Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
11
3.8 out of 5 stars


on 27 July 2014
I enjoyed the content, but as a few others have said there are several spelling and grammar mistakes. You often end up reading the same words a few times trying to make sense of them.
I would have scored the book higher but it is a short read (I finished it in two evenings) and I think the Kindle price of £4.89 rather expensive for such a short book.
On a positive note, the content does give a good insight into the working life of someone working through the rank and links of a cleaner / fireman / driver on the ECML from steam and into the transition of diesel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
If you like Steam Trains you will like this. Informative. Written by an experienced and enthusiastic 'Steamer'! What a life!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Easy & enjoyable read. Was one of those books you can read as a break from other more intense books so that you could put it down & pick up again a few days later. Personal style of writing that brings back those days when work life had a good element of fun and time to enjoy your work. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in the steam railways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
An interesting read, but too short for my liking, although I guess the Kindle price was OK.
I think I’ve been recently spoilt by reading ‘Toton Engineman’ by John Henry Woolley ---- that’s what an Autobiography is all about, but sadly now out of print. Yes, it was a hard copy at £19.95, but what a fabulous read!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
The chance of coming across this sort of "1st hand" recollection is diminishing rapidly now - even those handed down through family generations and subsequently transcribed. Those from the East Coast are even less common. A good read and insight into a working world long gone...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This book is written from the notes made by Charles Price about his life on the railway, and at times jumps from one subject to another with little detail given and at other times detail is given. A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
A good read, but spelling and grammer should have been corrected. I would liked to have known more about his home life. An epilogue about Charles,s retirement would not go amiss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Again, the kindle version is OK and I enjoyed the account of this railway man's life. A number of spelling errors spoiled it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
This was a great read, being a keen railway enthusiast I also learnt from this great book. A real pleasant read thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Personal memoirs from a time long gone are valuable at reminding us of how things really were in those days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)