Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
228
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2012
Hard to write a full review of this book without giving too much away, but here goes.

Chris Ryan's Hero of this book witnesses the historic event of the US SEALS taking out Bin Laden, what he doesn't know is why this leads to people wanting to kill him.

The plot is typical Ryan, and hurtles along at a breakneck speed. The action is slick,well told and violent. His character isn't meant to be a believable hero, he is meant to be a man you can get behind and root for. The villain's are what good action adventure books need, slimy, evil, ruthless and easy to spot. But our hero is more than a match for them. Matches violence with violence and what they can do he can do it back to them in spades.

The story is bang up to date, and in the style of all great spy/action/adventure novels could be true.

I bought the book and read it in a few days, I wanted the story to go on further if you read it you will see what I mean, and that's a good thing for an author to do. I can not recommend it highly enough. Don't think its great literature, it wont win clever prizes. What it will win is fans galore and fill Mr Ryan's bank account up.

Brilliant lets have more please.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Task: UK Special forces provide backup to US Navy Seal team thats taking out Osama Bin Laden. Sergeant Joe Mansfield witnesses both the fire fight and extraction of the body bags - job done. But not quite, it seems the Americans are pulling the wool over Army eyes. Soon after, during another operation Joe loses one of his best men - also present at the US Operation - while crossing a minefield supposedly with a safe path cleared and marked by allied soldiers. Joe suspects that the safety flags were moved but his superiors won't listen, badly affected by the death of his comrade Joe is returned to the UK for a short time. But Joe cannot relax even with his family and still sees threats all around with his guard up constantly its grating on his wife and child its as though he's still 'out there'.
His sixth sense serves him well . there is indeed a threat one with its roots back in the Afghanistan, and it's all too real and all too dangerous .A cold blooded ruthless adversary will find him and carry out a blood chilling evil that will result in Joes imprisonment, the first of many obstacles Joe will have to overcome as he clears his name and fights back.
High tension thrills and action pulse through this story breathlessly following Joe's efforts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Really, Chris Ryan what were you thinking, this had the potential to be your greatest book so far but as well written as it is it simply depressed and frustrated, how much pain and suffering do you have to heap on your hero to make us feel empathy towards him, this goes far too far and just made me want to hate the whole story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 October 2012
Review:
Once again Chris Ryan delivers, Osama is a balls out helter skelter thrill ride from start to finish. Its never going to be seen winning any literary awards, but it like many of his other books has a realism that you don't get in many other thrillers of this type. Why wouldn't it, there are few men who have seen and experienced what he has, lived and then put those experiences into thrillers. The bang up to date plot lines make the whole book scary, real and plausible, not for Chris Ryan the unrealistic hero who can survive anything.

I give this book 3/5 as an overall book, but if i were rating it for the genre it sits in only it would be a 4 bordering a 5.

(Parm)

Book Description:
Despatches from the secret world behind the headlines. Former SAS legend Chris Ryan brings you his seventeenth novel, filled with his trademark action, thrills and inside knowledge.
Osama Bin Laden is dead.

The President of the United States knows it. The world knows it. And SAS hero Joe Mansfield knows it. He was on the ground in Pakistan when it happened. He saw Seal Team 6 go in, and he saw them extract with their grisly cargo. He was in the right place at the right time.

Or maybe, the wrong place at the wrong time.

Because now, somebody wants Joe dead, and they're willing to do anything to make it happen. His world is violently dismantled. His family is targeted, his reputation destroyed. And as a mysterious and ruthless enemy plans a devastating terror attack on both sides of the Atlantic, Joe knows this: his only chance of survival is to find out what happened in Bin Laden's compound the night the Americans went in.

But an unseen, menacing power has footprints it needs to cover. And it will stop at nothing to prevent him uncovering the sinister truth...
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I have read almost all Chris Ryans books and really they are not up there with the best. He seems to get a decent storyline going but just fails in the actual writing. And you know what? So does his pal Andy McNabb, who suffers from the same problem.
I am aware these two authors sell books by the bucketload but can't understand why, they should have stuck to soldiering if you ask me.
Must try harder, or perhaps get a proper writer to check their completed works and inject some literary skills therein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
What can be said of Chris Ryan that hasn't allready been said.

He's been there,he's done it but he doesn't need the T-shirt

Read the book and join in the action.

A master of the written word to describe the action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Excellent tea from start to finish, you know whats coming but still extremely enjoyable and well written.
Read the book and join in the action.
A master of the written word to describe the action.
"I'm a massive Special Forces fan and this guy is up there with Andy Mcnabb, Conrad Jones and Stephen leather."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Great read and a great book I believe this is Chris Ryan at his best, being ex forces I have read all of his books and they just keep getting better just like this one thanks Chris Ryan for becoming an author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Disappointed. Should have been titled "the first casualty of...reality" is this book. Not sure what Chris Ryan was trying to achieve with this book other that a blatant "just collect the cheque and to hell with credibility"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
I wasn't sure I was going to enjoy this book to begin with as it got off to a bit of a slow start and I couldn't really see where it was going. However, I'm glad I persisted with it as it turned out very enjoyable. Once the story got going it was very fast paced and the story always moved forward which is what I always look for in a book.
It's obviously set up for a sequel which I am looking forward to reading when it is published.
Although for me it is not the best Chris Ryan book I have read, it' still a worthy read once you get past the first few chapters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse