Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2012
If you're a fan already then you won't be disappointed, if you've never read an L A Witt novel then you'll probably become one! I love LA Witts books and this was no exception. As always she nails the chemistry between her two main characters Eric and Shane, when they are together they sizzle and ooze ST, so the love scenes are hot and sensual but never gratuitous. Of course the military and it's attitude to homosexuality is at the centre of this story so we get the drama that gives the story some edgy moments and shows that although DADT has been repealed there are still many issues attached to being gay in the forces today and highlights how archaic and downright stupid some rulings are even in today's - so called - more tolerant era. A lovely side to the book are the vivid descriptions of Okinawa and all its attractions there's no doubt, the fact that Ms Witt has lived there, brings the Island to life in the way she writes about it and adds to the realism of the book. This is a real winner and I enjoyed every moment of it. Beautifully written and very relevant, I would put it high in her list up to now. Brilliant!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
This book is worth way more than the measly 5 stars allowed, and Oh how I loved this story. From the first moment Shane sets eyes on Eric at a gay club he's completely hooked, and the feeling is more than mutual. As always there's a problem because both men are in the forces, but Shane is an officer, while Eric is just an enlisted cop, and if their relationship is discovered, both men will be drummed out of the navy. It's amazing the lengths they go to to be together, and you're on tender hooks with fingers crossed they don't get caught. When Shane is involved in a bar fight, things get extremely tense for both men. I have to say we all deserve the love these two guys have for each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
This book is AMAZING. I love the fact it's written post DADT but the 2 guys can't the together because of differences in ranks. I have to say that, as a Brit, I am not familiar with the workings of the U.S. Navy (or the Royal Navy actually) but the author makes sure that doesn't affect the enjoyment without going into long winded explanations. I'm off to read book 2!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Conduct unbecoming pulled at my heartstrings. From the sacrifice by servicemen and their families to the inhibitions compelled by the military (despite the DADT).

It was well written, the characters were well developed and the pace was very good. Oh and the sex scenes - hot, hot, hot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
L.A. Witt was either in the U.S. Navy, or did a lot of research. Whichever it is, I'm sold. 'Conduct Unbecoming' is a great read, with requisite breaks for well written raunchy naughtiness. Oh, still my beating heart!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
I think I had read a sample of this book before,some two years ago as the gate two place was familiar but reading the whole book was exceptionally good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
It's a very interesting book about two guys both in the navy who fall in love after meeting for a one off meet but they have to keep it a secret cause both could be court marselled would read another of this author books if I could find one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
In the military, and in this case the US Navy, an officer and an enlisted person (sailor) cannot be romantically involved. It is to protect both parties, as one of them could be said enlisted person's boss. This is separate from all the don't ask, don't tell stuff they finally got rid of.

Eric & Shane meet off base. The location is discreet and they do not exchange names. When they see one another again, there is more at stake. They both know it. Shane is an officer.

Shane has a lot to lose if they are caught. He also knows he has not met anyone like Eric, and might never again. This choice pulls at him until he just can't fight anymore.

This story tugs at your heartstrings. It made me feel for both characters. I was rooting for them right from the start. There is a little bit of everything in this book. The humor, the travel, the sparks flying.... just overall a great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
What can I say, I'm a sucker for military romances and this one set on Okinawa was a real delight.

Both Shane and Eric were well drawn characters with unique personalities and the first person narrative worked well for seeing into their heads as they moved from the initial lust into love.

Okinawa as a setting absolutely shone too, i felt like i was travelling around with the two men as they explored and LA added enough explanation about the military rates and ranks for me to understand why their relationship was a risk without it feeling like an info dump.

Hot men, beautiful location, amazing sex, happy ending epilogue, what more is needed :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)