Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
150

on 21 September 2014
This book is a wonderful middle book. Sometimes they can fall flat but this one doesn't. I love the hard element of the choices gain has to make. Parts of the book are written in like a first persons view or a narrator's first persons view which I didn't like and found I skimmed over those parts but they are few and far between.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this book having been gripped by the first in the series. The first book was confusing to start, but the characters are good and the story flows along. The whole colours concept can be a bit confusing times, it works better in this book than it did the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2012
Fistly according to Brent Weeks' website this is no longer a trilogy and is now a 4 book series.

The best thing about these books continues to be Weeks' continual improvement in world building and quirky magic systems. Luxin and its uses continue to be an interesting page turner, and the continuing education of Kip storyline is a useful tool to expand the systems further. There is a little predictability about the main Kip storyline in the book, but there are enough twists and turns throughout to keep you guessing. The end of the book sets up nicely for a 3rd and 4th in the series - especially the Andross storyline.

While not as easy to read as the Night Angel trilogy, this is still a decent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2012
I love this trilogy. Brent Weeks ability to take a seemingly random individual and create an odd hero is actually much more believable, in compaireness with so many other writers.
Also Weeks creates a fantastic new form of "magic" = " The drafting of light" so uniquely different from other fantasy stories, that you completely loose yourself in this new univers. The trilogy shares a lot of the fast moving thrills and action we know from from his "Night angel trilogy", but this time he also includes a lot more teenage love, feelings and confusions mixed with social questions like slavery and "your birth-rigths". This trilogy (sofar as no. 1 + 2) can be read relatively safely from teens and up. I am having a ball with it at age 40. Enjoy the well thought universe and marvel at how fast you can traverse 600 pages... oh how i long for the conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2017
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Continues the story in a way that renews your interest and reveals new concepts of the way this worlds magic works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2017
Great fantasy book keeping me entertained from start to finish! Many sub plots keep the reader interested the whole way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Brilliant, better than the first 😁
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2012
Fantastic, the character depth, the plot, the action, love everything about Mr Weeks and his writing. Don't often review books but couldn't bear that he only had 7 (highly starred) reviews for his latest masterpiece. Just seen the plan has been expanded from 3 books to 4 - which just means even more to look forward to. Unputdownable, read this one in 3 days flat (thank Orholam for being on holiday when it was released). Weeks sits easily next to Hobb, Brett, Eddings and co on my book shelves... And dare I say outshines most (except the genius of Pratchet of course but best not compare yourself to god himself just yet).

The most impressive thing I think is the whole concept behind the magic, I read a lot of fantasy and the luxin concept and uses is the first original system I've come across in a long long time. Now desperate for the third book, but no doubt a year or so to wait for that one (starts searching amazon already...)
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here