Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 June 2017
this book is so simple and beautiful I loved it. i am staring on my coaching journey and like simple questions to get me going and not feel stuck. is so easy explained with great example and great references of other book. knowledge authors very inspired. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
interesting but could have been explained in a few pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
(In the style of the authors)
Questioner: What would a five star book of this kind look like?
Speaker: It would introduce clean language techniques in a clear manner that I could apply.
It would link these techniques to their roots in NLP , Ericksonian Hypnosis, Systemic approaches and solution Focused Therapy.
It would honestly appraise the approach and admit to wide influences , even if they were from other approaches than Clean Language texts and NLP.
It would be genuinely innovative and also consider "tricky" or complex situations and give examples of using these techniques in difficult meeting/teaching/ business negotiation or clinical contexts.

Questioner : Did this book look like that?
Speaker : No. Only the first thing I stated was achieved.
Questioner: Well, will you settle for that ?...................

If the answer is ....."yes" then this book is for you. It is a clear introduction. If the answer is "no" there are some issues you may consider before buying it.
This book does explain core aspects of clean language which is an interesting idea for counsellors, business folk and therapists. It is clearly (if rather repetitively) written. The case examples used are simplistic and do not seem "real" somehow. There are references to celebrity chef Heston Blumenthal and many popular quotations that may either Jar with the reader or may be amusing and accessible , depending on what you seek from a book of this kind.

It also attempts to stand in splendid isolation, pulling the ladders clean language would have used to climb to this position up behind it - it has an embarrassingly short list of sources and wider reading on language in therapy and the authors seem to be laying claim to relationship questions, future focused questioning styles, systemic feed forward or preferred future questions, Ericksonian adventures in metaphor and matching communication patterns and cooperation in therapy. Certainly Steve De Shazer and Bergs language structures from SFBT are either ignored or have been missed by authors? A good introduction to these would be [ASIN:0789033984 More Than Miracles: The State of the Art of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy (Haworth Brief Therapy). Sullivan and Rees acknowledge only the late David Grove and "clean language" sources for what are very widespread therapeutic techniques and language structures. These techniques could just as easily be linked to JL Austons "How to do things with Words"[ASIN:019281205X How to Do Things with Words: The William James Lectures delivered in Harvard University in 1955 (Oxford Paperbacks), Wittgensteins work on "Language Games a good summary is in his biography by Ray Monk [ASIN:0099883708 Ludwig Wittgenstein: The Duty of Genius] and Milton Erickson's use of metaphor. In fact , a good accompanying book to Clean Language would be J Haleys "Uncommon Therapy" [ASIN:0393310310 Uncommon Therapy: Psychiatric Techniques of Milton H.Erickson, M.D.], his collection of Milton Ericksons' case studies in which some of these these techniques get their first airing (along with some strategic manipulation though so take care before going down this route it's addictive!).

Even NLP's Bandler and Grinder acknowledged Erickson! By suggesting that there are only clean language created techniques in clean language as an approach, Sullivan and Rees create a world where clean language has sprung from nowhere. I feel this is ungenerous. Putting these ideas in a wider context with other approaches would have helped rather than hindered the model. However Sullivan and Rees describe themselves as "specialist international trainers, psychotherapists, coach and coach supervisors , business consultants" etc and I acknowledge there is a need to create a "new" product to fulfil these roles successfully. Overall this IS a good introduction but you may still want to look wider than the sources used to put this interesting way to use words and metaphors into some context and also to be able to use the techniques effectively in more testing clinical and business situations.
Dave Hawkes . Senior Lecturer Mental Health.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
The book was delivered in time without any problem. Packaging was good. No damage. I am still reading this book. Despite not being a keen reader, it has kept my interest in reading. I am not sure this is an extraordinary though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
This is a great book for anyone interested in language, communicating with others and questioning. Whether you're a parent looking to find out more from their kids, a therapist dealing with a client, a manager working with a team or any other situation where you really want to understand what's going on with someone else, then this book will be useful to you. Clean language is a great skill to have. It lets us hear without influencing what the other person is saying, which is more difficult than you think. So, if you really want to get to know someone - get this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
The central idea of the book is that metaphors are a fundamental tool for organising thoughts and we use them subconciously to make sense of the world, without even being aware of it. Some typical examples of that are temperature used for affection ("They greeted me warmly."), size used for importance ("Tomorrow is a big day."), height used for quantity ("Prices are high."), and purpose represented as a physical object of desire ("I saw an opportunity for success and grabbed it."). Though such simple metaphors should be unversally understood, more complex metaphors can be easily understood by different people in different ways. The authors argue that we can get better understanding and awareness of others' and our own ideas by recognising metaphors, pushing them from subconcious processing into concious analysis, understanding the ties between a metaphor and the real situation and reverse-engineering metaphorical solutions into real ones. For example, the next time you feel stuck while working, try thinking about what kind of stuck feeling that really is and what would make you feel unstuck.

Clean Language is an approach to soliciting information and facilitating discussion that recognises this central role of metaphors, helps us spot metaphors in other people's thoughts and our own ideas and makes those connections explicit. The premise of Clean Language is that such concious analysis of metaphors helps understand other people better. One particularly eye-opening aspect of this approach for me was how much my own metaphors and assumptions can cloud my understanding of clients' issues and situation. Clean Language provides a toolkit, through a set of twelve questions, that prevents polluting communication with our own metaphors, hence the title "Clean". Instead of introducing our own metaphors into the mix, Clean Language questions help people improve active listening.

Most of the examples in the book are about psychology, and helping people with psychological issues, but I've been able to translate many of those examples easily into software consulting. Since reading the book, I became a lot more attentive to the way others use metaphors and a lot more careful about driving the conversation with my own metaphors that could be easily misunderstood. This hardly makes it a life-changing experience, but anything that improves communication will surely be a useful toolkit for many people in the software industry. Business analysts, team leaders, process improvement coaches and consultants will probably benefit from this book the most.

I give the book four out of five stars. For all the good content, there is a bit too much repetition for my taste in the book. The example discussion sessions sometimes go on forever and I found myself skipping large portions of those parts.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
You want the paper version and the kindle version. Its nothing to do with swearing btw. It answers the question, when you are supposed to be listening what are you supposed to be doing?, and how can you listen with absolutely curiosity, and when you listen in this way something amazing happens, people experience being heard, it doesn't happen often, and when it does change is possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Our understanding of people is changing. According to Steven Pinker and many other cognitive scientists, 'The Stuff of Thought' is fundamentally metaphoric. Whether we realize it or not, daily speech is peppered with metaphors - often several per minute.

David Grove was faced with a conundrum. If language is inherently metaphorical, how could he work with others' metaphors without bringing his own into the conversation? His solution was a brilliant innovation: Clean Language; a simple set of questions that make use of only the most basic elements of human perception.

While the 'clean' approach will be instantly valuable to therapists and coaches, Clean Language: Revealing Metaphors and Opening Minds also shows how it can be taken into conversations between parent and child, teacher and pupil, manager and staff, doctor and patient, researcher and subject; into team meetings, organisational development and in many other areas. Along the way the reader is made aware of how their own assumptions and intentions influence the systems in which they live, work and play.

This book is part of a rising wave of interest, application and research into metaphor. I applaud Wendy and Judy's willingness and enthusiasm to make this work available to a wider range of people by the publication of such a practical and interesting book.

Penny Tompkins, co-author Metaphors in Mind: Transformation Through Symbolic Modelling
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
"Clean" language, developed originally by David Grove, has been an interest of mine since I read "Metaphors in Mind" (Lawley and Tomkins). So, I was very interested to see the approach taken by Wendy Sullivan and Judy Rees. I'm impressed by this book's, simplicity and practicality. For the uninitiated or novice "clean" user, this book has some great application strategies, techniques and tips.

For those unfamiliar with the concept of "clean" questioning, it is a way of helping another person find answers without giving advice. This may sound similar to the contemporary model of "coaching", so popular today, particularly in the business context. However, "clean" is substantially different. "Clean" is as clean as possible of the questioner's assumptions, opinions and metaphors. Furthermore, although listening is an integral component of the process of clean, it definitely does not use techniques such as paraphrasing, summarising etc, for these automatically provide the opinion of the questioner.

Chapter headings are not normally my cup of tea (there's a metaphor for you!). However, Sullivan and Rees have selected some gems that add to the explanation and the reader's understanding of "clean". Two that particularly sum this up are, "No-one ever listened themselves out of a job" (Colin Coolidge, U.S. president) and "The quality of your attention determines the quality of other people's thinking" (Nancy Kline).

As Sullivan and Rees suggest in their introduction, the book is "designed to put Clean Language in people's hands, worldwide, ready to be used whenever it could be valuable". To my mind, they have achieved their aim. The book has 16 chapters, each of which has a select number of practical activities which enable the reader to practise the concepts. There are just 12 "clean" questions and each is covered in detail. They form three clusters, Developing Questions (to encourage a person to become clear about what's true for them), Sequence and Source Questions (to tease out the sequence of events), Intention Questions (to help the person establish what they would like to change).

This is a great book. If you are really interested in helping other people, then I would suggest reading this book, undertaking the activities, then reading it again. It's one that I will certainly be using in my role as management and leadership coach and facilitator. Highly recommended.

Bob Selden,
Author, What To Do When You Become The Boss: How New Managers Become Successful Managers
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
This book has been very carefully crafted by the authors to lead the reader effortlessly through the theory and practise of Clean Language. It's clearly written, making this complex subject totally accessible. If you're prepared to work through this guide step by step, and develop your skills by using the tips and activities, then you really can start to experience the benefits of using a Clean approach in a variety of aspects of life. The book also makes a useful companion for anyone training in Clean Language. Sullivan and Rees have led me to revise my belief that Clean Language cannot be learned from a book. They have created a highly readable, practical book that contributes much to this fast developing field.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)