Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2017
Saw this guy on Counting Cars and went on ITunes. now own 2 ablums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2003
Rob Zombie has been around for many years so eventually there would be a Greatest Hits released. But this 2CD package is different from the usual greatest hits formula.
First of all, even though it says Rob Zombie, it includes White Zombie numbers. Secondly, half of the tracks are choice cuts from both Zombie's discography (not including the remix albums) while the other half consists of songs featured on soundtracks, 2 previously unreleased tracks and a Ramones cover. Also you get a bonus DVD containing 10 Zombie videos.
So not only is this album targeted at recent converts to Zombie, it also targets Zombie completists. The only reason i'm not giving this 5 stars is basically the fact that I (and other fans) have to fork out money for music I already have. While it is also good to have new Zombie material, some songs are questionable. For example: the cover version of Blitzrieg Bop and the duet with Lionel Ritchie! But then again Rob has always been an eccentric! And relating to the soundtrack songs, personally I would have put The One (from Escape From L.A.) and Ratfinks, Suicide Tanks and Cannonball Girls (from Beavis and Butthead Do America) on the album. But then again, you can't have everything!
But for me, these are minor criticisms, as what makes up for them is the bonus DVD containing the video's, especially Dragula. I forgot how funny that video is! Plus I never get to see any Zombie videos on TV (even on MTV2!). Overall a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2004
It's a rare occasion for a "Best Of" set to be much good, as they usually contain songs you already own/can't stand any more/drunkenly croon to down the pub with the obligitory "Bonus Tracks" that feel like cast offs for a good reason. However, this is, in fact, a very good set not just because it has a good range of tracks, but the added value of the video disc as well.
OK, you may wonder how we got from the material from La Sexorcisto... to The Sinister Urge when you first put it on, or how Thunder Kiss '65 seems to last about a week, but at least it keep the earlier, embyonic version of the Zombie we know and love to a minimum (although WTPMF and Soul Crusher would've been good additions, all things considered), as well as where I first heard them - Feed the Gods from the Airheads soundtrack.
Maybe the material from Astro Creep: 2000... could be expanded upon, as only More Human Than Human and Supercharger Heaven figure, but they're still classic tracks in their own right and deserve to find an audience that weren't too interested in 1995. Lifting some soundtrack entries is an inspired idea but, as my fellow reviewer states, The One would've been just as good an addition.
However, once we move into the solo material, we do get the best of the best cuts, although once again I could gripe about one or two missing tracks, when you're bouncing around to Dragula this thought soon disappears faster than fromer drummer Ivan de Prume. In fact, there is only one gripe about the whole set that isn't just "I wanted Song X, Y and Z" - the cover of Blitzkrieg Bop, which just seems like a bad idea - even if it was in honour of Joey Ramone (RIP).
As for the video section, this is where the set comes alive, especially with three top notch vids (MHTH, Dragula, Never Gonna Stop...), as well as the never-before seen vid for...Phantom Stranger, which happens to be a damn good video in its own right. Yes, it misses the videos for Supercharger Heaven and Electric Head Pt. 2, but aren't you sick of my carping by now?
In fact, this is why it reminds me how good the Zombie Family Tree is - leaving me wanting more and returning to the albums is much better than stretching what material they have and lazily tossing in some offcuts. The best "Best Of" since the Smashing Pumpkins' "Rotting Apples" set, and that is as big a compliment as you can get.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2004
The videos kick ass but the music disc is all wrong. Theres not nearly enough early White Zombie on it. In fact, absolutley nothing previous to La Sexorcisto, which is quite rubbish, and only two songs from La Sex itself.
He also put far too many random covers and soundtrack songs on it. Silly man. The booklet's nice, though.
But all things considered, it's Zombie so by definition it kicks arse.
What we need now is an all new DVD with *ALL* his music videos on it (Super Charger Heaven, woo!) and maybe even a live show or two. That would be awesome. Come on Rob, pull yourself together, stop making pointless movies (much as I enjoyed HO1KC, I woulda prefered to see his efforts going into a new album), stop doing silly cover songs and rubbish duets, write some of the good old kick ass groovy stuff that we all know and love to be Zombie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
Being new to Rob Zombie I decided to get this compilation to see what he was all about. Well, I wasn't disapointed as it is absolutely brilliant - and great value too with the extra DVD!
The only tracks I don't like are Brickhouse 2003 plus Return of the Phantom Stranger and Spookshow Baby on the DVD.
My favourites are Feed the Gods, Hands of Death, Dragula and Demonoid Phenomenon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
if you are a fan of rob zombie then you will already have all the songs that are on this album on the other cds right? wrong. there are a few preveously unreleased tracks some great songs which i think are b-sides and from house of 1000 corpes soundtrack and a great booklet with pictures from the early days through to 2003. Also you get a dvd with a variety of videos from white zombie and rob zombie. If you are after a best of taster cos you are just getting into this guys music, What took you so long? its a great place to start but go and get the other albums too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
The notion of putting the greatest songs from all of white zombie's albums on the cd too is fine, if Zombie's newer material would'nt be left out as a result. The album gives you a good idea of Zombie's growth as an artist, but some live footage would be great. Where is "scum of the earth"? How about the alternate video for "living dead girl"?
The videos display Zombie's style and horror influence with some early ninetees psychedelic neon colours and some very cute dancing by sheri. The video for living dead girl is awesome.
The sound sync is out on superbeast and it really distracts you from the song and reduces the energy and impact.
The box looks nice and the production value of the album is good, I did expect more though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2007
rob zombie is a legend within metal and industrial circles as his band white zombie completely blurred the line between the two genres, and they are to a small extent represented here(but this is called ROB ZOMBIE:past present and future) with 6 out of the 19 songs. they represent his past, a much more metal affair than what he is doing now, and some people believe that he would be better off going towards the metal again as the best songs on this album are probably "feed the gods","more human than human" and "supercharger heaven" or the devilman song as ive seen it called on download sites.

but that said the solo material does stand up well in comparison as it is so different, the emphasis seems to be more on the beats and the samples and it definately feels like there has been more care taken with writing some melodies,and this does give the present material an edge as they have better production and are very catchy especially on great songs like "living dead girl","feel so numb" and "the great american nightmare".

you then get soundtrack material from the 1000 corpes film, which i could quite happily live without as its shite, a sloppy cover of "blitzkrieg bop" which is again poor,but it pulls itself together with two previously unreleased tunes that complete the future section and they do show light is at the end of the tunnel.

the second disc dvd is absolutely brilliant. its that simple.10 great promo films for 10 great songs(isnt it odd though how "demonoid phenomenon","return of the phantom stranger" and "spookshow baby" all get a video but dont get a song on the first disc) all that just bubble over with energy and excitement, and "thunderkiss `65" has got to be the most colourful metal video ive ever seen.

this album is the perfect introduction into robs wierd little world and from here you should be able to work out which way you want to go with what to buy next by him. failing that you could just buy "astro:creep 2000" by white zombie and marvel at that album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)