Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
62
4.9 out of 5 stars
When I'm President (With The Rant Band)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 24 December 2012
Recommended by a Friend I was surprised by his enthusiasm over the former MTH frontman.
At 73 surely his best days were behind him?
Not a bit of it.
I was blown away from the get-go.
It opens with Comfortable which is classic rock'n'roll.
The title track is superb and I've played it to death.
It is also quite varied with some of the output taking more time to grow on you - but grow on you it does!
It might not be a classic but it's worth every penny!
I will be looking at Man Overboard next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
How can you stop a man who is still passionate about his work, the album sounds fresh and a little raw... what does this mean ?? Well Ian is in charge of a bunch of new songs, getting them onto record is his mission with a bunch of talented musicians that understand he wants it right, the mix of music is more "Shrunken Heads" with a variety... attitude and power, with other songs showing poetic thoughtful intelligence. Well worth a listen. if your a Hunter fan you will love it if new to this man you will want more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Followers of Ian Hunter's MTH and early solo stuff will feel right at home with his latest release and it will surely win over a new legion of fans. Hunter has rolled back the years to deliver an album full of the rock n roll and pomp of his 70s heyday. Of course, he's done plenty of good stuff since then, but for me he hasn't sounded this good since You're Never Alone With A Schizophrenic.

The opening track Comfortable reprises Once Bitten, Twice Shy while other songs (Black Tears) have the feel of the Overnight Angels era and Wild Bunch sounds like it could have been written for You're Never Alone. When I'm President is more modern Hunter and I doubt that he's written a better song in recent times, witty and catchy it's a classic. And after all the rock n roll, the album closes with Life - a beautiful ballad that somehow seems to close the album perfectly after all the bombast.

It's almost as if Hunter has written and collected these songs over his illustrious career and finally released them all on this record. The result is brilliant. If you're a fan, buy it. If you're not a fan, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
From the first twang of his guitar at the start of "Comfortable" through to the playout on "Life", you know exactly who you are listening to. That is not to say its "same old, same old". There are some very excellent tracks on this new CD from Ian Hunter and a very competent Rant Band.

Especially good are the title track "When I'm President" which, if there was any justice in this world would be a hit -but we all know music this good just doesn't appeal to the masses. Then there's "What For" - rock and roll as it should be - "Learn how to earn it, show me what you got now!" And my current favourite: "Black Tears" - mellow, guitar heavy and melodic - a perfect backdrop for Hunter's unique vocals.

I've been a fan since 1972. I was barely into my teens for my first live gig at Hammersmith Odeon. It was Mott The Hoople, supported by a little-known outfit called Queen. It was a great start to my gig-going habit and one I mean to continue. Ian Hunter and the Rant Band are touring now - playing at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire this Friday 19 October.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
At age of 73,Mr Hunter Defies his Age.Like most of his Fans he is old. Fortunately,like a good wine he get's better with age.Having followed the career of this gentleman from the outset i am pleasantly surprised that in later the years the material get's better and better.
For me personally the stand out track is Ta Shunka Witco,Ian's voice is soft and the music takes hold.The first two tracks hark back to younger days with Ian belting out some seriously heavy sounds."when I'm President"takes a swipe at the fickleness of the politicians in general.Overall this album for me represents the varied styles from rock to almost country that Ian is so good at.long Live Rock n Roll and Long Live Ian Hunter....Not many people narrate a song as well as he does.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
Followed this guy since 72 ! That's a long time
but the guy has never made a bad album. His words are better than Dylan and he rocks more than the Stones! Enough said realy . Old and new fans (if you love rocking out) buy this album and the rest of his cannon of work you'll love em
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
ok, here goes... Loved it on first listen, very immediate LP. Track by track as I listen on my train journey from Scotland to London... Well, Comfortable (Flyin' Scotsman) seems very apt seeing as I started the day in Scotland and would have worked great on a MtH album, love the piano. Bet this is a live classic for years to come.

Fatally Flawed slows things down a bit, and I immediately think Dylan Blood on the Tracks era, especially the vocals. Great lyrics, and 70 seconds in and we are rocking again. Great keyboards on this LP. And Ronno must be looking down from heaven andloving the guitar player. This is a real band!

When I'm President. Love the lyrics, spot on Ian. Revisiting some ideas from previous LP's. Great chorus. Don't think this will be adopted by Romney as a campaign song do you?

What For. Ian does the New York Dolls. The piano anyway. The guitar is pure Ronson. Up there with most of Ian's best MtH work and solo / Ronson.

Black Tears. Ronno guitar again... Great track, but it's a killer live.

Saint. Hints of Springsteen here, and I like the hook, but not the best track here.

Just The Way You Look Tonight. Terrific - pure Springsteen. He should cover this. Can't wait to see this live, bet it's amazing. Ian's voice is still tremendous and his phrasing and lyrics are world class. A CLASSIC.

Wild Bunch. a MtH type track, it could even be about them! Love the chorus.

Crazy Horse.Can't get into this yet as it's a different type of song to the rest of the LP. A grower...

I Don't Know. Great track. Doesn't sound like Ian, more like Joe Elliot. Great chorus, and a real rocker. Will be great live when I see them in October in Shepherd's Bush.

Life. MtH territory, perhaps because this a real band LP. Reflective lyrics as ever. A great closer.

In summary, this is really great album. Can't wait to play it back with the new Dylan Tempest...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
This is one of those rare CD'S that grab you on the first listen,Ian hunter has a real ability to create great songs based around some great stories.I have now played this CD four times and i don't think there is a weak track on here.As i have said before Ian Hunter got well deserved credit during his time with Mott The Hoople, But i feel a lot of his solo stuff has been criminally ignored especially in the UK.Most of Ian hunter's fans know he can rock with the best of them, But strangely enough the slower tracks on here are my favourite's, tracks such as; Life, Ta Shunka Witco(Crazy horse)& The excellent Fatally Flawed. Other brilliant CD's worth investigating by Ian Hunter are;Rant and The Artful Dodger.Get this CD At all cost's. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
God, what an album! Absolutely sensational and I simply can't stop playing it. Ian Hunter has been 'rockin' since 'Adam was a boy' but you'd never believe that a guy of his slightly advancing years can still produce music of this quality. There is a fantastic mix of songs on the album and though I prefer the up tempo rockers such as 'Comfortable' and 'What For', I'm really impressed with 'Ta Shunka Witco' (Crazy Horse) which is IH's homage to the American Indians. It is a beautiful song, very atmospheric and very well produced. 'Wild Bunch' is great fun and I suspect the 'boys in the band' will enjoy this one on stage. Everyone who likes music should get an earful of this album, as it just oozes class, skill and talent. Vote for The Hunter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
What a surprise this album is, I thought Rant was thought provoking, Shrunken Heads a sublime peak of musicianship, Man Overboard was treading water then BLAM Ian hits us with possibly his best album yet. All of Hunters strengths are on show for all here with visceral lyrics spat out with a venomous tongue, great guitar playing and of course super ballads and rockers. At the ripe young age of 73 Ian puts a lot of the new groups to shame with this fantastic collection. Hard to pick out any stand out tracks as they really all are !! If pushed I would pick Ta Shunka Witco and the terrific ballad LIFE which ends the album with Ians thoughts on surprisingly LIFE, as he puts it "Laugh because its only Life" 5 stars with no hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)