Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
148
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 August 2011
BRIEF STORY DETAILS - SLIGHT SPOILERS.

Out of cold, wet Britain at last, Cato and Macro and their Second Legion are stationed on the Empire's eastern frontier in Syria but the Legion is exhausted and corruption is rife.
Local tribesmen led by Bannus revolt, threatening the security of the empire but the Legion is not fit enough to fight.

SAFE READING _ NO SPOILERS

I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
The whole series is a triumph. The author has created two superbly well rounded and complimentary characters and presents them in a series of well researched battles. I loved the whole series and can't wait for the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
a fantastic series, well written with excellent characters both hero and villain. You just can't put these down and resist escaping to the world of ancient Rome. Macro and Cato have to be the best characters ever, on a par with Bernard Cornwall's Sharpe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I order lots of books and I can only thank Amazon for coming up with the kindle version of live books, fortunately I have read this book yet it is the same quality of work as previous books by this author it is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
This disappointed me since it seemed clear that unnecessary and unattractive liberties were taken with the Christian story to please a member of another Faith, who is a fan of the writer. The altered characters were not credible, nor did they make sense in the context of the adventure , and it may well offend some readers. I found it hard to get past deliberate mis-reprentations- sorry, Simon; you could have done better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2006
I have read the series since I came across the first book in our local bookshop. Now I ensure that I buy pre-order every new book so I have it on the day of release.

The series does go from strength to strength. The writing is fast paced and holds you throughout the read. The imagery is clear and full, you can feel the desert, see the rocks and taste the saltiness of the Dead Sea.

Cato and Macro are now in Judea, working from the Emperor's chief of staff. Rumours have reached Rome regarding the goings-on in the Eastern reaches of the Empire.

Scarrow captures the divisive nature of ancient Judea, with its religious sects, rebels, bandits and revolutionaries. He even works in a new interpretation of early Christianity to help the story along.

You are not short changed on the battle scenes and political intrigue. The bad men are suitably bad and the good guys suitably good.

Reading these books you get the feeling that life in the Roman legions and auxillaries would have been like this. The privations but comaraderie that were the lot of the Roman armies.

I'm not sure that this is the best of the books so far. It is certainly well written, well told and comtinues the fine work so far. I just think that one or two of the other works edge this one out slightly. Having said that this still stands head and shoulders over most other books you could read.

The only drawback is the poor editing and proofing done by Headline. No one seems to have done this job properly and that does distract from the flow.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Eagle in the Sand. the latest in Simon Scarrow's entertaining tales of Roman Centurions Macro & Cato, hardly breaks new ground. Yes, the location for their adventures is a new one; Roman Judea a few years after the cruxifiction of Christ. The adventure however, sticks very much to the formula of the previous novels. In other words Macro & Cato are dispatched by the Emperor's right hand man, Narcissus, to investigate a possible threat to the Empire. As usual, in the course of their mission they uncover plots, encounter new enemies and visit new places.

All of which is exciting and highly enjoyable, but hardly stretches either our two heroes or the reader. So whilst there's nothing fundamentally wrong with The Eagle In The Sand (hence the 4 stars), it would be a pleasant change to see Scarrow trying something new plot-wise with the next book in the series. Visiting new places is all very well, and Scarrow's description of the locales including the Dead Sea & Petra are vivid and atmospheric, but what is really needed, and soon before familiarity breeds contempt, is a bit more of the sort of development of both Macro & Cato as characters that can be found in the earlier books in the series and a bit more complexity to the stories.

So, for fans of the series an enjoyable addition, but there is the definite impression that Scarrow is coasting with this novel. May be he needs to spend a little less time on coming up with new & exotic locations and more on developing new and more interesting stories to go with them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Yet another interesting read Cato and Macro at the forefront of all intrigues arising from new frontiers of the Roman Empire, a delightful read for those interested in the trials and tribulations of this enterprising duo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I discovered the 'Eagle' books of Simon Scarrow by accident, and have since been working through them in chronological order. I have just read 'Eagle in the Sand' I found it incredibly disappointing, unlike most reiewers. Indeed, so disappointing, it has triggered me to write this, my first ever review!

Up to now I have found the description of life in the legions as credible, the relationship between Macro and Cato believable, and the suspension of disbelief while reading extremely easy. The books have been page turners which were difficult to put down.

Not so with this one. The storyline was poor and bitty, the descriptive knowledge and understanding was shallow and uninteresting, the military discipline of the two heroes was suspended in bouts of unbelievable soap opera insubordination, their relationship has descended to the mawkish, the characters and situations were cardboard and one felt that the author kept losing interest as he was going along. Certainly I did. It did not feel at all as if it were written by the same person who wrote the others in the series - perhaps it has been done by a ghost writer?

It was all too easy to put this book down and all too hard to pick it up again. I only hope that it forms a bridge to a better next novel. If not, I won't be buying any more.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
Fantastic. Yet another gripping adventure of our intrepid centurion heroes, this time in Judea.

Simon Scarrow's books seem to get better and better all the time and they started off in a very strong position anyway. I hope we have not heard the last of Macro, Cato and Vespasian and that they will continue to entertain us in future. More More More please.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)