Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Don't Hear It...Fear It
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 March 2013
Do you like Rock Music?
DO you like Retro Rock Music?
Do you like Rise Above Records releases?
Do you like Sir Lord Baltimore?
Do you think ROCK has been in decline since the early 70s?
Do you like Budgie?
Do you wear denim?
Do you like Black Sabbath?
Do you have an invisible guitar?

If so you've already got this and I've wasted my time.

BUY! NOW! BUY IT YESTERDAY IF POSSIBLE!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Gosh, this retro wave is throwing up some funny albums. Funny as in gritty, name this band games.

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell is an UK band signed on Rise Above Records (run by Lee Dorian from Cathedral and ex Napalm Death) which seems to be playing gigs around UK. Just like the two bands they sounds like. Budgie and Black Sabbath. Even their image, clothes and hairstyles is a throwback to 1970s. Ditto for their sound too. Not the cleanest sound I have heard. But that too is a part of this package. The band name, taken from an English admiral with the same name. Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell is a great package and a very welcome addition to the music scene.

Their music is as stated above, a mix of Black Sabbath and Budgie. Add a large dosage of space rock (Hawkwind) to the sound and you get this album. The sound is dirty as mud. The vocals distorted. The drums and bass is rampant. The guitars very dirty. In short; a thoroughly well done retro package.

The music is good too. No great songs has made it onto this album though. But still a very enjoyable album which should get fans of the above mentioned bands and their scene a lot of joy. If this trio ever visit your town, their gig should be a highly enjoyable experience. I hope we will hear more from them in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 March 2013
Sometimes a band just comes along and does it. Ticks every box. This is it - the real thing - amplifiers to stun. Granted it's not faultless but that's just fine because the soul is there. Bits of Sabbath, Pink Fairies, Budgie, Edgar Broughton Band et al. As far as I am concerned this is underground heaven. It's not the fact that all this reeks of early 70's rock, it's the fact that here is a band that records its songs in an honest way without bending to fashion. Strangely enough I like hearing real folk play real instruments without going all produced. You get all this and a special guest appearance by Sir Tony Groundhog himself. The track "Red Admiral, Black Sunset" is my song of the month (no prize.) Great sleeve too - up there with the best - I am sure I will stare at it for hours trying to discern if there is any inner meaning.

Anyway I will raise a glass to the band, (favourite tipple Black Isle Red Kite - a fine brew). God Bless you chaps - when is the next one?

I commend this CD to the house.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Its impressive how this 70s style proto-metallers from Hastings south England manage to deliver a chaotic and energic hard rock in the obvious mood and tradition of Sir Lord Baltimore (of course pre-christian era), theres also a delightfull doom vibe that resembles Cathedral wich is no rare considering Lee Dorrian offered them their first opportunity to release this first full lenght thru Rise Above Records, (Dorrian indie label) theres also a previous ep "Return to Zero available only as vinyl, this album offers also fantastic riffs wich at times reminds of Iron Maiden, of course the Sabbath influence is always there along the whole album, "Paranoid" album to be more precise, vocals are nothing out of this world but theres so much honesty in the vocalist tone and love for rock n roll that the voice fits prefectly in the band style.

try them

HM
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
All fine - thanks
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Another corker from Rise Above and one of my albums of the year for 2012.
Sounding like an obscure masterpiece from 1972 this is a trip into he world of cranked up Orange amps, joss sticks, patchouli oil and earth shaking riffs. The guitar sound is pure early Tony Iommi and the songs are there to match.
Buy this, crank up your amp and allow yourself to be transported to a technicolour world where Sabbath, Sir Lord Baltimore and Blue Cheer rule with high decibel authority. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Nice to hear something modern that sounds like something from the good old days of rock. Sounds like Sabbath a bit, but they still have something else, in my opinion!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This is a great album,a must for anyone's collection..a journey back In time,with a little bit of all the greats rolled in to it .. IE Sabbath,Purple Zeppelin ..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Where to start?
Booked to watch the mighty Orange Goblin , a friend of mine mentioned this band were on the undercard - I checked them out on Amazon and the result was "WOW".Seriously good album - Red Admiral is a top track.
Took a punt bought the album and a new relationship is formed.
Recorded sound is groovy , live sound is sensational.
Forget the Arena bands get down to your local gig and watch these guys.
Check them out. British Rock is Best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
slightly cheesy rock monsters....great riffs and solid drum/bass. Quite why these guys are bigger than they are bemuses me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Keep It Greasy! [VINYL]
£20.04
Check 'Em Before You Wreck 'Em
£13.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)