Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 4 July 2014
No where near as good as the other lego games, we are really disappointed in this one. The boy was glued to previous lego games (Batman in particular). He loved LOTR so this was an obvious choice of a present. Neither him (nor us and i admit as parents we play it as well) have yet completed the game (purchased in march now july), nor has it be played much. Game play is repetitive and in some places very inexplicably difficult, where as in others so obvious. There is no real challenge. The new split screen is terrible, we had to change it back to the old style. We recently replayed an old playstation game called gauntlet- two player and the view on that is amazing compared to this "new" technology. The developers should have played as two players, then made HUGE changes to the game play. I hope the new marvel lego games are better.

Edit April 2015
Revisited this game so I could complete it so could justify buying other lego games. Problems are:
- sometimes, not all the time, just when it matters, you change characters and it switiches you to player 2- this is very irritating, especially when you have completed a long jump sequence and your characters comes down by itself because the computer decided you wanted the player 2 to change. Not even swap to player 2, change player 2 character then swap to him! ARGH made me sware- and even my mild mannered 12 year old got very frustrated.
- WATER- no consistency, some times you touch water you die, other times it is fine. MAKE UP YOUR MIND, I never knew if i was suppose to touch it or not.
- Guide studs - decide where they want to take you, even when you change them! No idea why, they would just change their mind and waste you time (free play after finished story). Irritating
- Should be able to keep "mithral" objects in quick inventory rather than going into treasure box to get them each time
- 2 player issues- we like 2 player, thats why we like lego. This has too many faults. Character selection and treasure box move strangely so you "loose" where you are. Just causes frustration. Sometimes the computer changed your character for you and swapped your screen side - frustrating.
- cut scenes- every time in mithral forge- really! Stopped player 2 playing, no need for that.
- poor level design- too much hitting and no thought really needed. I think more thought should have been put into the story and challenges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
Finally, someone has done a Lord of the Rings game right. Finally, someone has created a game that captures the epic sweep of Peter Jackson’s movies, the battles, the struggles, the fellowship, the adventure. Someone has created a game that takes on the great figures and huge events of Tolkien’s story, but that doesn’t abandon the little people or the details either.

Of course, it’s a bit unexpected that this most faithful of adaptations is constructed around chunky Lego minifigures and virtual plastic bricks, and that it’s one rolled out with a wink and a chuckle rather than hushed reverence and spellbound awe, but then that’s always been the Lego way. Lego Lord of the Rings does for Middle Earth what Lego Star Wars did for the whole Skywalker Saga, what Lego Harry Potter did for Harry and Hogwarts and what Lego Indiana Jones did for Raiders and its sequels. In fact, it does it even better.

The basics are as usual. The main story sequences are effectively simple platform levels with a little combat, a lot of objects to break and studs to collect, and a few, fairly straightforward puzzles. Each Lego character has specific abilities, whether it’s Sam growing plants and lighting fires, Gimli smashing certain surfaces, Gandalf levitating objects or Legolas shooting arrows and walking tightropes. Most of the puzzles revolve around one character using their abilities to circumvent one barrier so that another character can have a chance to showcase theirs, and it all has this smart, enjoyable flow. The beauty of Lego Lord of the Rings, as was the case with this year’s Lego Batman 2, is that it’s never too hard for kids to play on their own but it’s also got enough challenge to keep adults from getting bored. You can’t die permanently - though dying temporarily will lose you precious studs - so it’s never what you might call frustrating.

Lego Lord of the Rings makes a few adjustments to the formula. In most recent Lego games you’ve had to pick up objects and use them, but this one is the first where you can carry more than one at a time, with a handy inventory wheel. Objects can also be combined, so a handle and a head becomes a hammer, while a rod, like and hook become a fishing rod. Lego Lord of the Rings also features crafting, where designs for different tools or objects can be discovered, then formed in the forge at Bree using whatever Mithril silver blocks you’ve managed to collect. These forged items will make life that bit easier, though you won’t get access to many through your initial run through the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2012
Once you have put the disc in and got things underway you will be treated to the opening of Fellowship of the ring, narrated by Cate Blanchett. Then its on to the last stand of men and Elves against the all powerful Sauron which you actively take part in. Needless to say that this game is incredibly faithful to the Peter Jackson movies and all audio, save that of minor characters, is taken directly from the films.
The story of the one ring is explained and then you are put in charge of Frodo and Sam in the Shire.

With the film soundtrack playing and the Shire to explore at your leisure, you will suddenly wonder if the rest of the game can live up to such an epic opening. The answer is yes. While some, like me, will quite happily wander about Hobbiton collecting Studs and hunting down special Mithril Blocks...others will be determined to see just how big this Lego themed Middle-Earth is.

Of course this is no Skyrim. But such freedom and detailed environments will gain your attention. And if you are a fan of the movies you are going to be very impressed. You can have a walk along to Bree if you wish but the first mission will stand in your way and its hard to ignore it, when you know that it details Frodos' flight from the Shire and his first encounter with the Nazgul. The whole of this Lego condensed Middle-Earth is open for exploration. Take a walk to Mount Doom.

If you have played any previous Lego games then this is the best. The controls are responsive, the animations incredible and the graphics lush and colourful. Middle-Earth looks absolutely stunning and I'm always surprised at how much more the developers can get out of these little plastic figures. Characters are easily recognisable and the cutscenes prefectly represent the movies, with added Lego humour of course.

You can fast travel between the locations you have visited but its enjoyable to walk it, or ride it even. Try taking a goat out of the Shire. Going past the Town of Bree and unlocking Weathertop will allow you to see a large part of the map. The thing is whatever you see is available to visit. Your map will highlight useful locations, quest locations and items of interest. You can even set a coin trail to any objectives or locations you want to visit. Hobbit GPS.

Any Mithril blocks you collect (these replace the gold blocks), along with recipes allows you to craft new weapons, items and armor. These can be accessed through the characters inventory wheel with ease. The thing is if you take a quest on it usually means visiting a past mission in free-play mode and finding the required items etc etc.

Is Lego Lord of the rings a role-play game then? Very litely. You can tackle quests, hunt down hidden caves and so on but the game is very friendly and there is no grinding of any kind. Simply wandering around with the Fellowship is awesome and each character has his/her special abilities. Samwise can grow flowers from patches of soil and light fires with his tinderbox. Merry has a fishing rod and can tackle (get it) a little mini-game when above certain bodies of water.

The missions are more of the same from previous Lego games. Collect the maximum amount of studs per level, find treasure chests and unlock kit pieces. Free-play mode is required to visit older levels with new characters and their special abilities to unlock additional areas and kit. Replay value on this game is very high indeed.

You'll wander from Rivendell to Rohan, buying new characters as you go and taking in the lovely sights of Middle-Earth in all of its Lego glory. The you'll decide to go back to the Shire and unlock some more bits of Mithril that you missed earlier in the game to forge a new powerful weapon...

Yes it gets repetetive but not in a bad way. You are glad to experience Lord of the rings and plod through the game and get them all important achievements.

The best Lego game ever and best use of a film license.

11 Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
Absolutely love this game. The highlight of the game is the enormous free play map which you can explore. The previous games have not had this feature. You are able roam around the whole of the lego version of middle earth with extra challenges dotted around such as retreiving items for characters you come across in the world. Whilst exploring you come across other secret areas of the map with additional challenges.
So much fun to play and plenty of entertainment. Highlly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
We previously only played the first Indiana Jones Lego game, loved it (barring some movement/camera glitches), and were hoping LoTR, being a much more recent game, would just be a big improvement. But it turned out to be in several ways a big change, and a less enjoyable one. My main gripe is that there is too much to do here, the game is too sprawling and often does not give the tight feel of TWO people playing TOGETHER. Here are the things we didn't like about it:

