Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
57
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
Really nice album I am a new follower of Alistair Griffin smashing singer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
A mature album showcasing a top singer/songwriter at his best. Whatever you do, do not for one minute expect a typical pop album, yet at the same time expect a brilliant pop/rock album! If you like Snow Patrol, Oasis, or even Take That then you need this in your collection. There are epic anthems, danceable tunes and brooding powerful ballads aplenty, all written with strength and a great ear for a singable tune. Silent Suicide and I Have Lived are two standout ballads which show a maturity of spirit, and a keen understanding of how life is lived, and how it should be! Whilst there are traces of romance about some of the songs, (personally I find Save This Day one of the most romantic songs I have heard), that is not the overall tone of the album. Life affirming but acutely aware of life's struggles, Albion Sky is a must have album for 2012.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
belting tunes. cracking voice. anthemic songs with catchy hooks reminiscent of vintage embrace. Tracks - Always, No 1, High and Save the day and Silent Suicide stand out but no fillers on here. Alistar sings like he means it and I believe every word. Buy it. Right now.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Been following Alistair since fame academy days. He never disappoints with his amazing ability to produce amazing songs beautifully sung.

His long awaited second album Albion Sky is a well crafted master peice with wonderful tracks such as Always no 1, High, Albion Sky, and the catchy chemistry.I love all the tracks on this album each one to me could become massive hits.

If you are new to alistairs music his first album 'Bring it On' is well worth a listen.Can't wait for album no 3 please!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
This is Alistairs second album and it is even better than the first (never thought I'd say that). The songs are beautifully written and feel like old friends after just one listen. Stand outs are Albion Sky and Silent Suicide but every track is single quality. Most people will know the F1 theme Just Drive, but the whole album deserves to be a massive hit. Buy it Now!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
Any mention of reality TV music shows may send you running for the hills and Fame Academy from 2003 might be no exception.

Alastair came second in the BBC series and after a relatively successful debut album, has taken 8 years to release his second.

Any good?

The surprise for me is not that this collection is good because Alastair can write a mean pop song. The real surprise is just how good, Albion Sky is outstanding!

I could pull out this track and that as being particularly good but there would be no point, I would probably list them all.

If you like well crafted pop songs with great melodies and soaring choruses then look past any prejudices you may have such as not liking reality music shows and go and buy Albion Sky.

It may never make the mainstream big time or be hugely successful in sales terms but it should and more.

Well done Mr Griffin, the boy done good!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
You can tell Alistair has taken his time in writing this album. Every track is worthy of being released as a single. His exceptional voice, melodic songs and strong ballads are captivating, drawing you into his world through his music. 'Silent Suicide' for me is the definate stand out track, written with raw emotion, showing off his writing skills at their very best. 'High' is another favourite, his beautiful higher range and vunerability in this song are humbling. 'Chemistry' is a breath of fresh air, a catchy upbeat number which you will have to have on repeat. 'I Have Lived' takes you on a journey and shows his versatility as a songwriter. Other outstanding songs are 'Always No.1' used by the BBC during Wimbledon and the already popular 'Just Drive' a well deserved theme tune for Formula 1. Whatever your age add this album to your collection and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
What can you say, the long awaited second album from Alistair Griffin and the wait was worth it. I have lived, Albion Sky, Save this day, just to name but a few. Silent Suicide his closing gig song and who can forget Just Drive the modern F1 song. Why oh why is this guy not big, runner up on Fame Academy (should have one it), he has produced the must have album of the year.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
I am so happy that Alistair Griffin has re-surfaced with this, his second album, and I hope he gets the recognition he has deserved for years. I Watched and supported him all those years ago on Fame Academy and bought his fist album 'Bring It On' which I still love. However, Albion Sky is even better as a whole album. I've only owned it a couple of days and I think it's brilliant. Robin Gibb would've been proud (he supported Alistair when he appeared on Fame Academy) Forget the past though: with this album Alistair should achieve great things. A great mixture of beautiful songs that show off Alistair's haunting voice and lyrics and other more up-tempo songs which are all fantastic. The album is long also so really good value and I am so excited about having a really good listen to it. Highly recommended (and buy the first album too if you don't own it already)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
Been a long time coming this one but well, well worth the wait.
This guy is a top singer/songwriter.
Now all we need is lawn darts at the Olympics.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.29
£6.99
£0.99
£1.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)