Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Anna Karenina [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 November 2017
Bit weak, tried hard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
MMMMMM NOT AS I EXPECTED .....VERY SLOW AND TO MUCH STAGE PRESENCE GOOD STORY WATCHIABLE. OUT OF 10 GIVE IT A 8
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2017
Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
This is really an odd film. It is fascinating due to the visual effects and the music that really grasp you and transport you, yet at the same time, the story is told in a superficial and boring way. The characters have no time to develop, they need to gallop through their storylines. The only two actors IMO who really manage to pull their characters off fully are Jude Law and Matthew MacFayden... the rest goes under in the costumes, the stage sets, the quick change of scenes...even the normally superb actresses Ruth Wilson and Emily Watson get completely overlooked.I think Knightley did a job not too bad - her performance resembles her prior performances, but here she appears more matured and shows a really dark side that I hadn't seen of her before. Unfortunately, the actor who plays Vronsky has no charisma whatsoever and no chemistry with Knightley. The same applies to the actors who play Levin and Kitty.

Really not sure what to think about this film....I only know I won't watch through it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
What a waste. If you want to watch a pretty ghastly piece of work, riddled with just about every gimmick under the sun, help yourself to this - even Keira Knightley fans will be disappointed. This really doesn't do justice to her considerable talents, or to the richly intense and ultimately tragic love-story.

If you want a stylish movie version, Alexander Korda's 1948 production starring Vivien Leigh and Ralph Richardson is pretty darned good, though it fails to eclipse the divine Greta Garbo's vintage tear-jerker of 1935. This continues to have the edge, and to keep its place as a classic in cinema history.

All that can really be said for Joe Wright's film is that even an obligatory tour of costumes failed to make up for its inadequacies, and the one detail I remember is of a very short frock, made specially for Ms Knightley, who was somewhat taller than her co-star, and had to stand in a pit! Ah, the magic of the movies ...

(NB - For those who want Tolstoy's 'Anna Karenina' - complete with some wonderful writing and some electric performances, go for the BBC's stunner from the 1970s, starring Nicola Pagett and Eric Porter. No, it's not a feature-film, it's a ten-part series, allowed to take its time - and it still can't be beaten. Magnificent throughout. On all fronts.)

Bin this idiotic effort.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
A brave experiment that doesn’t always work, but succeeds in letting us see Tolstoy’s great, oft filmed novel in a new light.

Setting much of the film in an aging theater, director Joe Wright and screen writer Tom Stoppard accomplish two things. They make literal the reality that in the 19th century upper class life was a play, and your survival depended on playing your role just right. It sounds heavy handed, and at times it feels it, but it brought out a humor and a pathos for all involved that I found fresh and rewarding.

In the same vein, the film isn’t afraid to make Anna look self involved, and actually makes Jude Law, doing some of his best work as Anna’s boring, uptight and pious husband, arguably the most sympathetic character, The film refuses to give Anna and her lover a ‘get out of jail emotionally free’ card. Yes, we want them to be together, we see their passion, but we also see the real-world consequences of their obsessive love.

Contrasted with that is Levin, an idealist landowner who loves in a quieter, but also more honest and sustainable way than Anna's passion -- and we are left feeling confused about just what is right and wrong when dealing with love and society.

The film looks amazing. Wright uses his theatrical conceit beautifully, then breaks it at just the right time to make the point that not everyone, especially the proto-Marxist Levin are about living on that stage, but try to experience real life.

The results may be at odd with some of Tolstoy’s ideas, and certainly are different than we’ve seen before, but what’s an classic, done many times, for except to reexamine. At times the theatrical effects can be distracting, and the approach causes a certain emotional distance. Sometimes this feels more like the social satire of Chekhov, than the deeply felt prose of Tolstoy, and it can get slow and repetitive in spots. But most of the time I was grateful to be surprised at seeing the story in a new way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2016
Not at all what I thought it would be hated the way it was filmed ( like a modern play done badly at the theatre) didn't even watch it all. I was so looking forward to a film version of a lovely book.

If I wanted a theatre production I'd of been OK with it I think but even this was badly done watching actors walking on and off into view dreadful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2015
Pretty but pointless … the two principles being too young and without the necessary talent to give the narrative any depth. Taylor-Johnson in particular is laughably miscast. Ms Knightley didn't stand a chance of upping her game considering the limited ability of her co-star. What on earth were they thinking?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2015
Dire .. very odd staging .. performances self indulgent rather than sensitive .. Keira Knightly is a pretty girl but a poor actress who seems to have the same somewhat surprised facial expression for whatever emotion she is trying to portray. . Atonement was the same .. as was The Duchess... Pirates of the Caribbean was better but that was a light hearted romp anyway .. and Johnny Depp, Bill Nighy, Orlando Bloom and Geoffrey Rush were so exquisite in their characters that was sufficient .. this film was not sufficient in any arena .. :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2014
This is in my opinion a weird and unconvincing film, created as being played out on a theater stage. I felt it just didn't work. I found the acting unconvincing, perhaps because of the stage setting - it was just not possible to take the acting seriously, but then I suspect that wasn't the intention either. I think it will only work for you if this type of creation really is your cup of tea, but it's not for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)