Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2013
Listed as having wireless capability this is not the case you can not connect this printer to a wireless network with the touch of a button Add is totally misleading Fax does not work on a cable phone network ie Virgin media so the product is for me useless multi function printer I can only use as a basic printer
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Fairly easy to configure. Standard setup gives washed out colours but this can be improved using colour manager. Password required but not supplied so needed Tech Service assistance. Washed out colour reverts when printer switched off.
Not sure capacity of starter cartridges but black toner almost exhausted very quickly
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
initial review.
bought this for home/office.
Its connected via network cable.
My o/s is kubuntu/sabayon/windows7
windows setup was stick in disk and run through setup took about 10 mins.
kubuntu printer setup plugged in and chose driver from settings. about 30 seconds, Scanner setup was a bit more complicated.
needed to add third party repository. see bchemnet.com/suldr/index.html (need to add www can't seem to post links)
for sabayon i needed to download package from samsung website and compile manually. no problems with any of them.
printer is quiet but first print takes a while.
also some of the settings are hard to find on the small screen.
another annoyance is the install disk uses java for the instruction manual which i don't use on my linux system (i use iced tea) and it wouldn't load.
print quality is ok for colour but black is a little washed out.
fax works ok. Am on fibre to cabinet.

As noted by previous poster this printer is NOT WIRELESS CAPABLE so product description is highly misleading, Not something i need though as am connected to a network and can print from anywhare once setup on CUPS.
Also it says Quote "4-in-1 Multifunction

One push of the ECO button and you can save paper and energy straightaway. Print more onto every page, including 2-up, 4-up and duplex"

This is also misleading as for duplex it prints odd numbers then you reload paper upside down and it then it prints even.
this was confirmed by live chat support.
I seems the info page is generic to several variations of the same printer.

one last warning. under linux the samsung utility packages pose a security risk as it installs and runs as root.
Quote from bchmet "as of May 2012, all versions of these utilities still require the use of setuid root (i.e., they run as root regardless of who executes them) and so represent a security risk. In addition, by default the installer will create the /opt/Samsung/... directories with world-write access, another security risk; you can solve this by a "find . -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;" in the "cdroot" folder before installing to reset folder permissions. Non-executable files are also marked as executable by default in /opt/.../bin and /opt/.../share/, a small but real security risk."
resetting permissions is easy if your comfortable with command line and really want utility packages but i haven't bothered as i only need to print paperwork.

Finally.

Its very compact and also looks good and materials seem to be decent quality.
So as long as you are aware of it's limitations it's a good printer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
This is a first rate product and was sold at a very competetive price to everywhere else, it has all the features you could want from a laser printer in a small office
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
excellent printer but i made a mistake and did not order the wireless model. (BUT IS STILL AN EXCELLENT PRINTER)
MY PREVIOUS PRINTER WAS A "SAMSUNG"
Good luck
Fred
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
It does the job really good.Somewhat fast, unless you are printing only in black it is a bit slow, but quality wise and price for the money it is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Needed a device for the house and with print and scan. Liked the price of this machine. It does the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Had for a year now great all round printer couldn't be more pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
It took me days to research whether this printer would be suitable for our computer systems at work.

The printer was delivered promptly and set up but a few days later it developed a fault, where each print out has a series of dots on each printed page.

It so far is a very long winded process to get this item collected and a new one delivered.

This is all very inconvient and I am not happy with this service.

Very dissapointing from the supplier I purchased this item from.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)