Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 October 2013
I bought this book after watching old episodes of "All Creatures Great and Small" on the Yesterday channel The television series is just terrific, bringing the characters in the books to life with such excellent acting. Often television and cinema cannot live up to the written word, but this is certainly one exception. And the books themselves? Well, if "If They Could Talk" is anything to go by, these books are just beautifully written, full of the most wonderful country characters, rich with humour, invoking the atmosphere of those post war years. This will definitely not be the last James Herriot book I will buy. (The Kindle version is free of the usual typos which you often see, especially in the free books which I avoid like the plague these days).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2013
A wonderfully gentle, humorous and entertaining rural drama. It gives a detailed insight into the hard life of a country vet in pre-war England and the author’s love of animals and of the countryside shines through irresistibly. It is wonderfully nostalgic too, reflecting a gentler era though life itself was much harsher. Truly a great read for people of all ages.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
A trip back to the past when All Creatures Great and Small was a regular program on TV starring Christopher Timothy as James Herriot. A pleasure to listen to Christopher reading the book. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
Exactly what it says on the tin - an entertaining insight into the life of a rural vet. Like the Herriot books, it is well written with a colourful description of the events portrayed. You are left in no doubt about how hard a rural vet needs to work in order to maintain his client base.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
Very disappointing. It's an exact reprint of "All Creatures Great and Small" ! A complete waste of money!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2012
I first bought this book back in the 70s when it was first published but that copy got lost along the way with house moves etc. When I saw it on Amazon I just had to buy it. Great stories told with a wonderful insight and sense of humour.reviewed by Sherrie Lowe, author of Song of the Phoenix
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2013
I recently read all of this book to find it enjoyable in so many repects, we'd recently watched the series again and enjoyed thinking oh yeah we read that in the book, It has highs and lows and giggles a many most enjoyable read if your new to James herriot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2018
Up to his usual quality of presentation. Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
A great book - the start of a series that fascinated me as a child and still does. This one of the series went missing from my collection but I am so delighted to have this one. Especially as it was in almost the exact same condition as the one that disappeared! Many thanks Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2014
Well worth a re-read. James Herriot talking to you about his adventures with people and their animals as a young Vet. in rural Yorkshire. A delightful book, full of humour and warmth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)