Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 February 2017
I bought this set some weeks ago to replace my 12 vinyl LP boxed set of the Barenboim/Beethoven Piano Sonatas purchased some 40 years ago. I have known, loved and played those LPs regularly since the late 1970s and, quite honestly, these are now showing their age. Hence the CD replacements. They are the same recordings made by Barenboim in the late 1960s to early 1970s and have transferred beautifully. No faulty discs and all 32 sonatas are there, contrary to what another reviewer has claimed. It is really lovely to be able to play these sonatas on CD without the hums and screeches audible on my 40 year old LPs. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
A young Barenboim nonetheless magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
This is Daniel Barenboim's first recordings of the complete sonatas and is still as fresh and lively as it was when first recorded in the late 60's. For any lover of Betthoven these are a landmark set of recordings and a joy to listen to.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Very deep immersion into this encyclopaedia of Beethoven's music. The interpretations to learn from. Unbelievable value for the money for the 10 CD set. However, I think the Barenboim's live DVD recording feels more natural and emotional.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Excellent recordings of the most wonderful music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
It is very interesting to compare these early recordings with Barenboims later. This box is a bargain. CD sound quality is good but is a little light in the bass and a little shut in compared to the LPs.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Beethoven has to be interpreted properly in order to be thoroughly understood and enjoyed.
Daniel Barenboim, in my opinion, understands and feels Beethoven. When one listens to and compares his interpretation of Beethoven with others', one realises the genius of his imagination!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I already had good number of recordings of Beethoven's recordings, or rather his music on record! But until now I didn't have his piano sonatas. This is wonderful music and Daniel performs it perfectly.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
a very good recoding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)