Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2014
Although all of Jules Verne books are available free if you go searching for them,I thought it a good idea that Amazon had done the work of gathering them together in one place. The only drawback is you have to read them in the order that Amazon sells them as they do not have separate page numbers or put in key words which can put you anywhere in that particular book then go back page by page. The stories themselves are a bit archaic in their writing but hey they were written over a century ago. It's quite a good history and geography lesson to research the place names in the book to the present day names of countries/cities etc.
Overall well worth the *small change* that these books cost
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
When I was a boy I devoured the works of Jules Verne which were then held in our local library. This e-book edition enables me to read them again.

Verne was an excellent story-teller who manages, with various twists of the story to keep up the suspense to the very last page. I find now that he was inclined to fatten out the plot with descriptions of flora and fauna which he doubtless found by visiting the museums of France. Doubtless I skipped these as a boy and I did the same today. In the various tales of travel and exploration he takes into account the advances in science in his own day. The fact that his theories d did not always prove correct never spoils the story.

His most famous story is perhaps the voyage of Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea' in Captain Nemo's submarine. But the Journey from the Earth to the Moon, and the follow up book on how they got back.

Recommended to all for light reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Very good value for money and an excellent read. Every story is full of adventure and detail.
Each book is gripping and hard to put down.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All the Jules Verne books are here and worked out at around 2p each for the Kindle version. This has got to be the cheapest way to read all of these classics unless they are given to you free !
I have really enjoyed all the famous Verne classics and am now embarking on some of the less well known ones. Navigation can be a bit hit and miss but for the money I cannot complain really.
All of Jules Verne's works are here and in full. I am enjoying rediscovering all of these works on the Kindle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
I am reliving stories of childhood, a refresher of the C19th. of sci-fi and 'human' interest, especially the sequel to 20 000 Leagues and the death of Capt. Nemo (Mysterious Island) and too many stories from the prolific pan of Jules Verne. As it's a full compendium of his works, for my edification I am to enjoy Strogoff's adventures. A question: why do so many of his stories include an Englishman (Around the World...) a Scotsman and lots of Russians. Shame he never know Uri Gagarin or Dan Dare; we probably would have some great yarns to about them and believed them too incroyable. His pastiche of life on a comet has nearly come true; did not 'we' just land on one over 3/4 million leagues away?
Enjoy again his thrilling adventures which science has made so believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
but I am thoroughly enjoying it. It is nice for one's
thoughts to fly away to different places and situations. I am enjoying it more now than when I read most of these works as an early teenager. You will love it if you like travelling without moving from yourr favourite chair with a cup of tea beside you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
It seems a bit silly to be reviewing Jules Verne at this point. Either you like his dry but prophetic adventure fiction, or you don't.

Lots to love in here, but also some forgettable stuff, and probably a bunch you'll never get around to reading. It was fun for me as I researched steampunk-style writing for my own fiction, and it's great to have a near-definitive volume with many of his stories and novels collected in one place.

7 / 10

David Brookes
Author of 'Half Discovered Wings' and 'The Gun of Our Maker'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
A really good read, if like me you think that you should start reading something different instead of modern adventure storys you cant go wrong with this and what good value
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Most works of old, long-dead authors like Verne, Wells, Doyle and countless others are now in the public domain and freely available in EPUB, KINDLE / MOBI and HTML formats at websites like Project Gutenberg, Project Gutenberg Australia, Project Gutenberg Canada and Roy Glashan's Library. Sellers get them from there at no cost to themselves, remove the Gutenberg references and put them up for sale, thus taking greedy advantage of the great work of volunteers and unwary buyers. These sellers talk like they're doing people favours. They're not. It's just a con. Get these books for free yourself, and if you need to convert one file format to another, the excellent eBook app Calibre will do the job. It too is free, for people who actually love books rather than exploiting them and the people who commendably make them to be shared for free.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
The range of stories in this collection will keep you entertained for hours on the beach.

Despite the years since they were written, they still stand up as novels today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse