Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
69
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2013
This is a good little animated cartoon film from the early 80's from ex-Disney animator Don Bluth. I have the DVD too (bought from Woolworth several years ago), but when I tried playing it late last year I found the picture wasn't anamorphic, so my widescreen TV made the 4:3 letterbox version a thin strip in the middle of the screen with short fat characters. So I risked buying the Bluray US Import as it doesn't appear to be available in the UK. Firstly, the US Import works fine, so don't worry about region code nonsense. Secondly, the picture is beautiful! The film has been digitally restored and now looks bright and vibrant. Even faults in the original negative have been cleaned up and replaced. And the film is now in Anamorphic 1.85:1 ratio. The sound is clear (2.0 Surround), with a delightful Jerry Goldsmith score helping an enchanting little story with interesting characters. There is an enlightening Director and Producer commentary for the animation enthusiast, with a Behind the scenes documentary and the original trailer. My kids didn't fancy the film before, but when they found me watching and listening to the commentary they decided they wanted to watch it themselves. The film as a bit slow moving for kids these days, but if you stick with it it's a lovely little film at 83 minutes. A recommended film for a pleasant Sunday afternoon with the kids.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2000
A wonderful adaption of the book recreating both its darkness and magic. The voices are chosen splenidly and really bring the characters to life. If you enjoyed the book you will love this adaptation!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
One of the promotional posters for The Secret of NIMH states that it is "Animation in the grand tradition". This a staement I disagree with strongly.
If the "grand tradition" is Disney then NIMH creates it's own style vastly superior to the tradition.
The film was from the outset intended to be as realistic as possable in an animated film and in this respect it is not wanting. The charecters are beautifully drawn, as are the backgrounds.
Strong praise must go to Elizebeth Heartman (Mrs Brisby) who poured her heart and sole into her charecter and created what I believe is the most adorable charecter ever.
The music by Jerry Goldsmith is astounding. It breaks the Disney tradition and remains entirly as background music (with the exception of Mrs Brisby's lulliby) which means there are no parts of the film in which the charecters break into mass, impossably choriographed song and dance.
The Secret of NIMH has touched people in a way that films are not usually capable. The blurb on the back of the video box suggests "share it with someone you love". A fittingly charming statement.
33 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2002
At 23 years of age I'm certainly not ashamed to admit that The Secret of NIMH is one of my favourite films. The story and characters are wonderful, Jeremy the crow is definitely the best animated character in existance. Every element of this film has been brought together into a fantastic masterpiece. It's one cartoon worth watching again and again.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
The Secret Of Nimh is a masterpiece. A return to the cell Animation techniques and draftsmanship of classic Disney, it also pioneered some other radical new innovations in the medium. It also has an unusually dark story for a so called kids animation, embellished by Jerry Goldsmiths incredible orchestral score which is as much a part of Nimh as the drawings themselves. This Blu-Ray preserves the integrity of the original film negative perfectly with the grain structure fully intact and exceptional colour. Essential viewing for animation Buffs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
My 2 year old granddaughter is just at the age that she is interested in more sophisticated animation. This delightful film was a favourite for my daughter and now my granddaughter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
This film is probably Don Bluth's best work, according to my own opinion.

The lead character stands out in a positive way, as she is a different kind of heroine. The other characters are also memorable and well-rounded. The art and animation are beautiful.

Moreover, I find the story very deep and mature for a children's film, because of the themes I see in it. Therefore, not just children but also adults may greatly appreciate this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
It may be disappointing that this STILL only remains available on DVD, but this is still one of the best animated features of the 1980's.
Gloriously dark, brooding, beautiful, and mature in the storyline development, it still is to this day a classic.
Image quality is rather poor, but since this is the best version at this time, be sure to get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Sadly I have to admit I don't understand the rave reviews of this film. I found that there were lots of parts of the storyline that were ignored when they were interesting and should have been further developed while the crow character took up and wasted lots of time for no reason. Sadly not a film I could recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
It's one of my favs
The quality of the movie and sound are just like any other DVD. The image is a little small, but that can't be helped because of how old the original film was, but it plays and sounds great, really happy I got it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse