that it will make you feel happy and content.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Certainly my favourite christmas film, it gets some stick (which i really don't understand why) but it's a great film with a good plot, some good jokes and all round good festive expectancies. Thumbs up
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I have not watched this movie in quite a long time. I bought it after Christmas and will wait until next year to watch it. I bought it to add to my Christmas collection. It isn't the best out there, but it is still entertaining. Others in my family enjoy it more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Ordered this from Amazon after watching the film on TV over Christmas and it was such a good price. Ordered it and within 2 days I had received it in perfect packaging and condition. A truly epic Christmas film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
A vary funny movie it's got the Christmas feel to it goes the extra mile unlike some Christmas movies when you put it this movie you know you're in for a treat this film I had all foments vhs DVD blu-ray in fact still got the DVD but vhs has long gone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.