- The split-screen. Hate it. The dynamic one, which divides the screen diagonally when characters move apart and then merges together when they reunite sounds good but is really quite confusing and not easy to get used to. Both it and the vertical split-screen do not give enough field of view. It's also really confusing because your character often appears in both split screens and you lose track of which part you should be looking at. Also swapping between characters, especially when you've got 9, has resulted in players accidentally swapping screen sides (in vertical mode) and not being able to get back - you have to swap seats on the couch! You can choose either screen-split method, but not to get rid of it which we found unbelievable. In Indy we really enjoyed being on the screen together - it felt like we were really playing together. In LoTR we spend a lot of time wandering miles away from each other or doing separate quests. Yes, that's what happened in the film, but to me Indy felt more like a co-op game. Yes, I also know that it was annoying when one character dragged another one because the screen could not zoom out more, but there were ways of fixing that and still keep both players on one screen at the same time.
- There is far too much smashable stuff/coins. Every single damn plant and rock can be smashed for coins. This completely devalues the challenge of getting coins. In Indy you felt like you SHOULD smash everything you came across because coins kept you alive, and you could buy things in the college. In LoTR so far not ONCE have we come close to running down to zero coins. In fact, I must have died only about 10 times so far! Having so much stuff to smash also forces you to think you SHOULD smash it. It's impossible to run past things and not be tempted to smash them - but I just don't like that because it's no better than a pigeon trained to constantly peck a button to get a grain. It slows you down. And so far I have not seen any way to spend the coins.
- There are far too many side quests and items to collect. I have not yet actually found any of the items I've been asked to find, and have made only 1 mithril item. It gets far too tedious to run around the large hub worlds (where there are no enemies and you grind out coins and do side quests). You never have a clear idea of what you are after, in what world, and how to get to it. Even with the map where you can set a trail to desired locations like mithril bricks, very soon we stopped caring one iota about getting any of the stuff. There are about 50 mithril items for Frodo that have to be.. made? collected? No idea. I was happy to mine every single trace of minerals in Mass Effect 2 to relax between missions, but to have to find/make so much crap in a co-op game is asking for too much concentration from two people. And I have no idea if I am jeopardising future success by not doing these side quests and not collecting mithril blocks.
- There is too much going on on the screen. It was bad enough in Indy to accidentally hurt your co-op, but here there are so many large melee battles, and you run around as one of 9 characters a lot of the time too! - that we often end up screaming 'get away from me!!'. Combat has also become less controlled, you just mash the X key blindly, simply trying not to hit your co-op (whichever character he may be, because that's not indicated most of the time!)
- Many achievements are locked to single-player mode only. Yes, you get 25 points now for completing a level (to Indy's 10) but it IS primarily a co-op game, so it's unfair for so many achievements to be single player only.
- The 9 main characters are not equally useful. We have pretty much settled on playing only as Sam (useful because of his fire/dig skills) and Legolas (ranged and close attack,and can throw Gimli when needed). I have no idea what Boromir even does or how he's different from Aragorn - they are just both 'sword men'. Merry/Pippin/Frodo are totally non-descript and impossible to tell apart on screen too.

We are about 1/3 through it and will keep going, but only to fly through it. There is no way we will contemplate completing the boring fetch side quests, so the game is getting sold as soon as we finish with it. I know many will say that I have not 'got into it' and explored the hub world maps, etc - but the game is straying into becoming an Oblivion-type RPG. If side quests were in-mission - fine. But it's far too tedious to complete them with another person. And the missions feel strangely flat and challenge-less despite having the awesome film as source material.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2012
I've been a fan of the Lego games since they released Lego Star Wars. Admittedly I've not played them all, only the ones that have interested me (Star Wars, Harry Potter, and not this one). One of the first thing that always stands out in these games is the simple humor that they use in the cut scenes. With this having dialogue from the film I though it may have an effect on the comedy in the scenes as I always felt it's what wasn't said that made them funnier than they probably were. That however isn't the case. Even though the scenes that they have that use the Dialogue don't include the whole dialogue it all fits together really nicely.
Now onto the game-play. As all the other Lego games I've played it feels no different and is as solid as ever. The right analogue stick turn the camera allowing you to get a better view of the scene you're in, this comes in very handy in some of the balance parts of the levels. My only criticism of it however is for me it turns too slowly sometimes. Would have been nice to have an option to change the speed but it doesn't deter from the game-play whatsoever as I've never needed to change the angle in any fight scene so far. The combat flows really nicely with good animations and it's really easy to pick up and play. There are different weapons for each character, mainly what they use in the film, but you can smith items which you can call in for certain characters also to bolster their item attire.
The open wold map is a very nice idea, and you can fast travel to anywhere that you have been previously and access levels from the main map too. In between the story scenes you are roaming through Middle Earth taking in Non Lego scenery that fits really well into the game. I found some scenes to be a bit short (Lothlórien being one of them), and some of the travelling in between areas (The Shire and Bree, although this does allow for a better flowing world in the free roam).
There are also quest in the game. They are both a nice idea and not so nice at the same time. There is no way to track quests once you have spoken to the person who initiates it, and you have to remember what it is they asked you or revisit them if you forget after progressing with the story. The area summary does however let you know how many quests there are in that area and how many you have completed.

The graphics are what you would expect from a Lego game with some really nice scenery to look at. Mordor is somewhere I think has been made to look fantastic in the game, as has many other areas.

The soundtrack is that of the Film, does anything else need to be said about it. Both the Soundtrack and dialogue are very well implemented and I think of a good audio quality.

In summary there is good solid game-play, a very respectable length campaign with good replay value. I'd highly recommend it to any Lord of the Rings or Lego game fan. My favorite Lego game to date.

Audio: 10/10
Gameplay: 9/10
Graphics: 8/10
Controls: 9/10
Overall: 9/10

Hope I haven't missed anything.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2017
Lego games as a rule have always been great and this one is no different! The game follows the movies closely with some minor deviations to make it kid friendly, such as the removal of Gandalfs pipe etc.

The game is excellently done and features the usual humour you would expect from a lego game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2017
Good at the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

LEGO The Hobbit (Xbox 360)
LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Xbox 360)
LEGO The Hobbit (Xbox One)

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)