Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
137
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2014
There is no question that Broadwalk Empire is possibly the greatest series since Band Of Brothers, and I for one am in Awe of how goo it is, However.....

The discs are faulty!
I have been on forums and have found hundreds of people with the same issue, the Chapter Menu does not work, and when selected the dics shuts down and the player freezes.
This is why the set is so cheap?
I am keeping them, as you can skip through the episodes but i have missed and over shot episode 5 because i did no know it was on the disc in the player.
So, brillinat show, horid product, not Amazons fault, but HBO need to be strung up for this really.
discounts on future products maybe??? no, i doubt it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Boardwalk Empire is a true gem, a gift to your senses. Cleverly written, visually stunning, wonderfully acted. It's Scorsese meets HBO, what can only result in a grand production and a superb blu-ray edition.

The seasons 1-3 boxset are presented in separated cases per season and all wrapped in a sleeve box. Each season includes 5 discs in the same high quality case with a nice artwork on them.

We really need to praise the work done here, the native 35mm format really brings together the formidable cinematography and the blu-ray transfer is just fantastic. The inmersion in the 1920's Atlantic City is complete.
The staggering photography is presented in a sharp, neat picture. The definition and the colours are just perfect.

In the audio field, the lossless DTS-HD 5.1 mix is what you would expect from an HBO product. Crisp sound, nice panoramics, perfectly matches the visual quality standard of the series.

In addition we find numerous extras, interviews, documentaries and other featurettes, all presented in HD aswell.

Personally, this is one of the best tv productions I've ever seen, and so is the blu-ray edition. Right up there with Band of Brothers, The Pacific and Game Of Thrones. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
The series itself is excellent and I am thoroughly enjoying it. The reason for only having one star reflects the irritation I feel every time I watch an episode, as the Chapter menu does not work and causes the player to freeze. When it first happened I thought I would only have one faulty disc. Silly me, they're all like that, and apparently I'm not the only one to experience this problem as it is quite common. Come on HBO, you make great TV - shame to let it down with shoddy discs!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Great acting, costumes & scenery. Characterisation of alot of the characters could be better, however this has allowed every facet of Nucky Thompson to be explored in great detail, which is the most important thing to do. Like Sopranos, this series is missing an adversary with equal gravitas to the main character. If they had, then they'd both be 5 stars. Great show. Not many dramas on telly match this series for style & realism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Steve Buscemi is a brilliant front man for this show. Set in the days of prohibition, this shows one corrupt mans fall into pure evil. There is too much flesh visible in some episodes but you cannot knock the writing or the directing. This show is simply too much at points, but you cannot help wanting to see the next episode. Can't wait for season 4!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
excellent entertainment on each episode of this series one /two/three,plus picture quality is very high definition with great sound quality
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I wished this as a Christmas Present,having already watched Series 1 and 2 beforehand. As this had been some time ago I decided to watch it all over again. I haven't been disappointed, one of the best made series on TV? The scenes, costumes acting locations all live up to ones expectations and playing the Bonus scenes and info are well worth it. This should get a few Oscars for its whole production. Well worth the money!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Excellent drama series. Historically accurate well written, brilliantly acted and directed. We also have the CDs and can't wait to get series 4&5.
We watched it first on Sky Atlantic home of excellent American drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I had heard so many people talking about this programme but had never heard of it. I decided to buy my husband the box set for Christmas and after watching the whole box set every night for two weeks we were hooked. Steve Buscemi is amazing as Nucky Thompson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I have read with interest many books about organised crime in America and like the way that real characters are interwoven into this brilliant series. It's great television and should appeal to lovers of The Sopranos.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)