Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • EI8HT
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2012
I fully expected a follow-up to You've Got to Laugh, but it isn't at all.

Rather than '99 to '07 'Nik Kershaw Mk.2', this, to me, sounds more like the energy and vibe of 80s albums The Riddle and Radio Musicola dragged into the 10s.
Only Bad Day You're Having sounds like it could be off '...Laugh'. This is definitely Nik's most eclectic album to date - rock, folk, pop. The songwriting is so strong on here, it sounds like he's showcasing his ability to write addictive tunes, 'take that Gary Barlow!' (pun intended). Wow. Just...wow. This deserves to be massive.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
For me this a good, solid album, but certainly not his best, and doesn't reach the same heights as 'You've got to laugh' or '15 Minutes'. There are some fantastic tracks on this album though, 'These tears', 'The sky's the limit', 'Runaway' and 'Rock of ages' being particular highlights, but i'm not really a fan of the very Celtic sounding 'Red strand', I just felt it doesn't fit in with the rest of the album. 'Bad day you're having' has an essence of 'The Works' album (not that that is a bad thing!) So to sum up, it is a good effort, but after waiting this long for new music, I was slightly disappointed in this album. If you are someone wanting to listen to 'modern day' Nik Kershaw after many years, buy '15 minutes' or 'You've got to laugh' as every track is a winner, but there is still plenty to enjoy on the album for 'Kershaw completists'!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Nik has done it again! And it's been well worth the wait since his last album back in 2006!

'Ei8ht', his eighth studio album, continues the adult contemporary sound that Nik has so cleverly mastered in his latter years. When one mentions Nik Kershaw, one thinks of the wild hair, the confusing lyrics, the annoying sing-a-long melodies of the 80s star, but there is a mature Nik that has yet to be discovered by the masses.

Gone is the hair (literally!), the outrageous image and debatable lyrics, for the 'new' (read 'older') Nik takes on a more mature and possibly cynical view of life with eleven thought-provoking, well-written songs that cover a large variety of topics. Standout include THE SKY'S THE LIMIT (the song every parent wants to sing to their child), SHOOT ME (a wry look on what Nik does not want to be), YOU'RE THE BEST (an ode to his loved one) and THE BELL (a beautiful ballad about appreciating the blessed gifts of life). However, each song is a mini-classic in their own right. I struggle to pick a favourite

Give it a listen! You will not be disappointed!

Thank you, Nik, for thirsty years of incredible music!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
It's taken six years for Nik Kershaw to release another album of new material, but the wait has been worth it. While I agree that it's not in the same league as the exeptional 15 Minutes, Ei8ht is up there with the best of the rest of his work. A few tracks - These Tears, Runaway and Bad Day - left me feeling a little underwhelmed, but the other songs are fantastic. Red Strand is a bit cheesey but still packs an emotional wallop; You're The Best, Shoot Me and Stuff are fun, witty and clever; Rock of Ages sounds like it was written in the 80s, but is still great; The Bell is a thought-provoking, introspective piece, and Enjoy The Ride is an uplifting, uptempo track. The highlight for me though is The Sky's The Limit - a lump always come to my throat whenever I picture my kids while listening to it. Great stuff, and I can't wait to see Kershaw performing these tracks in concert.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
After growing up in the 80's and hearing the early material from Nik (all very good!)
Then the mixture of albums from 2000 onwards , which are all good , but not quite up to the early stuff, this album is knockout , a really nice surprise to hear such an accesable , catchy and polished album -- essential stuff!!!
Special mention must go to "Sky's the limit" which if a certain band(Take that) had written and released this -- I bet now would be a number 1 and being played to death!
Give this the credit it deserves and buy it in droves!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
Another great addition to my 'Kershaw' collection. I always find his lyrics really interesting. It's wonderful to place all his albums on shuffle and listen to the diverse sounds that Nik delivers and how his music has developed over the decades. I particularly like 'You're the Best', 'Rock of Ages' and 'The Sky's the Limit'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
As always Mr Kershaw produces a collection of songs which beg to be played over and over again, there are so many great tracks it would be hard to pick out faves but Runaway, Red Strand and the very fine 'The Bell' are incredible tracks, however every song on this album has been carefully crafted thought out and put together in typical Kershaw fashion.

Nik Kershaw has to be the one of the most underrated singer/songwriters in the business but it doesn't stop him producing the goods, he deserves much more recognition his talent really deserves though it is unlikely he will get that now. 15 minutes was his finest hour but believe me he comes very close to matching it with this brilliant album, buy it!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
Nik Kershaw continues to amaze.

Now don't laugh...but I swear to God this guy has never made a duff album and Ei8ht is no exception. Jammed with catchy tunes with great lyrics Kershaw shows again what made him such a hit in the 80's. Why he doesn't get more respect and a larger following is a great mystery as he is genuinely one of the undiscovered song-writer geniuses.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
One of the greatest british artists of the last 30 years gives us a new gem. This record is fantastic with very different songs...folk, rock, blues...it's got it all. This is without a doubt one of the best cds of 2012...get it now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
This is Nik Kershaw at his best. I've played the album non-stop since I downloaded it and every track has something special about it. Nik's lyrics are always interesting and those on this album are no exception. This is a "grown up" Nik Kershaw and reflects his longevity in the music industry. Long may he continue to make music of this quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.51

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)