Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2017
Interesting and fascinating. Had me wanting to finish the book and get onto the next in the series. An irreverent detective who is intelligent and just a bit needy in his personal life. The star of the book is of course his canine companion. Interesting and intricate plot lines you will enjoy if you like a good detective novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
brilliant a great couple man and dog the fire s was so real that you felt you was there an fantastic story start lng onthe second book I loved Sihe rius he is adorable he makes you laugh and cry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
There seemed to be endless dead ends in one case and nail biting in the other.
First book I have read by this author and can hardly wait to read the next one in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
i enjoyed the book but will hold judgement until i read the rest .i think i read book 2 before book1.i found it a good book and i liked the fact that Gideon relationship with Sirus was a constant theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Interesting concept. I liked the humour and characters. I don't normally read this type of book but I'm glad I did. I will read the other two books in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
A decent storyline but the telling suffered from a need to explain the obvious and was littered with feeble attempts at humour. However, the main protagonists are likeable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
great reading, can't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Too much romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Police procedurals are rather an overcrowded genre and the author sets himself something of a difficult task in making his offering stand out at all from the crowd. Here we have a damaged detective, which is something of a literary cliché in itself. He is doubly damaged in that not only has he has lost his wife but he has also been badly burned in a fire whilst chasing a serial killer - this is described in the rather lengthy prologue. However, the author does a good job in letting the reader get under Michael Gideon's skin and we come to understand his hopes and fears rather well as well as getting to know his rather appealing canine sidekick, Sirius.

There are a number of different elements bubbling away in this story. The headline plot is the investigation of the murder of a young man, whose body has been found crucified in a local park, but there is a subplot of an abandoned baby, which resonates with Gideon who was, himself, abandoned under similar circumstances. We have more than a hint of romance as Gideon is clearly attracted to Lisbet who he has met in the course of his work. Gideon comes across as intelligent and persevering, but also with a compassionate side and not someone who, as the book says, would blindly follow the letter but not the spirit of the law. There is also an interesting cast of supporting characters of whom I thought Seth, his shaman friend and neighbour, really stood out.

This is a tale which I thoroughly enjoyed. It is well written, evenly paced and does not lag at any stage. This is an author who knows his craft well. The plot is interesting and there is enough there to keep the reader absorbed without making it all so complex as to overcomplicate things. If Alan Russell chooses to write further stories about Gideon, I would think that his hero is sufficiently distinctive and memorable for there to be plenty of mileage in the character. Highly recommended
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse