Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 30 April 2017
What a fabulous book. Very sad to read in some parts but a good true story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
This book promised to be good but the detail is scanty at best. The story jumps and moves at such a pace you find yourself wanting so much more information. Why after only a couple of days in the raft were so many people giving up and jumping overboard ? There is no build up to the truely horrific acts committed by the Javanese blacks on board. Then the descriptions of the Japanese POW camps which other authors have des river in graphic detail is again brief and scant with no depth. There is no relationships or character development throughout. Overall a disappointing read which could have been so much better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
This was quite harrowing to read at times. What men are capable of doing to each other is mind boggling. This book describes real horror, being trapped in a boat with only the sea as a choice of escape - literally a choice of the devil or deep blue sea!! Yet, the author survived to tell the tale. I recommend reading this book as it shows that people had to survive the horrors of WW2 in more ways than I had been aware of.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
I thought this was well written and in common with all the books about this subject, very humbling in all that these people had to go through in order to survive. Hopefully the families of some of those who did not survive would get some peace of mind by knowing what happened to their loved ones as truthfully described by the author.
On the issue of a small disappointment with the publisher - at the end the book shows extracts of other books on the same subject but they are not available as e-books as far as I can find. A minor frustration which did not spoil my enjoyment of the book itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
I am fascinated by true stories of survival and the way how some people who are faced with an impossible situation can somehow survive and find the will to pull through.
This book is one of those.
Technically you could break it up into two survival stories but I'll not spoil it for you.
I've read it a few times now and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys this type of read.
Full marks from me. 📚
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Quite an old book written in a very dated type format, very correct and to a degree should be anything other than what it is.

In years to come I would hope this would be considered a classic, its a very remarkable book in that it reads like fiction, but its not and blatantly so.

Gritty subject, beautifully told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
Brilliant book best read for a long time and keeps you on your toes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I found out my grandfather ( Royal Artillery) was on board the Roosenboom and was one of those who lost his life. Thankful to Walter Gibson for his book. Rest in peace those unfortunate passengers and crew. I'm only sorry it had taken 70 years for records to be released enabling me to find out his fate, just too long for my grandmother to know. What a world we live in
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)