Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2013
MANBORG! Is one of the best films made on a small budge that references a lot of the best cheesiest bits from the 80's via the computer gaming of the ATARI as well as, the 8-bit sounds and copious amounts of infra red and machine gun fire of The Terminator coupled with the desolate background of escape from new york that you more or less see as what you get in the film as the bullets fly, one liners appear, and the manga style OTT kung fu fighting makes this a film you can watch on repeat as its so entertaining it makes the budget zombie film of colin look like a film with a U rating for children. 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Mindbblowing brilliant and bonkers from beginning to end ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
MANBORG is simply put, a must see movie. Made with tongues firmly in cheeks and hearts on(VHS)sleeves, the Canadian quintet 'ASTRON 6's follow up to TROMA's release of the sublime 'FATHER'S DAY' is an action packed gore soaked parody of 80's straight-to-video sci-fi actioners. Think Monty Python starring in a Charles Band Full Moon picture, and you'd be part way there. The U.K. dvd is currently the best release of this insanely entertaining flick anywhere in the world. Extras include a nice commentary detailing the blood and toil needed to complete this wildly ambitious project, VFX & behind the scenes footage showing all budding film makers how to shoot on the uber-cheap, some truly bizzaro cast and crew interviews, the short 'FANTASY BEYOND' a complete, stop motion action piece, and after the film itself the truly awesome fake trailer for 'BIO-COP'("WHY AM I ALIVE?!!!") which ironically cost more to make than the main feature itself. All hail 'ASTRON 6'! we truly aren't worthy, and anyone who doesn't think so needs a trash cinema ludivico with a liquid amphetamine enema!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Think of every 80s and early 90s cyberpunk movie that you loved for all the wrong reasons. Throw all those Konami coin-ops you dropped the dime on, titles like BIOCOMMANDO and KUNG FU MASTER and PIT FIGHTER. Add a tight script, some clever direction and more classic one-liners than COMMANDO and PREDATOR and ALIENS put together...

This, my friend, is MANBORG.

Here it roar.

MAAANBOOORG!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
"Manborg" for those who haven't seen it is a comedic spoof similar to "Slags" but dare I say far more superior. With neon colours, laser blasts, glowing streets and buildings, smashing sound effects, amazing makeup, great villains, clever one-liners, awesomely 80's synth score, instantly likable characters, spot-on humour, great story arc, fun battles etc.. There are definitely a few nods to the genre for fans to catch (Doctor Who, Eliminators, Tron, The Prisoner, Terminator, Robocop, Re-Animator, Mortal Kombat) but the writing and execution are so well done that it very intelligently incorporates those elements AND retains a wonderful individuality. Manborg is an intentionally campy, surprisingly funny, action packed world of it's own.

You probably already know the synopsis and have seen all of the hype but it really is hard to imagine the creativity and heart that this film brings to the table until you kick up your "expensive silver boots" and enjoy the hoverbike ride. Astron-6 are a force and Steven Kostanski & friends destroy any worries you may have about those beloved VHS straight to video Sci-fi/Action movies being gone forever. Get this DVD... you won't be disappointed. The extra features and packaging definitely make this one worth buying. I'm also hoping that the advert at the end for a movie called "Bio-Cop" is not just a tease because it's too good an idea for just a trailer. It's a refreshing watch and I'm excited to see what Astron-6 come up with next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is one of the best films of type. I expected to like this film, I expected to laugh at this film. I never expected to love this film! With such creative story-telling and action that is unbelievable, this is a must-have for any sci-fi fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I caught Manborg at a film festival recently and was literally blown away. I'm looking forward to rewatching this modern classic when it arrives on DVD! Highly recommended if you like an intense tongue-in-cheek sci fi flick that takes itself with no seriousness whatsoever! I even took a date to watch this with me, and she's still with me! Awwwhh Yeeeahh!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
unusual film
but great to see a film not on the same lines as rocop
but i thought it was better than that
a gem of a film
which should have been given more credit
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
It's... So beautiful. A B-movie masterpiece, very tongue in cheek, and it's pretty darn entertaining. The characters are fabulously ridiculous- From an Aussie named 'Justice', A very oddly overdubbed Kung Fu master named '#1 man', An obligatory manic pixie dream girl to the gloriously nerdy looking Manborg himself. It's rather obviously shot on a tight budget, yet it remains visually interesting all the way through. Either for budgetary or time reasons, some plot lines are rushed and the main characters are under-developed, but interestingly this seems to have caused an anomaly- 'The baron' (A villain commander) is the most emotionally developed in the whole movie and the results of this are unintentionally hilarious.

it's just a mesh of mildly stylish, camp B-movie goodness. I didn't expect as much from this movie, It's definitely skirts the line of a genuinely good B-movie and something 'So bad it's good', but the interesting visuals, cheesy dialogue, bizarre overall plot and perhaps somewhat unintentionally hilarious cast of characters make sure it comes out on top. Absolutely well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I recently rented this from Amazons Love Film and it is one of the best films I have ever seen. It's s brilliant and hilarious homage to 80s b movies. It had so many joke's and funny moments in it I can't remember them all. It is dubbed badly on purpose, the effects are bad on purpose. Don't take this film seriously, it's a homage to 80s films and very very good. Just stick it on and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here