Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£11.35
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 February 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I know this was a childrens book but as an adult I really enjoyed this book. It was easy to get through and each section led on to the next making the reader want to know what happens. At some points it is a little confusing as the author moves from present to past and vice versa but on the whole it was a nice light hearted fun read with an interesting take on a teenagers view of the world, his parents (crazy mother) and brother. The end had a small lesson to teach the reader which was very nice indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
it makes my 11 year old son laugh
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Comparisons have been made with Adrian Mole, Tom Sharpe and the Inbetweeners, but I think they are likely to mislead you about the nature of this book.

The plot is simple enough. A young boy has embarassing parents an embarassing friend, a bullying older brother and an affection for a lovely young girl. All pretty normal, but chance plays a hand into turning his life into a full scale calamity.

The story is written not as a diary but as a recollection of events written as therapy, interspersed with therapy meetings.

Whilst nakedness is a key element of the plot, it is handled politely, indirectly and mainly by implication. The humour does not rely on vulgarity.

It may seem the story has no hero, but keep reading to the end and you will find that you are mistaken.

The story is also a morality tale. Everyone's actions have consequences, and it gives you a lot to think about.

For me a fair amount of the humour didn't really work, because the details of the situations were not in any way believable. For example no credible explanation is given as to why the school's sick room is not in the conditon you might expect, so a particular sight gag does not work. However there is so much humour packed in that the odd failed gag, didn't really matter.

The stand out charater has to be Chas the Pscychologist. He is a case of were the absurd can be believable. Whereas I found the school nurse's background, impossible to accept.

240 pages might seem like a fairly long read, but you will whizz through it. Dialogue, lists and chapter breaks, shorten the book a great deal. It is also very easy to follow, so you don't need to pause for thought.

The female characters are more simplistic than the male ones, so the story will appeal far more to a male readership. However unlike Sue Townsend, Mark Lowery has captured the male psyche perfectly, so it is a good opportunity for female readers to gain more of an understanding of the male perspective.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I sometimes pick up books that I think my children will like, and hope that the book challenges & tests their reading skills. This was one such book. The themes are probably more generally to be appreciated by early teens. However my 8-year-old son has read it twice in two days, which surprised me until I realised why. There is a fair amount of smuttiness and naughty language in the book, and my better half has now banned it!

Still, it probably widened his world-view, and he definitely does not want naturist parents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
I loved this book just because of all the comedy it involved. This is a must read for likers of Diary of a Wimpy kid and the Private blog of Joe Cowley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
I have written this review for my daughter Rowen (age 12) she says it if really funny and understandable for teenagers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Great little book and arrived as stated fantastic,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Cracking book, great read for any child
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Funny book good for age 9-14
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Great book,son loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here