Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
Love Vibes
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 21 November 2013
At last the follow-up to Expansion's excellent Love Vibes compilation is with us, and what a cracking set of tunes this is. Most have been unavailable on CD and will therefore be essential additions. Tracks are lifted from albums from the late 70s through to the mid 80s and are bright, optimistic, feel good magic. Songs are all strong, mid to up tempo, with lots of guitars, strings, some light 80s electronic touches and, of course, top notch vocals. Imagine walking into one of the smaller side rooms at a soul weekender late on a Saturday afternoon, and this is the kind of selection you would have heard - not anthems, but tunes picked by passionate experts who are looking to encourage their audience into exploring artists and discovering hidden or underplayed album gems. Ralph Tee is involved in the selection, so you know the quality will be high, and he's joined by Steve Cole and Paul Clifford. Favourites for me include Peabo Bryson's 'Paradise', the 80s groover 'I Can't Shake This Feeling' by Klique and the opener, 'Day Dreaming' by Cold Fire. You also get lovely stuff from Muscle Shoals Horns, Linda Clifford and Bloodstone. If you liked the Natural High compilations from WSM, this CD is perfect for you. Only (minor) gripe is: Why didn't Expansion issue this CD before the summer? I would have played it to death throughout the warm months because this is sunshine music. Even the cover illustration says 'summer' to me! Maybe licensing issues delayed the release. Buy it today and you have a wonderful batch of upbeat, soulful tunes in your collection to play whatever the weather. Hopefully there'll be a third installment too...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2013
I have a huge collection of soul/funk dating from around 1983 and when I first listened to this album, every track was new to me.

Having playing it over and over again, I am hooked. Not a 'filler' in sight. Some terrific music that most folk will be totally unfamiliar with.

Take the plunge, Expansion have got the content correct.

Fabulous album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
Love Vibes is another great Expansion Records compilations even though I can't say I like the Emotions or Michael Henderson tracks, and there are tracks such as Heatwave which I think are misplaced. However there are still around 10 great tracks to enjoy, which are worth the price of the cd. Some quality soul here from the guys at Expansion, so looking forward to the follow up Love Vibes Too out this October (2013).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
The second installment in a great series of uplifting soul from the 70's/80's. Can't get enough of this and eagerly await Love Vibes 3.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
a great collection of chilled dance tracks to while away a couple of hours stand out tracks for me were All In The Way You get Down by Ray Parker Jnr & Raydio and Can You See Where I'm Coming From by Instant Funk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
First cd was fantastic and the second cd did not disappoint either. A must for any soulie's record collection a real gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2014
Quality soul music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2014
Great old school soul, superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2012
Ordered this based on the Expansion reputation and it doesn't disappoint. There are many high quality and uplifting tracks. My personal favourites are the sublime Pattie Brooks and Sylvia St James tracks. However, the CD can be safely left playing as there are no 'fillers'. 'Love Vibes 2' please!!. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2012
In these complex times a collection of sunny good time soul from the late 1970s through to the early 1980s is just what we need. The songs are soulful and not too disco or synth based, instead focusing on the song, arrangements and production. The sound quality is excellent and although the songs thankfully aren't mixed the album flows as a cohesive whole. There's no need to pick out individual tracks as it is uniformly excellent. Fans of the 'modern soul' scene, soulful disco/boogie or positive happy music need look no further. Expansion is a great label and this album just continues their quality output. Essential.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)