Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2012
I have no issues with Lisita's playing (if I had, I would not have bought the CD), but I am most unhappy with the way this CD is marketed and produced.

When the title says "Live at XXX", you'd expect it to be a CD of the entire concert. This is not the case. Not only are the pieces arranged in some sort of random order, they are actually incomplete. Nowhere in the CD's case or the booklet does it alert people to this fact.

Here are the pieces in the concert that are not contained in the CD:

Liszt's Hungarian Rhpasody No 12, Mozart's Fantasy in C Minor, various transcriptions by Liszt of Schubert's songs, Liszt's Totentanz.
22 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
first piece happy and gentle introduction .the rest is amazing journey . amazing playing.
I bought the disk because of "Moonlight" .the way Lisitsa plays "Moonlight" is my big favorite of all versions of various great artists I heard on youtube. this is strong way and is unique to her, from what I seen.
from this disk I found out about Listz .
The sound is great and crystal clear as if you sit next to the piano.
its a lot more fun to listen to a cd then to youtube.
great concert plan. The pieces are great and the order of playing is also considerate. Lisitsa thought on every detail.
she is a great artist.
I hope to see a concert of her in live .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Like many others, I first came across Valentina on YouTube. I was looking for Beethoven's Sonata Op57 "Appassionata", as featured on a film I'd been watching. I didn't find reference to the film, but I found Valentina.

Her playing is outstanding, both in its range and feeling. Her ability to see the manuscript in her mind (photographic memory) is translated through her hands as if two people are playing two pianos. It's almost as if she has four right hands - performing with incredible and equal dexterity through both left and right.

Although unable to attend in person, I watched her perfomance at the Royal Albert Hall online and afterwards bought both the DVD and this CD which I highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This CD is not only Valentina Lisitsa's commemoration of LIVE in one of the world most prestigious concert venue, but also commemoration of 45 million YouTube audiences who have long been desiring earnestly to be released. Listening to this high quality CD reveals that pianism of Valentina is utterly beyond our expectation in its dynamics and poets. She is the Muse and the pianist to be compared with pianist in the golden age such as Hoffmann, Horowitz or Rachmaninoff. I can say that other pianists of the same age are fading out of my mind.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
I have listened to this CD of Valentina Lisitsa and had compared her interpretation with pianists such as Richter, Horowitz, Alice Sara Ott and others. I also watched her performing Liszt's difficult pieces on You Tube. She appears to have no technical difficulties whatsoever and played these pieces with ease. Her phrasing is fantastic. It is a pity that only this one CD is on sale at present for I understand there are some difficulties releasing her other discs on Naxos. I will certainly be a buyer when further discs are available.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I am not qualified to make a technical review, but I know when I hear a superb pianist, and Valentina makes the hairs on my back stand up and salute her. Just brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
This Audio CD is a fantastic collection of inspiring and beautifully-played pieces, which are both highly energetic and very relaxing. It is brilliant for quiet times and also as background music. Valentina Lisitsa's performance of Fur Elise is absolutely exquisite. The Rachmaninov is energetic and powerful, the Beethoven is beautiful, the Chopin is dreamy, and Liebestraume is lovely too. I recommend this CD to classical music lovers. I hope she releases more Audio CDs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
This recording is absolutely superb. I find that I'm playing it at every opportunity and every time sounds as good as the first time. I've been waiting a long time (or it certainly feels like a long time) for this fabulous artist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
beautifully fluid, with exceptional timing and mind freezing emotions. thank god I can finally listen to her on high quality, like she's sitting right next to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
Fans have been waiting for this moment for a very long time, and Live At The Royal Albert Hall comes to us as a blessing. The expectations were high, and Valentina fulfilled them all. We can now only hope that her new albums - e.g. Rach project - will be released soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)