Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
394
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2003
101 Dalmations is based on the book brought out some time ago about an evil villain stealing away innocent dalmation puppies to try and create the ultimate pet outfit made of fur.
This film is another brilliant Walt Disney classic full of imagination and adventure. With a brilliant cast of Cruella De Vil, the puppies, the owners and the parents of the puppies, it gives children of all ages through enjoyment.
It is truly fantastic with riveting animation and fabulous songs, brought to you by Walt Disney.
Children who love animals will adore this film about fighting for the puppies and fighting against the evil Cruella De Vil.
My children thought it was fantastic and willingly watch it even now, when they are teenagers.
I'm sure your children will love it too!
I hope this review was of use to you.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Note: This review is of the most recently issued (2008) version.

I find it difficult to believe that it has been 47 years since this film first appeared. (I also find it difficult to believe that I now have ten grandchildren with whom to watch it.) Credit the Disney organization with providing with this latest restored version a generous selection of bonus features that substantially increase the pleasure of seeing this classic film once again. They include a DVD-ROM of a "Virtual Dalmatians Game," "Op-Up Trivia Facts," and "The Making of One Hundred and One Dalmations," and correspondence between "Sincerely yours, Walt Disney" and Dodie Smith, author of the novel on which the film is based.

The basic plot involves two lonely dalmatians (Pongo and Perdita) who meet in a London park and whose owners then meet and marry. Over time, the dalmatians become parents of 15 puppies who are stolen by Cruella De Vil who is determined to make a fur coat out of their skins. That doesn't happen, of course, but younger children get all caught up in efforts to rescue the puppies (at least when viewing the film for the first time) just as they do when hoping that Pinocchio will be reunited with Gepetto, that Snow White will awaken from her deep sleep, and that Belle and the Beast will live happily ever after. In the best of Disney's animated features, there always seems to be a subtext of menace and this film is no exception. When observing Cruella De Vil's behavior, many of those in my generation will be reminded of Gloria Swanson's portrayal of Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard. In terms of quality of its story, art, and music, 101 Dalmatians deserves to be ranked among Disney's finest animated films. The special features offer an exceptional "bonus."

My only concern, frankly, is that once again, many adults who are charmed by the Dalmatian puppies will decide -- or feel great pressure from children -- to purchase one. They would be well-advised to learn all about the breed first. Perhaps the next time around, Disney could add a special feature that provides such information. Just a thought....
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
This has to be one of my all time favourite Disney films (along with ROBIN HOOD & THE RESCUERS). The blu ray transfer is exceptional for such an old film, and it is obvious much work has gone into the restoration. The picture & sound quality are both excellent, and the disc comes with an interesting selection of additional extras, including a fascinating "making of" documentery. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
I brought this for Grandson Freddie and together with his Nannie my wife they watched It together upstairs. All I could hear was lots of Laughing and Giggling and It sounded like they had a good time, so If that's the benchmark they thoroughly breached It. I wouldn't admit to them but later on I watched It with a couple of Beers and some Cheesey Chips and also had a great time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
This is my favorite Dysney you dont see it very often on the telle the remakes are ok but not a patch on this !!! We all no the story of Crueller diville ? And this horrible women certainly is the best !! The dogs really detest this 1 haha n Horice n Jasper the dog knappers are brilliant especially as the are Americans doing an English accent .so all in all a very entertaining film the superior version.A5 starfilm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
It is hard to believe that 101 Dalmatians was originally released in 1961 and it has finally been transferred onto Blu-ray with all the care and clarity it deserves; the colours are crisp and the animation is simply stunning. This is the heroic tale of Pongo and Perdita on the trail of their missing offspring after they are snatched by a creepy and cruel Disney villain: "Cruella De Vil, Cruella De Vil, if she doesn't scare you, no evil thing will". This is a story loved by children and adults alike and a definite family favourite to have in your collection. There's also an abundance of special features including The Making of 101 Dalmatians, Cruella De Vil: Drawn To Be Bad, Sincerely Yours Walt Disney, Trailers and a Cruella De Vil Music Video by Selena Gomez which will keep any Disney fan happy. Highly recommended.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
All the wonderful elements you'd expect from a Disney animation. Strong storyline and characterisation. Animation that moves from a stylised, almost minimalist format , favoured in the sixties, to a more warm rounded style that set the benchmark for 2D animation. This quality was finely honed in later offerings like Jungle Book and Lion KIng but the characters in 101 Dalmations , although equalled, were never bettered.
I was only 5 yrs old when this movie was released and have memories of being quite scared of Cruella. I think she still carries that chilling evilness even now 55 years later. What a testament that is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
101 moments of greatness, this is my favorite Disney film of all time, so I am very biased. Film is in the original aspect ratio, academy so for the first time we get to see it in home entertainment version as it was at the cinema.

Story of villain, one of Disney's all time greats, who steals puppies to make a coat & their rescue by their parents with the help of a variety of a horse a cat (Sgt Tibbs) and The Colonel (another dog) and others along the way in this exceptional piece of Disney magic.

Blu Ray is Region Free, so no issues playing this anywhere in the world.

Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having originally viewed '101 Dalmatians' when it first appeared in the cinemas, it made a distinct impression on me, as it represented state-of-the-art animation at the time and was, in my opinion, beautifully made and represented Disney productions at their best.

Although I originally owned a twenty minute Super-8 film version produced by Disney in the late 70s/early 80s, which replicated the closest I could get to the "big screen" experience at that time, this DVD looks absolutely stunning on my 50" Panasonic Viera television. In fact it looks as good as it did in the cinema. (Bear in mind that I am writing about the DVD version here and have not seen the latest Blu-ray version, which will have to be pretty exceptional to supersede the quality evident in this DVD (viewed via an upscaling DVD player).

Modern audiences are used to extremely sophisticated animation techniques and their 3D variants, which are far removed from the traditional approaches which were applied in the making of this film (and which make it a true classic of its time).

It therefore may not appeal to those who have been weaned on the highly imaginative and successful animated box-office blockbusters of today, who may feel that it is rather dated when seen against the current competition.

However traditionalists and those with fond memories of this film from the past will, I am sure, find this to be an excellent purchase and a valuable addition to their collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
To have a Disney DVD that gives you a glimpse into the past is nice to see. Fur being all the range, and how the whole lay out of London was. I love how the bad guys get what they deserve, and the good guys go free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.