Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 March 2014
There is no question that Broadwalk Empire is possibly the greatest series since Band Of Brothers, and I for one am in Awe of how goo it is, However.....

The discs are faulty!
I have been on forums and have found hundreds of people with the same issue, the Chapter Menu does not work, and when selected the dics shuts down and the player freezes.
This is why the set is so cheap?
I am keeping them, as you can skip through the episodes but i have missed and over shot episode 5 because i did no know it was on the disc in the player.
So, brillinat show, horid product, not Amazons fault, but HBO need to be strung up for this really.
discounts on future products maybe??? no, i doubt it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
Enjoyed this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2015
Different but engaging to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
The series itself is excellent and I am thoroughly enjoying it. The reason for only having one star reflects the irritation I feel every time I watch an episode, as the Chapter menu does not work and causes the player to freeze. When it first happened I thought I would only have one faulty disc. Silly me, they're all like that, and apparently I'm not the only one to experience this problem as it is quite common. Come on HBO, you make great TV - shame to let it down with shoddy discs!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
For any follower of Steve Buscemi Work and the content of the show is 5 stars .

This set is a must on Blu Ray as it has more features from the creators,Cast,Crew,Writers on Blu nRay,However if Blu Ray is not an option well buy it on dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 May 2014
Steve Buscemi is a brilliant front man for this show. Set in the days of prohibition, this shows one corrupt mans fall into pure evil. There is too much flesh visible in some episodes but you cannot knock the writing or the directing. This show is simply too much at points, but you cannot help wanting to see the next episode. Can't wait for season 4!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
Boardwalk Empire is a true gem, a gift to your senses. Cleverly written, visually stunning, wonderfully acted. It's Scorsese meets HBO, what can only result in a grand production and a superb blu-ray edition.

The seasons 1-3 boxset are presented in separated cases per season and all wrapped in a sleeve box. Each season includes 5 discs in the same high quality case with a nice artwork on them.

We really need to praise the work done here, the native 35mm format really brings together the formidable cinematography and the blu-ray transfer is just fantastic. The inmersion in the 1920's Atlantic City is complete.
The staggering photography is presented in a sharp, neat picture. The definition and the colours are just perfect.

In the audio field, the lossless DTS-HD 5.1 mix is what you would expect from an HBO product. Crisp sound, nice panoramics, perfectly matches the visual quality standard of the series.

In addition we find numerous extras, interviews, documentaries and other featurettes, all presented in HD aswell.

Personally, this is one of the best tv productions I've ever seen, and so is the blu-ray edition. Right up there with Band of Brothers, The Pacific and Game Of Thrones. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2014
I have a love hate relationship with movies about this era. Unlike many viewers i was not a particular fan of the Sopranos, In fact, i never watched it to its conclusion, but films like 'The Untouchables' i enjoyed. Martin Scorcese's 'Boardwalk Empire', however, is a cut above all films made about this era.

I will not go into details of the story as it has been well documented, in fact that it why i gave it 4 stars and not 5 as the story in some episodes seems to stall and not go anywhwere. Having said this it is really intriguing and the cinematography superlative, capturing the era quite brilliantly and together with the most superb background music makes for unmissable viewing.

The 1920's in Atlantic City are so well detailed and great expense must have been lavished on this production as it cannot be faulted and the use of actual characters of that era in a fictional story works like a charm. The main character 'Nucky Thomson' , the head of the bootlegging business in 'Atlantic City' is quite brilliantly portrayed by Steve Buscemi. You hate him but at the same time you hope he perseveres and wins in spite of his seediness. His wife initially and then his mistress played by Kelly McDonald is outstanding, while the rest of the supporting cast are also excellent and one could easily pick out really good pieces of acting in all of them.

Some reviewer stated that it was the equivalent of the excellent Western Series 'Deadwood' and they would be correct, but 'Boardwalk Empire' is even more superlative as while there is gratuitous language and sex in it, it is not overdone as it was in 'Deadwood', especially the language, which for me spoilt 'Deadwood'.

If you want one film on this era of American History, this one should definately be in your library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
Great acting, costumes & scenery. Characterisation of alot of the characters could be better, however this has allowed every facet of Nucky Thompson to be explored in great detail, which is the most important thing to do. Like Sopranos, this series is missing an adversary with equal gravitas to the main character. If they had, then they'd both be 5 stars. Great show. Not many dramas on telly match this series for style & realism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)