Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
182
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2017
This is my first album of this very talented musician Nicola Benedetti and it's breathtaking! I have never heard such beautiful moving music as this and I was totally taken away to a most beautiful place in my memory listening to it. Miss Benedetti is very gifted and beautiful as well and she has performed this music to a perfection I did not know until I listened to her playing. This CD 'The cd 'The Silver Violin' is surely the best music out there and I think,if you listen to it,you will understand why I have written such a great review and totally five star recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Not quite what i wanted, still good music to chill to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
the most haunting music I have heard ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Lovely selection of move favourites, expertly arranged and played, as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Utterly gorgeous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Wonderful. I boughr because of Korngold's Song of Marietta and I love the whole album. So soothing and exertly played.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Having now proved herself as a serious violinist with the obligatory recordings of the typical repertoire (Bruch/Tchaikovsky etc), it is fantastic to see Nicola now able to express her vision for music through her recordings. This disk strikes exactly the right balance between being widely accessible but not abandoning the concept of a 'proper' classical album.

For classical music purists, the Korngold violin concerto is the centrepiece of the disk. This is a fabulous interpretation and has a suitably showbiz-y feel to allow it to blend seamlessly with the other works. (I'm not exactly in a position to critique her technical proficiency in this piece - if there were flaws, I couldn't hear them anyway...!)

The other works on the disk are the more accessible ones. With 15 tracks, each one is shorter than the pieces often found in the classical repertoire and hence the music is broken into 'bite-size chunks' (perhaps less suited to the classical music purists but good for those who are intimidated by longer works). The stand-out tracks for me are Gardel's Por Una Cabeza (in which Ksenija Sidorova (accordian) is a fantastic addition to the tried and tested combination of Benedetti, Elschenbroich, Stikovestsky and Grynyuk), Shostakovich's Romance from the Gadfly and Korngold's Marietta's Lied (which she recently performed at the Proms).

Although it pains me to make any criticisms, I feel I have to make a few comments in the interests of a balanced review! The Hess and Marianelli pieces seem perhaps a little out of their depth and are somewhat lost in between the works of Shostakovich/Mahler/Korngold. Shore's Concertino from Eastern Promises (another little-known composer) however holds its own remarkably well (I especially like the second part!).

Overall this is another stunning collection and Benedetti's passion for bringing 'proper' clasical music to a wider audience can be felt in every piece. The energy and vitality of her playing is something that sets Nicola's recordings apart from other classical albums and the pieces on this disk show this off perfectly (in a similar way to her 'Fantasie' album). This is a fabulous collection of solo/orchestral and chamber works, all brought together with a unique showbiz sparkle!
0Comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Not a acceptable "high-end" audiophile sound on this Decca CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
Just stunning, her violin playing is superb. Music written and used in films, beautiful. Very relaxing and concentrates the mind.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.85
£13.25
£6.67

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)