Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 14 August 2014
I am not qualified to make a technical review, but I know when I hear a superb pianist, and Valentina makes the hairs on my back stand up and salute her. Just brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 October 2017
Valentina Lisitsa is one of my favourite pianists and this record does not disappoint.

Let me tell you why she is a favourite of mine. Lisitsa rejected the perceived 'way to the top' in her native Ukraine os winning piano competitions. To win a competition, you have to play pieces the way the judges like, not the way you like. Lisitsa wanted to play the music, as the composers intended.

After a slow start she used the internet to publicise her playing. She rapidly became one of the most visited artists. Then the recording contract followed.

There are some pianists on the circuit who play the notes but not the music. Technically brilliant, they may be, but the music doesn't 'sing' through their interpretations. Lisitsa, on the other hand, plays the music. Technically she is outstanding and musically she is of the highest order.

This concert captures her at her lyrical best. Her interpretations of Chopin and Rachmaninoff capture the romantic nature of their music perfectly. Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata is a virtuoso performance: the first movement is serene, the second movement is made charming in its simplicity and the third movement is taken at speed and is a tour de force.

This is a great introduction to Lisitsa's talent and well worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
first piece happy and gentle introduction .the rest is amazing journey . amazing playing.
I bought the disk because of "Moonlight" .the way Lisitsa plays "Moonlight" is my big favorite of all versions of various great artists I heard on youtube. this is strong way and is unique to her, from what I seen.
from this disk I found out about Listz .
The sound is great and crystal clear as if you sit next to the piano.
its a lot more fun to listen to a cd then to youtube.
great concert plan. The pieces are great and the order of playing is also considerate. Lisitsa thought on every detail.
she is a great artist.
I hope to see a concert of her in live .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
I have no issues with Lisita's playing (if I had, I would not have bought the CD), but I am most unhappy with the way this CD is marketed and produced.

When the title says "Live at XXX", you'd expect it to be a CD of the entire concert. This is not the case. Not only are the pieces arranged in some sort of random order, they are actually incomplete. Nowhere in the CD's case or the booklet does it alert people to this fact.

Here are the pieces in the concert that are not contained in the CD:

Liszt's Hungarian Rhpasody No 12, Mozart's Fantasy in C Minor, various transcriptions by Liszt of Schubert's songs, Liszt's Totentanz.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This CD is not only Valentina Lisitsa's commemoration of LIVE in one of the world most prestigious concert venue, but also commemoration of 45 million YouTube audiences who have long been desiring earnestly to be released. Listening to this high quality CD reveals that pianism of Valentina is utterly beyond our expectation in its dynamics and poets. She is the Muse and the pianist to be compared with pianist in the golden age such as Hoffmann, Horowitz or Rachmaninoff. I can say that other pianists of the same age are fading out of my mind.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Beautiful playing of a selection of outstanding pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
I have listened to this CD of Valentina Lisitsa and had compared her interpretation with pianists such as Richter, Horowitz, Alice Sara Ott and others. I also watched her performing Liszt's difficult pieces on You Tube. She appears to have no technical difficulties whatsoever and played these pieces with ease. Her phrasing is fantastic. It is a pity that only this one CD is on sale at present for I understand there are some difficulties releasing her other discs on Naxos. I will certainly be a buyer when further discs are available.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
This recording is absolutely superb. I find that I'm playing it at every opportunity and every time sounds as good as the first time. I've been waiting a long time (or it certainly feels like a long time) for this fabulous artist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
This Audio CD is a fantastic collection of inspiring and beautifully-played pieces, which are both highly energetic and very relaxing. It is brilliant for quiet times and also as background music. Valentina Lisitsa's performance of Fur Elise is absolutely exquisite. The Rachmaninov is energetic and powerful, the Beethoven is beautiful, the Chopin is dreamy, and Liebestraume is lovely too. I recommend this CD to classical music lovers. I hope she releases more Audio CDs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Like many others, I first came across Valentina on YouTube. I was looking for Beethoven's Sonata Op57 "Appassionata", as featured on a film I'd been watching. I didn't find reference to the film, but I found Valentina.

Her playing is outstanding, both in its range and feeling. Her ability to see the manuscript in her mind (photographic memory) is translated through her hands as if two people are playing two pianos. It's almost as if she has four right hands - performing with incredible and equal dexterity through both left and right.

Although unable to attend in person, I watched her perfomance at the Royal Albert Hall online and afterwards bought both the DVD and this CD which I highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Love Story: Piano Themes From Cinema's Golden Age
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)