Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
57
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platinum (Deluxe Edition)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99


on 14 December 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Great works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
just as i remembered it good memories of this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
Here are my unboxing and review videos for this album. I hope you enjoy them and it gives you are great idea of what to expect.
[...]
Unboxing Video for Platinum Deluxe Edition
[...]
Video review for Platinum Deluxe Edition
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
Where's the 5.1 surround sound mixes? A concert does not make this deluxe. Where's the non album b-sides or unreleased stuff?
This album has been sympathetically remastered and sounds great as a result. "Sally" is a miss although there are probably good reasons why. This marks the start of the move from side long pieces to "pop" songs, and what many consider his doldrums of the 80's. Won't be buying QE2 until it seriously drops in price if this is the level of deluxeness on offer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
I think Mr.Oldfield must have gotten bored with the idea of remixing his entire Virgin Records catalogue into 5.1 surround sound for these deluxe editions. We got as far as "Incantations (Remastered)" and the boredom had already started. The first three deluxe reissues of his back catalogue had fantastic remasters of the albums, a bonus disc of demos etc. and a dvd with a 5.1 surround mix of the entire album. Very deluxe. By the time we get to Incantations, the dvd is down to a six track selection of highlights (from what was originally a double vinyl album) and with a running time of just under 34 minutes I know this was a huge let down for fans. If ever there was an album in Mike's catalogue that was screaming to be mixed in surround for the 21st century, Incantations was it. We have to be content with six selected tracks that aren't even mixed to form a continuous piece of music.

By the time Platinum was reissued, there is no dvd. Not even some promo clips or as other reviewers have said, TV appearances. Especially absent is the doco on how the Blue Peter Theme was created. What a wasted opportunity. Yes the original album remaster sounds good. The 2012 remix of "North Star" is not bad either but the lack of any visual content and no surround mixes for the same price as previous releases smells of money grabbing. The only thing that saves this set from being redundant and why most Oldfield fans will probably purchase this album again is for the great live performance on the second cd. At almost 80 minutes of previously unreleased content this is a bonus but it doesn't makes this new edition *deluxe* by any stretch of marketing.
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Ah, Platinum. The point where the new Mike Oldfield, following on from the release of the single Guilty, emerges with an album.

Very different from Incantations, it was erm, funkier. Having spent time in New York, Mike was relishing using new musicians. We also had cover versions, with Mike extracting a touch of Philip Glass's North Star in the long title track, and Gershwin's `I Got Rhythm', (or as the live album version calls it, `I've Got Rhythm')

The quality of the remastered original album is good. Of the three added `extras', we have the single version of the Blue Peter theme tune, at a shade over 2 minutes, a great version of Platinum played live in the studio that is previously unreleased, and a really good, longer (nearly twice as long!) version of North Star remixed by Mike in 2012. It's not groundbreaking but is good.

The 1980 live CD from Wembley Stadium is very good, and worth buying this new edition for alone. The quality of the recording is generally very good and I understand previously unavailable.

For me it's an interesting listen: I went to see Mike in concert in Sheffield a couple of nights before this recording. It is better and yet different to what I remember, 32 years on. Vocalist Wendy Roberts is better than I remembered, though I didn't think she was bad at the time. There's the odd misplayed note but it's not a bad effort at all, and the reason why many will buy this edition of the album.

.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)