Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2013
Nice little cup. Quick to install and runs Windows 7 no problems. Even the stock fan is quiet when running at 1000rpm. Will be my cpu of choice for future builds.

The iGPU is more than sufficient for YouTube in 1080p and casual gaming such as minecraft and even black ops 1 (just).
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This is the top of the line for your true budget build gaming PC. 95% of games out now will not even max this CPU. I think that's a testament to the single-threaded throughput of the Intel Core series.

Even if you're not using it for games the 3.4GHz, dual-threaded, dual-cores and 2500 HD integrated GPU will bear the grunt of modern everyday computing easily. Word Documents, Excel Spreadsheets, Database Processing, 1080p video playback, FLAC music, file compression and so on are no sweat for the i3 3240. In fact, especially if you are building a little office computer, I would certainly recommend this CPU over any AMD alternative and I usually prefer AMD for my main builds. And because it's Socket 1155 that leaves your computer open to i5 and i7 upgrades later down the line.

If you value your quiet workspace do NOT stick with the stock Intel cooler that comes with this CPU, it is horrible. Make sure to get an after-market alternative.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Intel Core i3-3240 Dual-Core is a processor worth considering if you are making budget system and don’t have the highest requirements on processor side. Out of the box LGA 1155 socket type processor runs on 3.4 GHz and comes with 3MB of cache which though cannot compare to the last generation of processors but for majority of people would be more than enough.

I use it on my secondary system which is not intended for high demanding tasks (Web browsing, text editing, pictures, videos and similar) therefore compared in terms of costs and delivered for the money, this i3 dual-core processor has no problem handling everything. Of course, I would not recommend it to the multitasking users or gamers but anyway it's not the target market for this processor.

As a nice add-on which further confirms the thesis that this is a good choice for budget systems, it comes with the integrated graphics – HD 2500 – that could be more than useful if you don’t plan to play latest generation games, though a bit older can be played just fine.

Overall, Intel Core i3-3240 is good choice if you need processor that will let you do nicely the usual stuff most people are using their PC for, asking less money for it, and due to that I can fully recommended it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I bought this to replace the celeron 1610t in my HP microserver. Very easy to replace, the unit recognised the processor immediately, and I now have 4 threads instead of two. Temperatures are comparable, and the system is noticeably faster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Solid CPU, handles most modern games wonderfully! YOU DON'T NEED AN i7 FOR GAMING!

note: this thing is not overclockable, so it is sufficient but there's not a massive amount of headroom. I plan to upgrade to an i5 in the coming years to make my pc future proof for high performance stuff.

for word processing etc? this thing is very powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
found it to be very stable and does the job I want it to with more than enough to spare, easy fitted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
overall good for everyday tasks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Good product and price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)